5 Quotes That I Apply to My Life

11 44
This image was made by the author using Canva. Background image was captured by the author.

Improving your life might be hard if you have no outline and guide to follow. If you ask me, quotes from books and successful people are one of the best guides to having a good way of living. This is why I am applying them to my life and using it to improve and motivate myself every day. It helps me to have a productive and worthwhile day.

I decided to share it and hopefully, it will also help you to improve your life and productivity. I am not yet a successful person but I can see my progress by following these quotes.

Don't give a fuck about everything and everyone 

I am reading the book entitled “The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck” by Mark Manson and the concept of this quote made me think; he has the point. The meaning of this is we should select the worthy things on which we will spend our time. No need to overthink, no need to give a fuck on nonsense things. If you know that it will not help you to grow (not being selfish), learn to ignore it.

In short, be mature enough. Always control your emotions because there are times that are better to stay silent. Let's include “less talk, less mistakes”. I realized how this quote helps me in self-love and lessen my burden. It even gives me peace of mind. Whenever I am doing something that makes me conscious and insecure, I always tell myself “don't give a fuck, baby”.

Never skip twice

If you are planning to improve your productivity, then apply this to your life. I learned this from the book “Atomic Habits” by James Clear and I believe in it. The main concept is to keep your streak and never try to skip twice. Skipping once is okay, but skipping twice will break your productivity and lose your streak. It is hard to continue when you break the chain because your brain will say “oh it is okay not to do it, so be lazy”. 

Although there are times that I skip twice, even thrice, I keep doing the things that will increase my productivity. However, it is hard to continue and lose the momentum of being productive. I become lazy whenever I skip more than twice. This is why I am avoiding skipping twice.

If you want to earn a million, help a million people

I am not yet a successful person but I believe in this one. It was from one of the successful people in the Philippines, Coach Yani Moya. I mentioned that I attended her webinar before and this is one of her mantras. I am adapting this because I believe that giving is better than receiving. Helping other people will help you to grow as a human and give you peace of mind. 

In the future, the things that you gave from the past will go back to you. As they said, the law of reciprocity. But remember that if you want to help, it must be from your heart and not because you are waiting for a return. Tithing and giving will help your personal development.

Don't save, invest

When we were kids, our parents taught us important things about money, learn to save. It has become a part of my life where I have loved saving since I was a kid. But upon growing up, I realized one thing: Investing is better than saving. By exploring things financially, I learned that investing your money will make you rich (or poor) depending on your investment. Although this is a risky option, you need to learn how to manage the risk, a person says “lahat ng investment ay maganda, we should just learn risk management.”

If you want to grow your money, invest it in a good project, wait for years (or luck) and go back. Don't get me wrong, saving is not bad if it is for the short term, but for the long term, investing is better. Think about inflation while you are saving, you are losing the value of the money. Nevertheless, this is not financial advice.

Focus on yourself 

It took me months before learning this. Self-love and care are better to improve yourself and help you grow. Nothing will happen if you focus on other people correcting their mistakes, care about them, and give a fuck. People are temporary, it is sad, but it is the reality. In the end, what you have is yourself. So, focus on yourself. Grow alone and let the result speak for you. 

Focus on yourself is not toxic, it doesn't mean being selfish. You are just securing yourself from any harm. Also, it helps you to grow and open your mind to reality. It is not easy to focus on yourself but you will be there. 

There are several quotes and beliefs from books and successful people and we have the privilege to choose what quote we should apply to our life. But of course, never choose the one that will be your “limiting belief”. Choose the one that will help you to grow and be productive.

In the end, this article does reflect the author's opinion, point of view, and experience. But it doesn't aim to change your perception. 


Published: May 4, 2022

12
$ 5.94
$ 5.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Gemstone
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
+ 7
Sponsors of Laurenceuuu
empty

Comments

I will try those quote in my life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's interesting with quotes; since childhood, I collect those I like. You might be interested in one of my selections: https://read.cash/@Mictorrani/prompt-favourite-quote-9b0c1fad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh that's cool, collecting quotes from your childhood.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very nice quotes that we can apply in life. Sometimes I read quotes just to get the mood for the day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha that's a good part of your routine to motivate yourself!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice quotes really... listening to everything people say will only cause setbacks and nothing more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree with you:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with invest rather than saving specially now that there are lots of opportunities waits to invest like crypto projects and NFTs which is worth to invest with but with caution of course, since there's a risk in everything. The quote focus on yourself was learned by me a few weeks ago, i realized that I too much give attention to other people then neglect my ownself, that's why I decide to give time to myself and change those actions that inappropriate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha focusing on yourself doesn't mean being selfish. I overcome it after a long time and now my insecurities lessened (somehow).

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And I always get headaches because of toxic people around me but I try my best to change myself hope so I can :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dude, no need to change yourself. It's not you, it's them! As long as you know that you are doing right, no need to change 🙂

$ 0.00
1 year ago