3 Book Authors That I Considered As My Mentor

13 73
This image was from Pexels

Source: Pexels

We started from nothing, and some people taught us lessons upon growing up. It might be your parents, your friends, or even your teachers. They are usually the one who helps us in times of difficulty. As we grow, some people can be considered a mentor: the word mentor depends on your definition. For me, a mentor is a person or the person who taught valuable lessons in our life.

Who is—or should I say “are”—the people that I consider my mentor? If you will ask me, they are Robert Kiyosaki, Mark Manson, and James Clear. Yes, they are the authors of the most selling books. At a young age, I decided to read books, and currently, these are the authors of the books that I read: Rich dad, poor dad, The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck, and Atomic Habits.

Robert Kiyosaki taught me about finances. His iconic book Rich dad poor dad was one of the best books that I read. It taught me how to invest rather than save money. He said a job is a short-term solution for a long-term problem. Working for money will make you a slave for life while financial literacy and learning how the money will work for you can make you financially independent. 

But of course, losing some money from investing is just part of the process. It is inevitable when it comes to investing so you have to learn risk management. But for a better start, you have to clear your debts first and start increasing your cash flow.

Meanwhile, James Clear taught me how to increase my productivity and start to break my bad habits. I always hear and read the feedback from his book, Atomic Habits, and decided to start reading it. I never had any regrets. My procrastination decreased and improved my performance. 

I learned how to spend my day wisely and productively. I also realized that sometimes, I am not busy…for being productive. I am busy procrastinating. This is how I started breaking my bad habits. Although it is hard until now, there is a voice of discipline shouting in my head. I learned how to stick to my goal and keep pursuing it by being productive every day.

Finally, Mark Manson is really one of my favorite. I can say that his book The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck opened my mind to reality…or should I say it activated my self-awareness and boost my self-esteem. I was always conscious of everything, I overthink every single move that I made. I always think of what other people think about me not until I read his book. 

By him, I realized that we should not give a f*ck on everything and to everyone. It gives me self-respect and started to learn about self-development. I work out and exercise, I started dieting, and somehow increase my confidence. The simple things that I can't do before are now easy as ABC. Well, they are literally easy, I'm just the one who thinks it is hard. 

I had never seen these people in person, but they gave value to my life through the books that they wrote. I never talked to them, but the words from their book were marked in my mind. I consider them as my mentor because they taught me a lot of lessons in my life; as I said in the introduction, mentors are the one who contributes to our life. 

I was not even a fan of reading books, but reading their works made me start building my reading habits wherein I added it to my daily routine. It is also part of the application of what I learned from the book Atomic Habits. These people became a huge part of my life—even indirectly, at least, I learned a lot from them.


  1. If you want to support me as a writer, you can buy me a coffee at a Ko-fi shop

  2. If you like shopping online, consider liking and following this Facebook page: Cheap N Sale 🛒

  3. You can find me everywhere using Coin Tree 🌴


Published: June 2, 2022

19
$ 13.88
$ 13.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 5
Sponsors of Laurenceuuu
empty

Comments

Diko knows yang mga nabanggit mo. Pero if whos my mentor mula pagkabata 🤔 wala ata ako nyan ee. Ewan, basta ako gagawin ang maibigan. Kapag gusto matuto di aaralin. Basta push kapag ginusto. Pero mas prefer kong gawin nang mag isa at yong walang nakatingin na iba

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mga author sila haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe parang gusto ko na din basahin yang book na yan, parang mas nag level-up yung perspectives mo sa buhay Lau saka napansin ko mas nag improve yung writings mo..

Should I also read the book? :-D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ay thank you hahaha I will take it as a compliment. Those books are really worth to read and life-changing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Growing up, i can say my Dad was my Mentor. He was very popular and respected by all and i always wanted to imitate him. His teachings has been my backbone thus far.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

He must be a good mentor

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't give a thousand names, but I can say that whoever guided me well, I considered him a mentor. Like you, I have been influenced by many writers I have read.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's a good one for you, cheers!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you dear, cheers!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is interesting, and also carries alot of factual point. As for me, my mentor has always been my dad, although I have some other mentor on other aspect of life matter. In summary, having a mentor is a great way to develop oneself in a faster form.

Thanks for sharing. I will appreciate to have you subscribe to my profile page as a subscriber, just as I will also be subscribing to yours too. Cheers.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Cheers! People usually call their parents as their mentor...I was thinking the same until I remembered these three authors.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our mentor is our guiding torch it leads us in most darkest pathway. You have good mentor especially Robert. I have Muhammad (SAW) as my mentor for whole life. Thanks for writing about your mentor' brother.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Robert is a good one when it comes fo money.

$ 0.00
1 year ago