Learn how to deal with Diabetes with Dr.Lara

32 73

I know that I am the one who wears the white apron and puts on the stethoscope, but in today's article I will make you the doctor not me, I will be your doctor in the distance and you will be your own doctor in your home.

I'm here to help, if you have any question don't hesitate jusy ask

In these articles, I try to spread some medical awareness about chronic diseases that will accompany the patient for the rest of his life when he suffers from them, so it requires a lot of commitment and attention to adapt to them. And believe me, if you stick to the health rules and your medicines, you will live as if this thing didn't really exist.

Today we will learn about diabetes, what is it? What is the reason? What is the risk? And how to treat it? So follow me ..

At first I would like to say that I am writing this article for all of you to benefit from it, but especially my friend here @IamAshrone

I want to tell you that you are a strong person and ready to do everything to resist and stand up and reach your goal, you can do it dear and we are all here to support you. For you and your family.

What is diabetes? When do we say about a person that he has diabetes?

We have to do a blood sugar analysis ( blood sugar test) and based on the results, we determine if the patient has diabetes or not. The analysis should be done in the morning on an empty stomach, if the values ​​are less than 1.10 g/l it is considered normal. But if it is higher than 1.26 g/l, we are here in front of diabetes.

The values ​​between them require us to take a sugar tolerance test! I will not go into it much, but in short, it is to have an amount of sugar dissolved in water at once and then conduct an analysis of blood sugar before having the amount and two hours later, and the resulting values ​​tell us the presence of diabetes or just intolerance, which unfortunately predisposes to diabetes in the future if we do not adhere to the health rules.

Let us first know that diabetes has different and very broad types and causes, but doctors focus on two types that are the most important, that include the rest of the causes. Type 1 diabetes and type 2 diabetes.

Type 1 diabetes

which is diagnosed at an early age before the age of 32 years and is common since childhood, results from an autoimmune cause that attack the pancreatic cells that is responsible for producing insulin, which is the main hormone that counteracts high blood sugar. The patient here is often skinny or of normal weight, symptoms appear here quickly and blood sugar here rises to high values ​​higher than 3 g / L. The complications here are few, but the most dangerous is the Ketosis! It is an emergency condition that requires emergency care in the hospital.

Type 2 diabetes

It results from a lack of sensitivity of cells to insulin, insulin is present in the body, but cells do not respond to it, which requires medications that improve insulin sensitivity or raise its levels. It often occurs due to a family predisposition, which means that there is a history within the family in addition to an excessive sugar diet! The patient here is overweight (which increases insulin resistance) and over 35 years old, the disease here is delusional, that is, the symptoms here do not appear as clearly as in the first type, and bood sugar does not rise to high values, but remains below 2 g / L, the complications here are present and they are systemic, that is, It affects different organs in the body.

What are the risks?

In fact, diabetes has many other health problems, exposure of body cells to a high amount of sugar will cause many diseases in different body systems, the first type, although some consider it the worst, it has few complications, but it Life-threatening complications, in addition to ketosis, the leading cause of death will be renal failure. The condition of the kidney will gradually worsen and eventually end in failure.

As for the second type of diabetes, it has 50% more complications when diagnosed, and its complications mainly include cardiovascular diseases. As the combination of obesity present in type 2 diabetes in addition to high blood sugar and high lipids will negatively affect the vessels and cause atherosclerosis and disorders. Unfortunately, all vessels in the body are susceptible to injury, whether the vessels of the retina that will cause blindness, the vessels of the kidney that cause renal failure, the vessels of the extremities that cause gangrene, and the main vessels of the body in the heart and eventually cause infarction and heart failure.

As we see that the complications are really frightening, we must deal with the disease consciously, and adhere strictly.

Sponsors of Lara888
empty
empty
empty

How do we treat diabetes?

Treatment for type 1 diabetes is different from type 2 diabetes, and treatment varies depending on the condition and stage of each patient.

Type 1 :

As I told you earlier in the article, type 1 diabetes is caused by a lack of insulin in the body due to the destruction of the cells that produce it, so the only treatment for it is insulin injections for life. And they have different types according to the effectiveness and duration of the effect, and of course you need a doctor who evaluates your case individually to develop a treatment plan that suits your condition.

Type 2 :

The matter is different here. We have wide and gradual treatment options, and we must move in them step by step according to the commitment of the patient and the stage in which he diagnosed the disease, but let me tell you that the first line of treatment for type 2 diabetes is a healthy lifestyle from a diet on sugars and fats to regular exercise. It requires a set of precautionary measures that I talked about in my previous article, you can check them here https://read.cash/@Lara888/be-your-own-doctor-my-first-medical-article-6def33b5

But when you need to start a drug, Metformin is the number one option, and do not forget that the diet is more important than the drug and has a better effect, that is, taking the drug does not eliminate the need for the diet. Then there are many types of drugs with very different mechanisms of action aimed at increasing the sensitivity of the body's cells to insulin, to eventually reach the need for insulin itself.

And When it comes to lowering cholesterol, the best and safest option is Statins.

In the end, health is the most precious thing a person has, so it is your duty towards yourself, your family and your loved ones to maintain your health as much as possible.

I hope my article could help you.

Note: All of the above is accurate medical information and is complete from my medical knowledge acquired during my studies at the College of Medicine. I present it to you in a simple way so that you become more knowledgeable, but I emphasize that it does not dispense at all with a visit to the doctor to decide the ideal treatment for your case.

Stay Healthy .. Stay Safe

All photos including the lead image was taken by me .

13
$ 4.52
$ 4.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jelena
$ 0.03 from @Bloghound
+ 6

Comments

This is very instructive article. I had a little high blood sugar during my pregnancy but now everything is fine. And you are the most beautiful doctor I have ever seen! 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What happened to you is called gestational diabetes and it disappears after giving birth. But you should be careful because it may predisposes to diabetes later, which I hope you will never have to deal with. And thanks a lot, I'm all blushed 🙈❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Quite informative. I am particularly careful about my sugar intake , and even though I have never done a blood sugar test before, I know I am due for it and a general checkup too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My grandpa died of diabetes and heart failure last year. There's this province here called Bulacan where most people sell sweets so there are a lot of people with diabetes which includes my grandpa. Thanks for the education dear Doc. I am pretty sure dear Luci will have diabetes with you because you're sweet :D and pretty too. Do you think drinking 2 glasses of iced tea is not good?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sorry for your grandfather, may his soul rest in peace. Thanks a bunch dear, you are really very nice and kind. If you don't drink it too sweet or don't eat a lot of sweets during the day, it's not a bad thing, but reducing it to one cup would be better. Stay healthy dear ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will dear Doc, thanks :) Though I ate ice cream, drank soft drinks today :( I will try my very best to drink just water in the next few days :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't see him before he passed away but I am pretty sure he is now in peace :) I try to be kind my dear Doc :) I will drink more water in the next few days because it's my mom-in-law's birthday and we had ice cream and soft drinks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sure he's in a better place and he's watching you and proud of you.. it's ok honey, stay healthy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, I will do my best to live a healthier lifestyle dear Doc.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a helpful article.. the fact that you took time to spread your knowledge is amazing.. so proud of you.. My dad and grandpa both had diabetes.. I cut sugars from my life except some in morning evening tea but I eat a lot of fruits, they have sugars also right... not sure what else to eat when they have such food restrictions.. hope everyone stays healthy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a bunch dear, I am so grateful for your kind words, and I hope I can help as many people as possible in my life. Sorry for your loss, and may there soul rest in peace. you don't have to deprive yourself of everything, you can eat what you want but in moderation and in smaller quantities, I wish you a good health always

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My father died due to diabetes and liver complications.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sorry to hear this, may his soul rest in peace. I lost my grandmother to diabetes too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe it's help me lot.thanks.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hope it could , welcome my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kudos to you dear doc. I have been reading everything I could about DM for some years now because of my family history.. The exercise and dieting part you already mentioned has always been the best approach in preventing one from the awful condition.. I also make sure that I take alot of fruits alteast once in two days. By the way, I can't remember the last time I ate bread, not to talk of other junks richer in sugar. No need to mention that these carbs are very addictive till they lead a person into a hole

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a bunch my dear, if you need any help in any medical issue, I will be happy to help as much as I can, and I must tell you that a balanced diet is the solution, do not prevent yourself from everything, but try to reduce it to a minimum, as well as more vegetables and not fruits, Because fruits, despite their usefulness, also contain a high percentage of sugars

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, fruits too? Gosh, I never knew! I mostly take oranges, watermelon, cucumbers and carrots. Are they that bad ma'am?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, fruits contain a high percentage of sugar, but what you mentioned is considered healthy. Carrots and cucumbers are safe. Eat as much as you want. They do not contain a large amount of sugar. Oranges are citrus, they contain sugars, but in an acceptable way. As for watermelon, it contains sugar in a good proportion, so you should not eat a lot of it. Grapes contain large amounts of sugar, so it is best to avoid them or eat them in very small quantities

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks alot my dear for this priceless information... Sorry to bother you further but I have observed that I frequently excrete dilute urine although my water intake is also very heavy. Could take up to three to five glasses in ma meal... Hope this isn't a sign?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my duty, my dear, and I am happy to help.. I don't think I fully understood what you mean, but do you feel very thirsty and need to go to bathroom a lot? Or did you just notice a change in the appearance of your urine?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No I don't feel thirsty all the time, I only consume large volume of water during a meal. I can't even take three morsels of food unless I accompany it with half a glass of water. Whenever I ain't eating, I don't usually feel the need for drinking water.. the color of my urine have always been normal, atleast I haven't observed any changes yet. I'm only scared about my high consumption of water which is always commensurately accompanied by it's excretion out of my body. ... But I don't always visit the bathroom if I haven't eaten for long hours

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do not worry, my dear, your consumption of water during food is normal. There is no cause for concern as long as your urination habits are still normal and you do not suffer from excessive thirst or nocturia.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh, thank you so much my dear. What a relief you have given me. Alot of people have told me it was nothing to worry about but my mind is now at rest since I have heard it from a doctor 😁. No I don't suffer from excessive thirst. Infact I don't likre drinking water without eating at thesame time . Lol..... I promise to keep in touch 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol I'm glad you're comfortable now 😄 .. any time my dear ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really looks beautiful starting from today I will call you big sister I hope you love it . I will show my mom this because he do have trouble with that

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much, I'm very happy with this title, I already love it. I hope the article helps your mother, may she always be in a good health

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're a doctor...? Oh my Word, that's impressive. Diabetes is actually one of the most chronic disease I have ever heard. Probably you might tell us the foods we need to abstain from if we are to be free of diabetes in your next article. College of Medicine...? Am sorry, but which country

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol yes I'm a doctor, a medical student at my final year actually. Yeah I can if you want me to. I'm from Syria .. why you look so shocked lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay doc, no problem

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the useful information doctor.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are welcome dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago