How hard can it be?

25 41
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Consistency is one thing a lot of people will say is very difficult to attain, but I think the difficulty of consistency depends on a couple of factors, but for me, I will say time and passion are the most important of the factors. One thing that has been proven with consistency is that you actually get better at that particular task.

Just think about it, it's normal to get better at anything we perform consistently because our brain will become rewired to get used to that particular thing. The more you do that thing, the better you become and that's why they say; practice makes perfect. But there's a catch to this as well, you remember I made mention of one other important factor, right?

Picture credit

Passion

If the passion isn't there, it doesn't matter the amount of time you put into that task, you still won't like doing it and consistency becomes harder to achieve. Take for example; someone that suddenly started writing but doesn't have a passion for it, they are only doing it because their friend is making money from it, and such a person will always struggle to continue writing.

Sure, at one point the person will love writing as well but there's a big difference between that person and the friend that truly has a passion for writing; money. The person is being motivated to write because he is making money from it but the true state of things will be revealed when the money stops coming. The person will stop writing but the friend will continue because it's something they enjoy with or without money.

In such a situation, the person will say it's hard to be consistent because they are doing something they don't really love but are driven by their desire to make money, but meanwhile, it's easy for the friend to stay consistent because writing is something they love doing; one person sees it as a hobby, while the other sees it as a job.

Image source

Time and passion are the two things that greatly influence consistency and that's what I have experienced during my time on this platform. In previous months, it was very hard for me to consistently publish articles here because of my busy schedule at the university, but now I can do that simply because I have got more time on my hands!

This is precisely the reason why I can't just tell someone; "hey, it's very easy to be consistent" because they might be engaged with other activities and won't have much time in a day to stay consistent on something else. I have time on my hands because I don't really have much to do in a day, but some people here go to work in the morning by 7am and return home around 6pm exhausted, would you expect someone like that to be consistent?

The thing with being consistent on a certain task is that something else is going to be sacrificed in the process. For example, the people that are working every day are actually consistent in one thing; going to work every day but that in turn makes them sacrifice their activities here. Their lives don't just revolve around these two things, there are tons of other activities they also have to find a way to strike a balance.

Image source

The reason behind this

So the main reason why I talked about consistency is that I joined a challenge on Twitter today and it's called #100DaysOfCode. It's all about coding every day for at least one hour for the next 100 days and tweeting about it with the hashtag. I saw a tweet by someone saying it's hard to stay consistent on the challenge and I asked myself; "what's so hard there?"

At first, I was like "that's easy, I basically do that every day" but I thought about it after a while and realized it isn't the same for other people. I remembered how I had to pause coding because it was stressful combining it with school work, so I can totally understand why people will say staying consistent on the challenge is hard, I only say it's easy because I don't have any other thing doing (except maybe readcash πŸ˜†).

I have been seeing the challenge ever since I discovered TechTwitter and I thought I just have to tweet about coding and slam the hashtag to it for me to be part of the challenge but it turns out there are rules I have to follow and the first one is publicly declaring that I am committing to the challenge. I so much love the tech community on Twitter, they are very supportive just like the people here on readcash 😊

Kinda feels like I just took an oath in court πŸ˜†

Meanwhile

I finally finished the project I have been doing since Sunday. That was what I submitted for my first day of the 100daysofcode challenge and I feel excited to share it with everyone. You can check out the live preview here. I do hope to remain consistent and finally complete this challenge after 100 days, how hard can it be, right?

The finished project

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Thursday June 9, 2022

7
$ 1.95
$ 1.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Aimure
+ 6
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

So one of my friends started Yahoo early last year because he was damn broke, but do you know what? Till now he's yet to catch anything because passion is total zero. He attends to the stuff once in a while 🀣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ that one is not ready, he joined yahoo because of peer pressure

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When money isn't falling in, some people will be discouraged and look for other things to do, like you said, some are just there for the money and not much passion for it, I have seen some people who have been like everywhere but still nothing, they know what they have passion for but they don't do it because they believe that it might take longer than expected to make money from it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aswear, people are quick to jump on something that's giving someone else money while they ignore the things they really have passion for

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's how some people and at the end of the day they will say it doesn't pay and distract others from doing it. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hopefully, before the end of the 100 days, school doesn't resume. Hope sey you never abandon report?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Report in the mud πŸ˜‚ abeg if you don do your own finish, help a brother 🌚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I never start o πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All of you that code shey you will not come and teach us bayi. Nice message bro when things look very impossible sometimes we just need to look at it and say how hard can it be.. it is definitely not impossible.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly bro, difficulty comes in when we haven't looked at the full picture, especially if it's something we don't really have passion for

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly like you need you need to understand the full Thing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed, to stay consistent we need to put in the time and we can't put in the time if we don't have the passion for it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly, not doing the things we love we make it harder to stay consistent

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, you said it all. I do not have to add anything here dude.. You already have passion for it and am sure 100 days are piece of cake for you

$ 0.02
1 year ago

For now it's piece of cake but it's going to be hard rock when school activities resumes πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I know.. balance baby!!! set priorities and write them down.. step 1, step 2, step 3... this is how I used to manage too back when I was a student in dinosaur era

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dinosaur era? 🀣 I get what you're saying and it's actually what I am doing now, I just have to find a way to implement it into my school life as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yeah, we belong to 1990s.. so the dinosaur era

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like the graphic and illustrationof of the first photo. Goodness! That's so real and meaningful.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜† I can totally relate to that photo because that's what happens when I am not consistent on this platform

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I tried.opening the link but I could not understandπŸ˜‚. Maybe because I am not an IT?πŸ˜‚

Yeah passion is really important in order to succeed. That's one of the reason why I chose not too pursue teaching...ehhh I don't have a passion in itπŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜† not sticking to the things we have passion for will make it harder to do, and hence it will be difficult to be consistent

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Absolutely, brother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right, being consistent is not easy to attain but if you have discipline and if you reaaly comiitted to your goal and finished a tasks, everything is possible. And definitely the result of being consistent all the way make things a way better and better results.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Being consistent on something you love makes it a whole lot easier to do that thing as time goes on, inconsistency makes every step harder

$ 0.00
1 year ago