Break out of your shell

23 52
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Last week when I was in a class, the lecturer deviated from what she was teaching (as usual) and started telling us stories of her childhood and how her family reared chickens in their house.

Then she told us something about chicken eggs; "The mother hen isn't the one that will crack the shell for the chicks to come out, they have to do it themselves from the inside and the only thing she may do is to help her chicks to completely come out of the shell. And anyone that can't break out of its shell and ends up getting external help, may likely not survive"

Image source

That's interesting, I actually know the chicks are the ones that break out from their shells, but the part I didn't know was that if you help them to break the shell, they are not going to survive.

That observation can also be applied to life; you have got to be willing to break out of your shell if you want to succeed at something. In essence, you have to have that zeal to succeed, before seeking external help when you need it.

It's just like someone being possessed by an evil spirit, they have to be willing to break out of that union before even talking about an exorcism.

Or what about someone in an abusive marriage? They have to be the ones that will be willing to walk out of the marriage before they can be free. Even when you force them to a court to try and get a divorce, the judge asks them if they want a divorce, if they say no then the marriage still stands.

A lot of persons prefer to just remain in their shell and keep waiting for someone to bring them out of it and even when someone does bring them out, they end up going back to the shell because their mind is not ready to be free.

Image source

Shells are present in everything in life, including our brain (brain shell 😉). What I mean is that most times we are stuck on a difficult task and after thinking very hard on how to crack the problem, we still don't see a way out.

But most times, when we do crack such a difficult problem, we get a huge feeling of satisfaction that can't be compared to when someone helps us out.

Haven't you noticed that the problems you figured out on your own tend to retain in your memory longer than when someone else helps you out? Pushing our brain to break out of its shell ensures that the knowledge of solving that problem survives longer in the brain.

I don't know about others but I tend to do better when I figure out how to do a task my way. It's when I can't seem to crack that problem that I now seek external help. But some people immediately ask for help when they are faced with challenges without even trying to figure it out on their own.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

I usually don't like that attitude and it's a huge turn-off for me when I am tutoring someone and the first thing they do when they face a problem is to ask for my help; you will never learn very well if you continue that way.

I remember something funny that happened some weeks back when I was doing an assignment in school. A classmate was bugging me that I should do the assignment fast so he can copy it.

It's an easy assignment, so I agreed to let him copy mine when I m done. But he kept pestering me to hurry up so he can write, so I decided to just show him the page in the textbook with the answers to the assignment so he can just copy from there, but he refused!

He wants an easier way which is to copy directly from me. It seems he loves the shell he is in and he doesn't want to come out even after being offered help, so I just left him there and refused to give him my assignment.

When I see someone trying so hard to accomplish a difficult task, I will be more than willing to help. It shows commitment, dedication, and the zeal to succeed.

It's far better to break out from your shell, and yes it's going to require a lot of time and effort but it's worth it in the end and you will enjoy its benefits much longer.

Just like how a chick has a higher chance of surviving when it breaks its shell, you too have a better chance at success when you willingly come out of your shell.

Thanks for reading

Thursday November 6th, 2021

13
$ 5.75
$ 5.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
+ 12
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

Students these days are lazy. I wonder how the upcoming generations would be...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I just pity the upcoming generation, they may be worse

$ 0.00
2 years ago

About the assignment issue, it's very rampant among students, like, what if the person you're expecting to copy from doesn't do it, does it mean you won't do it too? It's really crazy

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The thing with people like that is there are very resourceful. They usually have more than one person they copy from, Incase on person fails to deliver

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a masterpiece housed on the petals of reality. You held our attention to the fact that life is a platform that gives room for self development. We are all born live but by the compulsion of life; we must strive to learn and unlearn inorder to see success.

You framed the image of hardwork by not just preaching it but by citing an example of a course mate who planted corns on the sand of failure by refusing to do the work. There is nothing we can't do, once we set our hearts and minds to it. Thanks for sharing your experience and thoughts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We are only limited by our minds and we can achieve whatever we strive for, thanks for your beautiful comment 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so true. The joy that comes when you solves a problem yourself is immeasurable. I remember when I needed to compile multiple files(PDF) in in one file and it shouldn't be above 200kb. I took it to a cafe and the man could not do. The ones he did were more than 200k. I paid him and angrily left. When I got home, I made researches and did it myself. Swears, I was on top of the world that day

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aswear bro, the joy will get from accomplishing difficult tasks by our hands can't be compared with anything else

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It easier to say I’m going to let go but when it’s time we feel completely hindered... I love the example that it takes someone in it to break it not an external factor... firstly challenge our selves to be better, seriously every student one way or another have copied assignment before but as we moved up in school we never did that anymore...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel irritated too when I see some students waiting for their mates to write an assignment and then you want to copy it out. I believe myself, I will never give you. We need to face Challenges on our own first and if we can't do it alone, we can then beckon on someone to help us out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the hen-egg illustration, I know they break out themselves and we should also apply that to our lifestyle.

There is not point in restricting yourself from positive things and it would be of great benefit if we also break out of whatever shell we are in and explore + have a good life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Most people tend to build a shell around themselves coz they believe attaining greatness is impossible for them, so they rather remain in their comfort zone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God help those who help themselves. The power and ability to be of first help to yourself is already within you. No one who's wiilling to help himself goes unnoticed, whether by God or people.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, you have to be of help to yourself first before someone else can help you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said, indeed. We start to excel when we were going to break our shells. We need to out from our comfort zone for us to explore something new. God bless you sir, I love it!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Stepping out of our comfort zone gived us the opportunity to grow even further. God bless you too 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always not contented on just staying in my comfort zone, I want to exceed my limits for me to be prepared to face reality, we need to get out on our comfort smzone so that we coukd challenge ourselves to strive harder for the success.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're on the right track, exploring outside our comfort zones will expose us to a world of excellence where we have the capacity to exceed our limits 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything happens at school ahah. From those who copy from others, those who like to have everything copied, and even those who do the impossible not to say anything to anyone ever. A total diversity ahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

LoL. You have no idea how our classmates can be characters in a TV show that is all encompassing in genre 🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's like a reality TV show with different levels of crazy characters😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's like stepping out of our comfort zone. I like how you relate it to our life.. Some are afraid of what the world could bring so they tend to slack in their abode. It can also be a dark past or depression. Some can not move on from it.. And those who can't break the wall of their darkroom to see the light won't survive.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love your input ate Jane and you're right, it's just like stepping out of our comfort zone. Although some people have different reasons for remaining in the dark, but it will be beneficial for them if they step into the light and move on

$ 0.00
2 years ago