A quick weekend rundown

17 40
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Today has been one word for me; stressful! I spent most of the day in school because I and three of my classmates were on duty today to take care of the newly hatched fishes we spawned recently as part of our project given to us by one of our professors.

Image source

I actually thought I won't do anything much, that it's just going to be the usual feeding every three hours and constant water flow through to ensure the water is always clean but when I saw the state of the fish tanks, I just knew I am going to be busy for a while.

When I arrived at the farm at about 9am, I met one of my classmates who was just watching a movie on her phone. One look at the fish tanks and I knew I have to work on it because I saw a lot of dead fish, which means I have to siphon them out and remove the dirt in the water.

The dirt came from eggs that didn't hatch, overtime they decayed and form some sort of web in the water which ends up killing the fish. I brought out a water hose and started siphoning, which is done by putting one end of the hose in the water and sucking the other end into an empty bowl (it's just like how a vacuum cleaner works πŸ˜‰).

Image source

I spent over 3 hours doing that and when I was done, it was already 1pm and I was feeling hungry. I went to one of the restaurants in school to eat and then returned to the farmhouse where I interacted here for a while before I dozed off.

I woke up at about 4pm and realized the day is almost over and I didn't do much engagement on read.cash and noise.cash. sincerely, school is a huge distraction and I tend to be less productive on this platform when I am in school.

The past two days have been an awesome experience for me because I could comfortably clear my notification here, and that was because I was home throughout the day, but today was different because I couldn't even clear half of it.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

I was discussing with my classmates later in the evening and one of them said that lecturers are about to embark on a strike, which means school will have to be shut down for some months. I told her that I even want that to happen and they should strike for over 3 months so I can have time grind more here πŸ˜†.

But she disagreed with me and asked if I am not tired of school. I told her I am tired but at the same time, I need money because I know I will need lots of it for my final year in school. Then she told me something; "It's when you get to the river that you start figuring out a way to fetch water".

Basically, she's trying to say I will cross that bridge when I get there, but I am not someone that likes to believe everything will fall into place, I don't leave something to chance. I rather plan on how to cross the bridge before getting there, so that it won't be difficult when I reach there.

Image source

She went further to say that school is holding her back on the things she needs to do. She has a restaurant where she cooks and sells food but because of school, she can't fully focus on it. She also said she once had a contract to go cook in another city but she couldn't take it because of her busy schedule in school.

My other classmate agreed with her and said school is also holding him back. He is a movie actor and he said he has missed some auditions because of school. At that point I could see where they are coming from, I was even complaining earlier that I wasn't productive here today because of the activities I did in school today πŸ˜†.

I then told them I could totally relate to what they are saying, I am struggling to balance both school and my activities here on read.cash and it's truly not easy ( @DocLayla, @HappyBoy and other students here can relate to this).

I had to pause the programming course I was taking online because it will be hell to combine that with the things I am doing now, that will be like taking two major courses at the same time. I once did that when I was in my third year; doing programming at the same time as my university course and my grades suffered at the end of the semester.


We were interrupted on our discussion when @methion suddenly called and told me the farm manager is coming, that I have to help him to harvest some fish. Well, that was my signal to get out of the farm coz I seriously don't want to do any harvesting.

The time was 5:30pm at that point and the shift is supposed to end at 6pm but I and one of my classmates are leaving earlier because we have been around since morning and the last person only arrived in the afternoon, so he alone will have to stay till 6pm.

When he heard the farm manager is coming to harvest fish and he saw that I was about to run home, he too was about to leave as well but I told him he has to stay and tried to convince him that the harvest won't be difficult. Before I could pick my bag and bolt out, the manager breezed in πŸ˜‚ damn! I was close.

I just helped him to harvest the fish from a tank using a scoop net and I was done with it in less than 20 minutes. I quietly went home after that, they won't be seeing me again on that farm until next year, I am traveling back home tomorrow πŸ₯³


I got home and started cooking immediately. I prepared spaghetti and after eating, I spent some time on readcash and noisecash until 9pm, then I started writing this article. I will watch a movie later on titled The unholy, it's a horror movie and that's the last thing I will do before going to bed.

Lest I forget, I saw a crazy headline while browsing through nairaland earlier this evening; Enraged Monkeys Kill 250 DOGS In India (click the link for the main source)

And that's a monkey with love symbol on his butt doing something diabolical, imagine the irony!

@Theblackdoll it seems the monkeys in your country are super crazy and vengeful πŸ˜†

Well, that was pretty much it for my boring weekend. Hopefully, my next weekend won't be as boring as this one, seeing as it's Christmas 🀩 Happy Christmas in advance to you all.

Huge thanks to @CoquiCoin for her sponsorship renewal, thank you for all the support ma'am πŸ€—

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Saturday December 18, 2021

11
$ 9.04
$ 8.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 7
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

I didn't now animals also seek vengeance . He no easy my brother. I struggle everyday trying to keep up

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It will be well bro, at least you're almost at the finish line

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope you are having a lovely day and all the rest you can get today? Why is it that almost all students around me all want the strike to happen. This is quite strange compared to previous strikes. Doclayla can't just stop praying for the strike so that she can reduce some "stuff". Don't tell me see have joined the "school na scam" gang. Nothing wey bubu no go fit destroy for this kontri πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ the only reason why I want the strike is because I want to hustle, I just need like 3 months strike πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never see where final year student dey pray for strike o . Chai , buhari why?πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ I am not in final year yet sha, that one go be next year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well i also cross the river in the same manner as u do

$ 0.02
2 years ago

School can distract us from doing other activities but we don't have any other options to compromise so I think it is better to use our every seconds carefully and wisely than to complain. It is really hard but we can still try to figure out all the things. I'm hearing this news for the first time that "Monkeys killed 250 dogs" , I'm imagining how they got the idea of taking revenge.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah I usually compromise, but sometimes it gets really stressful but I just have to keep managing it till I graduate out of here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The fish project is great, I wish you success in your studies, my friend

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks friend 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The weekend goes by like this. I think I will relax a little but my life is over while workingπŸ˜…πŸ˜… Have fun dear.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Have fun too Mazekin 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nawa o! Monkey taking revengeπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ so ironical indeed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I just can't stop laughing at that news, that's the real jungle justice πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had a busy weekend I think, it's good you would be free to go home and have fun this Christmas till next year...have fun 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks bro, have fun as well 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago