Weirdest things about Nigerian universities

42 87
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: University, Nigeria

While working on my project yesterday morning I had random flashbacks of the stress I went through during my university days, the sleepless nights, studying for hours, the weirdness of our university system; weird laws, lecturers behaving like gods, and yada yada. This inspired me to write this article based on my personal experience and my view of these universities.

"Disclaimer: this article is only intended for fun and to share my personal experience, not to tarnish the image of the schooling system in Nigeria".

Let’s have some fun, here we go!

Lead image from unsplash.com

What exactly is the acceptance fee?

Ever since I gained admission into the university I had always wondered what the acceptance fee is meant for, are we paying the school for accepting us as students or paying the school because we accepted the admission given to us? In fact I paid an acceptance fee of 51,000 (fifty one thousand) Naira on gaining admission into my university, this amount was twice the school fee at the time of gaining admission. I don’t know if schools in other countries do this, but it’s something I’ve always found weird because we still had to pay the school fee and other hidden fees. Lots of laughter! @HappyBoy how much was your acceptance fee when you got into the university?

The hidden fees                    

Regardless of what school you attend in Nigeria, there are always hidden fees. For instance faculty fee is already a part of the school fee breakdown yet I remember paying the faculty fee every semester regardless of the initial payment. Non-payment means we couldn’t do the necessary per-semester clearance.

We paid for library use yet still had to pay for registration at the library or we wouldn’t be able to get a library identity card. Funny thing is I never entered the library till I graduated, I’ve got no idea how it looks.

The Health Center fee is a part of the initial school fee paid on gaining admission yet I remember paying an extra sum of 3000 (three thousand) Naira during my first year registration at the university health center. Scams here and there, I laugh in Japanese (lol).

Reparation fee ahead of damage

In the breakdown of our school fee which usually consists of tuition fee, faculty fee, health center, library fee, and so on, there’s also something we call a reparation fee (money paid  in case of damages whether accidental or deliberately). I actually find it funny that students have to pay a reparation fee as a part of the school fee ahead of potential damages, but If damages took place at some point during the semester the student at fault still had to pay a reparation fee regardless of whether it had been paid as a part of the school fee or not. Isn’t that a fraudulent act? Bitter truth is there’s nothing anyone can do about it.

Every lecturer says you will fail

“You will fail this course” is a common slang by almost every lecturer in Nigerian universities. Our lecturers tend to see themselves as gods, like they’ve got the power to do whatever pleases them and no one can do anything about it. Most Nigerian lecturers will tell you that you can’t have an A In his course. The common slang is; A is for God, B is for my wife and C is for any student that can study heard, while other scores below C belong to the lazy students and not so intelligent students. @Princessbusayo should understand, she talks about these a lot.

Some private universities don’t accept smart phones

You may find it weird but some private universities do not allow their students use smartphones in the 21st century, it’s the strangest thing ever. They claim the internet is a source of evil and juvenile delinquency among the youth hence they want to discipline their students and bla bla bla. How do they expect them to get solution to assignment, interact with the outside world and get the necessary exposure? The students are not allowed to leave the school premises, neither are they allowed to be awake after the general light out. I consider it the most absurd thing ever, treating university students like they’re in kindergarten, these peeps are meant to be adults and not controlled experiments in a lab.

I know a university (name withheld) that doesn’t allow its students eat meat because they’re training them to be vegetarians, neither do they allow them tae soft drinks like coke or Pepsi cos’ they believe it contains alcohol that could cause students to misbehave. This is what I call “lack of exposure in its highest”.

Seats are never enough

Believe me when I tell you that the number of admitted students each year is always more than the available resources, seats are never enough- students mostly hang around the lecture theaters so they could listen to the lectures through the windows, the lecture theaters are smaller than the number of students it is meant to occupy, and the marker boards are always so small that you’d hardly see anything even when you sit at the front of the class.

Public address systems were never available hence the lecturers have to shout at the top of their voice to reach….. Yeah, you guessed right, to reach just half of the entire students in the class.

We had to line up to make some payments

During my first year I had basically the worst experience ever; the entire faculty of science which consisted of over two thousand students had to line up in the sun to pay for a certain fee which they called “third party fee”, till today I have no idea what that means but I’m glad I survived.

I lined up in the sun for about two hours, and it was coincidental that I was going through a series of stomach pain since the beginning of the week due to changes in environment and water. The water over there is terrible, had stomach pain for weeks before I finally adapted. I had no choice but to join the line and stayed in the blood draining sun while the stomach pain was simultaneously draining my life force, I’m glad I survived. I sometimes wonder, if @Olasquare and @King_Gozie went through the same thing?

Conclusion

Though my university days were super stressful, the fun was also there, and flashing through the memories makes me laugh. If I had the power, I wouldn’t allow anyone go through the same thing I went through.

Thanks for reading!

Feel free to share your experience.

Shout out to my Sponsors @CoquiCoin , @Eylz2021 and so on, I will continue to make you proud.

26
$ 10.42
$ 9.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
$ 0.10 from @Eylz2021
+ 13
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: University, Nigeria

Comments

Converting about the lecturers they are just wicked they don't care about anything than to just failing people and meanwhile, they didn't teach us well

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Happens everywhere, it's extremely annoying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember that I used to go to school at least 2hrs earlier than my scheduled class just to pay for the initial payment or have my card stamped for exams. Glad that when I entered the second year, I don't have to do it anymore. I have my boyfriend to do that for me hahaha he is now my husband, btw.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lucky you, at least you had someone to do it for you after the first year. I had to go the whole stress myself. What university did you attend?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember my college days as one of the best in my life. Now the education situation in my country is very bad due to the crisis we are experiencing. And It's weird all the extra fees you have to pay.

And you're welcome! It's my pleasure to be your sponsor. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's basically everywhere, we were extorted of our money through those fees. I'm glad to be finally out of the system.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone made education system a business to make more money

They don't give a F with student life and conditions just need to fulfil their requirements it's soo worst here as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Its basically everywhere. Almost like they don't care what happened, they're only motivated by money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gosh upon reading your story i feel your hardship in falling inline to pay for the fees that is ridiculous to me. When i was also in college i need to be very early in the university so i will not wait too long in line it is my nightmare when i could not pay and need to comeback for tommorrow. Glad you survive your college.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was serious stress for me back then, I'm glad I survived. In what country did you attend university?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello i came from Philippines this is where i attended university

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Phone isn't allowed as well as not eating meat? Men! This is the weirdest for me. Like what? Are they serious? Why should they force the students to be veggies? And where would the students get the information for their assignments or what? Hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I sincerely don't understand either. Those private universities are so backwards in understanding. They think the best way to curb indecency and juvenile delinquency is by fialleoong smartphones. How will they interact with the world? Their level of exposure will he basically zero. Neither do I understand why they force their students to be vegetarians. It's really annoying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I did my undergraduate studies we also had the problem of chairs. there were more students than seats. many stood at the door. that was before. Now in my country the universities are closing their faculties, there are few students and professors. They have left the country looking for quality of life. Before we also had to wait in line to pay registration fees in the library, in the dining room, in the tuition. That is history.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We went through basically the same thing. I sincerely hope for a change cos' the current system isn't helping.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm lucky to never face that professor with a "you will fail this course" line. I don't know what to do when he said that to me. And also I'm lucky to have a privilege of studying in a free tuition fee university. And being a scholar at the same time. Dude that's a big money to pay for. And not to mention the hidden fee that's actually exploited hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

@Happyboy is also from my country, if he shares his experience you'd be equally shocked. They exploit us a lot here and lecturers behave like gods. 😂 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your university really is a strange place. :D You need to be rich to attent university in your country, I see. Hidden fees are not okay and it should be prohibited :/ I'm so glad that I can go to my university for free, but it cost me a lot of money anyway, because I need to do art projects every semester - and let me tell you... all the paint, brushes, canvases and other things are expensive too 😃

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The below average person cannot afford university education and there's hardly any scholarship for anybody. They basically rob us of our money while trying to get educated.

You went to the university for free? What country?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Czech Republic :) My university is a public one, so it's free. You only pay for application and for your student's card.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lucky you. Public universities here are super expensive. All I talked about in my article are public universities. There's obviously no future for the youth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't mind these Nigerian Universities. They have their ways of scamming everyone. Till now, I still wonder why they still collect Acceptance fees from us. At least they want us to come to their school and we were been given admission by their own criteria. So why are they asking for acceptance fee instead of normal school fees.

And the worst is for you to hear our so called lecturers depriving us of good results even after reading and studying the hell out of our lives 😅😅😅😅

May God judge them 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May God judge them o... I completely agree with you. It's annoying that these people enjoyed free education during their time but make us pay exorbitant fees during our time. It's not fair.
Anyways, I'm challenging you @princessbusayo to write something similar to this topic too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🙄🙄🙄 Write wetin? You have said all already na 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Share your personal experience o...abeg

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously i did...its so funny that nothing ever becomes what it was. I actually wondered what those fees was for. Acceptance fee was higher than schools fees, paid for insurance, paid for transportation we never got to ever see happen. Thanks for the feature.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, we were basically scammed. I'm glad to hear our of there finally. 😅 What about the fact that Babcock doesn't allow its students to take soft drinks especially coke and Pepsi. They want them to be vegetarians as well, no meat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL Phone wasn't allowed? this is the weirdest for me. In my High school yeah it's really forbidden but of course teen ageing was quite rebelling haha, but University without its a big NO. Some people don't had laptop and phones becomes their computer and assignment reference...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sincerely i see it as lack of exposure to denied university students from having a phone. It's just pure nonsense. They give them free laptops and Wi-Fi but with limited internet access, they can't even browse the internet at will. It's disturbing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

“You will fail this course” - this is the weirdest of them all, I think. Being a learning environment, this should not even be spoken :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's a common saying here, we've all gotten used to it. Our lecturers threaten students a lot. Have you got any experience you wanna share?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't remember hearing such in my schools, or I probably have forgotten :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't let me even start😂 . They said we are not paying Tuition fee but we paid 65k for health,ICT,insurance and so many things i haven't used since i got into the school. Year 1 ,faculty due was 24k . I can remember my registration day when i heard the amount i was to pay as faculty dues. E choke

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Basically scams. My school fee 150k, acceptance fee 51k. What is acceptance fee exactly? Are we paying them for accepting us?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sounds like most of the Indian universities too 😅😅🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, they do the same there as well? Kindly share your experience. Or will you write about it? I guess it will be more fun that way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They do more honey, more causes to literally suck all the blood from students and parents... leeches I tell you

$ 0.00
2 years ago