Four Eyed Stick: My glasses and I

37 81
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Glasses makes us look stylish, and comes in all sort of shapes; from the circular to the common square and rectangular shapes each giving us a unique look, making us look and feel  cute in our own way. Unfortunately not everyone uses glasses in order to feel or look good but use it due to an eye defect.  I am one of the many people that didn’t get their glasses from the usual fashion house but from an optician, had to undergo a series of weird tests which I’d rather not talk about, thinking about it freaks me out.

Lead Image

I am among the lucky few that didn’t get bullied at childhood from using glasses, though I’ve been photo-phobic from childhood, it was negligible and didn’t use glasses until last year. I sometimes had difficulty in seeing at some point but I’ve always been good at keeping things to myself hence my parents weren’t aware of the difficulty I had, I ignored it over the years I got used to it until I couldn’t take it anymore. I guess it got worse because I usually read my books for 8 to 10 hours straight while I was in the university and it began to tell on me (I studied physics so you had to read for hours or you’re going nowhere).

I suddenly noticed I couldn’t see things clearly almost like the words were moving on books and had to concentrate before I could finally grasp what was written, I ignored all these until it happened in the exam hall.

It was in my third year (300 Level) during PHY 301 (circuit theorem) exam, I suddenly realized I could hardly read what I had written and the prints on the question paper was also blurry, I could see the words but they were moving here that I could hardly grasp what was written. I had to close my eyes for few seconds and opened them, after which I could see clearly again. That was the beginning of the struggle. I was photo-phobic and couldn’t see words clearly, almost like words were moving on the sheets. Got tested few months later where it was discovered that I had astigmatism and was given a slightly tinted glasses due to light sensitivity, with focal length of….( wouldn’t say) due to the astigmatism. Basically my glasses make things smaller, and I was advised not to read for too long but that’s an advice I’d never take.

My everyday struggles

People think you’re blind without your glasses- I find this really annoying and sometimes want to punch people in the face when they say this, I’m a peace loving person (or not) so I simply ignore them. People see you on the street and ask if you can see clearly. I was watching TV at home once when a neighbor came in, saw me without my glasses and asked a very weird question “can you see me, how many fingers is this?” I simply smiled but wanted it was annoying.

My nose constantly gets marked- My glasses isn’t a tight one but it keeps marking my nose perhaps because I put on glasses all the time, and this has resulted in discoloration. Due to this, I try as much as possible not to remove my glasses while in public cos’ it’s a little bit embarrassing for me. At a point I had to search for remedies online, one includes mixing tomatoes with lemon and all sort of things, did that for some time as shown in below image worked but couldn’t continue cos’ I’ve been busy ever since and completely forgot about it.

Did a tomato therapy at some point to get rid of the glasses mark on my nose

Falling asleep with glasses on- I’ve gotten really used to my glasses being on my face for 24 hours that I sometimes forget that my glasses even exists. I sometimes hit my hand on my glasses in an attempt to scratch my face before realizing my glasses are still there. I fall asleep with my glasses on most nights that I only remove it when I wake at midnight to pee or something. It’s mostly not my fault but having a light sensitive is a real struggle hence I have to put on glasses all the time, the real world is just too bright for me.

Being called a four eyed stick- Just as @Sequoia mentioned being called a “four eyed stick” by her friends in her article titled My 3 major struggles of wearing an eyeglass, I also go through the same thing but not from outsiders as they dare not, but from my roommates while in the university. They sometimes teased me whenever I was searching for something in the room and I didn’t have my glasses on, their words would be “you won’t see it until you put on your glasses”. Those words are annoying but they’re the only people with the right to say so, hence I simply smile and it ends up in a pillow fight.

 

And many more…..there are so many struggles attached to the use of glasses that I cannot say them all due to limited time. I decided to write a bit of my experience on reading @Sequoia’s post about her three major struggles. Feel free to share your experience in the comment section.

Thanks for reading!

18
$ 7.26
$ 6.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 11
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

People with glasses face some struggles. But I like how people with glasses look like. I never had to wear some when younger, now I need them to read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You probably thought putting on glasses made them look cool. Right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You probably thought putting on glasses made them look cool. Right?

Of course, I think people with glasses look cool and interesting ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got scared during my first eye check-up.., I was alone at that time, and while doing some of the tests, I got scared... when I cannot properly see the letters being asked, with the thing on my eyes, I wanted to go out immediately, I wanted to cry, that made me realize I have neglected my eyes... can't forget that time when thoughts of not being able to see came into my mind..., luckily, eyeglasses can help me see things properly..,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you were able to get a correction lens for your eyes. Have you experienced any improvement after that? And...how long had it been since you began to use glasses?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I started using one in the year 2016.., but I lost it and it took more than a year to have it replaced. As a result, it got worse.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you're consistent with using your glasses, you'd improve drastically. I promise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a lesson learned for me... I usually don't use it regularly that made it worse...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Other people don't know the struggles we face 🤦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right, they think it's fun until they experience it themselves. I used to bleed in my ear at a point cos my glasses frame was too thick. My ear later adapted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see the struggle of people with glasses. 3 people in my family wear glasses, one cannot see a thing without them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't see without them? That's terrible. How did it get to that stage?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

According to the ophthalmologist, it's in her genes. She has to change glasses every 6 months, and the grade is getting higher. Her glasses now is very thick.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You talked about tomato therapy to remove glasses mark can you just talk more about that? Falling sleep with glasses on could cause damages of the glasses too and what's is the approach you are planning to curb this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The tomato therapy is a secret, won't tell you. 🤣🤣 I do not intend to adjust this habit of mine, I've been sleeping off with my glasses on for over one year and it didn't break. my glasses frame is very thick.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why even if zi really want to wear eye glasses just to protect my eyes from radiation, I can't it's just that I'm uncomfortable I hate it 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Depends on what size you're putting on. If you really like it, you'd use it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's my wish to wear glasses and lol when I'll go in city I'm going to get one glasses for me coz my eyesight is week now and my wish is going to become true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had to wear corrective glasses for 2 years after an acute glaucoma attack suffered on Boracay Island when departing my vacation. I nearly went blind in my right eye.

On Christmas Eve 2014, I went to the ER and was immediately medicated.

After a couple of months I had laser surgery on both eyes and wore glasses from then on.

As a writer it was a pain in the neck to find my glasses all the time so I had a few pair. One day in 2017 I woke up and began writing, only 3-5 days after buying a new pair of glasses for $150. It wasn't until I had written a full page of an academic essay that I realized I did not have my glasses on.

To this day, praise the Lord, I have not worn glasses since.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you eventually got better, I can imagine what you went through, it just have been a real struggle for you. People that see without glasses don't know how lucky they are.

Praise God you finally got better, I'm so happy for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My girlfriend at the time delayed taking me to the ER for2 days because she said it was just a migraine and because it was the holidays. Glad I forced her to take me.

Take care there, friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am wearing glasses for almost a year now because I just found out that my vision is now is getting bad. I cannot see text clearly and even people that is far away from me. All is blurry. And the struggle you mentioned, I have them all. I am still annoyed about it, but maybe will get used to it in the long run.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, but I can never get used to my nose constantly getting marked by the glasses, aimed say they don't experience this, maybe my glasses is too tight. Just maybe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see. You can try to have it adjusted. Maybe you'll get more comfortable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do that often but its basically the same thing. I uses to bleed in my ear ay some point cos my glasses frame was too thick got o eventually got over it, or maybe my ear became stronger lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! Maybe your ears get used to it by now. But hopefully the glasses will be adjusted perfectly to remove the marks on your nose.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL! I can really relate to this. I'm wearing glasses for almost 7 years now. Oh well, those you mentioned above doesn't annoy me anymore. I usually just laugh it off. haha Those moments when they thought you can't see when you're not wearing glasses, and the question of how many fingers is this. LOL

I sometimes fall asleep with my glasses on too. There are really lots of struggles. Foggy glasses when drinking coffee, foggy glasses when wearing face mask. Etc. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The face mask thing is really weird, gets foggy when I breathe out and clears again when I breathe in. 🤣🤣 maybe we have secret powers that we know nothing about. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

very true haha. so if you don't want your glasses to be foggy, just hold your breath. jk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hold your breath and die from not breathing..🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

at least your glasses aren't foggy. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ughhhh.. feels like I'm reading something from my own life... I wore glasses from the time I was born lol... it's not our fault or our choice how to be born right? But thankfully, I grew out of it.. and did that tomato therapy worked or nah??? 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The tomato therapy worked but I didnt continue cos I've been extremely busy that I conoletely forgot about it until today while writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do wear glasses and ppl think I'm rude when I don't recognize them on the street!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They don't understand the struggles, they don't know how lucky they are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wearing glasses wasnt a curse until society came in!🤷

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's exactly the problem, society is a mess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago