Childhood dreams….#2

16 40
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

I’d continue from where I stopped in “childhood dreams”. If you haven’t read the first part now would be an opportunity to do so.

My Dad suggested I changed my career choice to something much easier due to my poor grades; the poor grades wasn’t exactly my fault and nobody blamed me for this, it was all due to my constant sickness I would perform better in other departments that didn’t and spending most of my time in the hospital. My Dad felt I would perform better in other departments that didn’t require full commitments unlike the sciences that had Chemistry, Physics, and Math; which required constant practice and dedication. I was ready to go along with this decision cos’ all I wanted at this point was good grades and nothing more. My parent and I had a talk with the vice principal of my school and one decision changed everything………

The parents had a discussion with the vice principal concerning my poor grades and how we intend to change my department and career choice but surprisingly He said NO. He told my parents to give me more time, and that I was gonna perform better in the following year since he was usually in charge of Physics and Mathematics in the finals. Surprisingly my department wasn’t changed, and my result got better. I think it was purely coincidental that I didn’t get sick during the following term which gave me enough time to study; this time I studied more than I usually did, wrote the promotion exams to high-school finals (SS3) and kaboom….the result was really good. It was way better than the previous years. The good thing was that I didn’t get sick during the exam period and was able to put myself into study; with this good result my parents were convinced that I could stay in the science department and follow my dreams.

Wanted to be a zoologist; hash-tag laziness

I retained my position in the science department but my career choice had changed; I no longer wanted to be a mechanical engineer, this time I didn’t know what I wanted to do. I realized I had a natural affinity for science subjects like geography, physics and Biology but chemistry was completely out of the equation. But since I liked reading about animals and watched lots of animal documentaries on NATGEO wild and Discovery world, I decided I was gonna be a zoologist. I felt I was gonna be a super easy course which didn’t require stress since my brain automatically adapted to anything that had to do with animals and yada yada….instead of having to study this was what I wanted but wasn’t sure. Since I was preparing for high school finals, the most common question I was asked by my parents was “what do you want to study?” Each time I was asked this question; my answer was either “zoology” or “I don’t know”. My mom always said a big NO to zoology and said I must go for Mechanical Engineering at all cost.

I forgot to mention somewhere between that I had a really massive love for Physics. I had loved physics since my first year in senior le I high; I basically read through the text book every day and read topics meant for third years while I was still in my first year of high school. I found it really interesting and those calculations came to me easily. My interest in Physics grew daily but didn’t realize I could study Physics at BSc level, hence I didn’t know what career choice to go for……

Mechanical Engineering by force

Mom insisted I studied mechanical engineering; apart from the fact that I had been interested in this course since I was a kid, mom always wanted me to study this as well but didn’t realize my mindset had changed with time and all I wanted was a stress free course. As stated earlier, I didn’t realize I could study physics as a course hence I was really indecisive on my career choice. I guess I had no choice but to go with mom’s plan. I was enrolled in Lagos state polytechnic, I was one of the best but the weirdest things happened……

To be continued…….

 

Long story short; I’m a theoretical physicist today but there was a process to it. Will continue this story next time…..

Thanks for reading this extremely boring story!

Don’t forget to hit subscribe if you enjoyed reading this…

 

11. am, 23rd of September 2021.

 

Till next time.

 

Toodles!

 

9
$ 2.04
$ 1.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 2
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

I really enjoyed this And I'm Also zoologist officially . My degree complete last month and I'm in M Phil now a days .. This Is Great opportunity for me to get something new and knowing about animal

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Congratulations on your achievement dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Had a lot dreams too at childhood.... Wanted to be an astronaut, then the reality hit me when I was growing up.. So I had to dream something else 😌😌

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You woke up from your slumber...🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Man, you are a man of science and theoretical physicist rings a bell... Hawking! Would love to read how it goes :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What about you? What's your profession?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I studied Finance, worked in the corporate world, retired at 35, now a farm queen, lol!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Retired at 35? Damn. How old are you? I guess you're kidding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes... and no I am not kidding :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Memories 🥰. I enjoyed studying physics in Secondary school, the acceleration, vector, momentum, alternating current, radioactivity, weight, mass etc. It helped me a lot in higher institution.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Will all your mom's effort and dad suggestions I was surprised when you told me at first you are a theoretical physicist today. I would love to read the process on you became a theoretical physicist in your next article

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Did you notice the mechanical engineering part of the story? That was how it started.

$ 0.00
2 years ago