Happiness or comfort

14 36
Avatar for Kommie
Written by
3 years ago

Let's talk happiness and comfort. Do you prefer to be happy or just comfortable? I believe we've all come across the saying I rather cry in a Lamborghini than in a bus or something similar of that nature. With the nature of our world today, everyone just wants to make it big, some at the detriment of their happiness.

We've placed wealth and riches at such high standard that if you're not rich, little or no attention is paid to you. Little wonder why everyone is struggling to be at the top. The issue is that everyone is trying to be comfortable in life, trying to get the best of the best and sometimes, in the process they forget how to be happy.

So what's the difference between happiness and comfort?

Being happy implies that you find joy and fulfillment in what you do compared to comfort where you're indifferent, not happy and not sad either. You're on neutral ground.

According to the dictionary, comfort can be defined as a state of physical ease and freedom from pain and constraint. Wikipedia defines comfort(or being comfortable) as a sense of physical or psychological ease, often characterized as a lack of hardship. A comfortable life doesn't always equate to a happy life.

The thing with us humans is that we always want to achieve more. We're not comfortable being comfortable, we're always trying harder, struggling to be better and in the end, we might lose ourselves in the process.

There are so many rich people doing well for themselves but still aren't happy with their lives. They just feel something is missing, some know what it is while others don't

Being comfortable could be:

  • Having a well paid job that you don't actually like doing. Yes, it's paying the bills, making life easier but it probably doesn't make you happy.

  • Being in a relationship because you feel life will be easier with that person.

  • Your life is probably rigid, the same routine everyday, you don't do spontaneous things for fun because you're so focused on managing your time plus the many other examples.

  • You tend to always avoid risks and problems. How then do you expect to grow?

Considering happiness, the dictionary defines happiness as the state of pleasurable contentment of mind; deep pleasure in or contentment with one's circumstances. According to Wikipedia, the term happiness is used in the context of mental or emotional states, including positive or pleasant emotions ranging from contentment to intense joy. It is also used in the context of life satisfaction, subjective well-being, eudaimonia, flourishing and well-being.

What about the popular saying that money can buy happiness. Yes, it's true to some extent but at the same time it's temporary. The excitement of getting something new or something you've always wanted will eventually wear off with time and you're back to the beginning, using money to buy more things you feel will make you happy.

The good thing about happiness is that you can be comfortable alongside it. We may not always have all we want in terms of material possessions, but there's this joy and contentment that comes with being truly happy.

If you're a movie lover, I believe you've come across movies where we have a workaholic with a rigid lifestyle, then someone comes along that changes their view of life and makes them want to love a little and go out of their comfort zone.

Happiness can be considered to be:

  • You love your job. For something you're passionate about, you'll be quite excited to do it.

  • You're in a healthy relationship with friends and family.

  • You aren't afraid of change. You're open to exploring and taking risks. It's how you grow.

  • You're living in the moment and not obsessing about the past or how the future will turn out.

  • Simple things excite you like hearing your favourite song come on on the radio or simply taking a walk.

  • You have good health and good sleep.

  • You probably don't have regrets because you're living your best life.

  • You're not afraid of failure and you have hobbies you enjoy.

So while we're all trying in our own way to make living better and comfortable, let's not forget to put our happiness in front too because it's just as important. It's part of having the good life.

8
$ 0.11
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
$ 0.03 from @Macronald
$ 0.02 from @marblely
+ 1
Sponsors of Kommie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kommie
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Can I have both? I am happy if I am comfortable. So I cannot choose either one. As for me, wealth does bring comfort but it does not guarantee happiness. I would be happy to have just enough. No more debts and have savings. Thank you @wakeupkitty for summoning me here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just enough to manage is comfort too if you ask me. I guess it's because it's something we lack. I doubt with more or once rich I would be a big spender.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I will be a big spender too. It is good that I live in moderation. The most comfortable place for me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I said I will NOT change into a big spender. I hate shopping and waste. I spent enough for my entire life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am sorry. I misread that. Thank you for correcting me. I will change into a big spender. I don't have good money management. I need to stop starring at the screen for a while.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would say that I am happily comfortable :) Happiness is very subjective and it is up to us to define what is happiness. What makes me happy may not necessarily make you happy. It is an interesting food for thought. Thanks @wakeupkitty for the beep.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for your feedback and I totally agree with you❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can definitely day I'm just comfortable. Though there are snippets of my life that truly give me happiness but in most cases, I'm just comfortable

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad you have those snippets of your life that truly give you happiness. Thank you for your contribution.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Happiness is just a feeling and not different from being, feeling comfortable. If I feel comfortable it has to do with the place, perhaps the clothes I wear or the (lack of) people I am with. Crying in smelling bus sucks, no one cares. Comfort has nothing to do with wealth or extra (expensive) luxury items. It all depends on a person and if you can afford it why not?

Happiness is a feeling of a few seconds, one you cannot recognize if you never feel miserable, satisfied would be good to start with.

Both: happiness and comfort have nothing to do with being wealthy. It would be good if we stop with those stupid idioms out of the middle ages. Idioms meant to make clear poverty is good and richdom is bad, equal to feeling miserable and of course rich people are always ill. Nonsense.

@charmingcherry08, @Clarissa_KG, @esciisc, @gerl, @Hanzell, @heartbeat1515, @Jane, @Jdine, @lioness777, @marblely, @Mehedi01, @psychie, @Purplesky, @Urmeelaurmee122, @Xzeon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I understand your point. Probably they both don't have something to do with being wealthy, but I don't think they're the same thing. Happiness and comfort are very different. I stated an example there in my article, it's like getting a job you're comfortable, it's going well for you but you don't necessarily enjoy doing it. At that point, you're comfortable but you're not happy. And also, all of us want the good life, poverty isn't something to be celebrated. And please note that this article was targeted at those people that place material things above all other things.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For me happiness is about doing what I love to do and getting satisfied with it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I agree with you. There's contentment in knowing you're doing what you want to do

$ 0.00
3 years ago