If Bitcoin Cash Doesn't Make me Money, I Don't Care

6 41
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago

A couple of days ago, I filled an application form to join the Club1BCH family. One of the questions asked was:

How are you going to promote BCH to others?

The easiest way is to preach the Bitcoin Cash gospel to your family, friends, colleagues, acquaintances, and just anyone you have the opportunity to strike up a conversation with. I also added organising seminars to teach people about BCH and the potentials it offers. Then, link up with other Bitcoin Cash enthusiasts in the country to create a massive awareness campaign for BCH.

The latter will require some resources and financial input which I can't afford at the moment. So I started with the first and easy one, promoting BCH to the people around me.

The first friend I promoted bitcoin to isn't into cryptocurrency, so I tried to convince him with the idea of privacy, security, peer-to-peer payment, low transaction fees, fast and reliable transaction and more.

"Privacy you say, but I've nothing to hide. Only a crook would want such privacy for his transactions. I have nothing to hide."

"Also my money is secure and I used very strong password for my digital and mobile banking apps and also sending and receiving from my bank apps is fast and easy"

"My life without cryptocurrency is fine and comfortable, and I'm okay with that. I don't have time for all the drama and risk that comes with cryptocurrency".

My attempts to convince him was futile.

Then I decided to promote BCH to someone who is already into cryptocurrency. At least it would be easier since he is already taking the 'risk'. I know him to be a Bitcoin BTC enthusiast. During my discussion with him, I realised he had BTC, ETH, TRX, BNB and a few others in his portfolio. But no BCH. I tried to convince him of the value BCH offers over BTC and ETH - fast and low transaction fee, scalability, and how BCH price is still low and the possible profit he can make when it hits all-time high among other reasons.

" I'm comfortable with the speed and transaction fees of BTC and ETH. I'm holding them and don't use them often. Even if the transaction fee is much, I can easily swap them to coins like TRX or BNB on Binance that also offers low transaction fees. I have numerous altcoins and shitcoins which has the potential of making me a good profit during the bull market. BTC and ETH are my security assets..."

I couldn't convince him too. Perhaps I'm not good at this or am just unlucky with the people I have promoted BCH to.

The other day at a football match viewing centre, someone sitting beside me said to his friend (and probably roommate).

"Mek dis guys play goal goal, so we fit win dis bet, see moni pay for our rent ooo...befo landlord go vex sey mek we pak comot house".

That's Nigerian pidgin. In summary, their house rent is overdue and they placed a sports bet with the hope of winning some money to pay their rent.

Both teams scored at the end of the match, and they had one more game on the bet slip. They were excited when the second team scored.

I had a conversation with them after the match. We exchanged greetings and discussed some of the events from the match. Then I asked;

"... Are you on Facebook or Twitter?"

"Yes." They responded.

"Do you know you can earn money (in cryptocurrency) for doing the same activities you do on Twitter?"

I could tell they were interested.

I explained the basics to them. Told them about BCH and go they can earn it on noise.cash and bitcoin cash. One had his phone on him, so I guided him on what to do. He installed a bitcoin.com wallet and signed up on noise.cash for a start. The other promised to do the same when he gets home. We exchanged contact in case they needed assistance.

Before we departed, I showed him how to send and receive BCH on the bitcoin.com wallet. I sent him $1 worth of BCH and asked him to send $0.50 back to me. So he left with $0.5 in his wallet. They were very happy.

I was very happy. I got someone on board. We have been in touch since then and one plans to create a read.cash account soon.

In the end, I realized that the main reason that people would want to switch to BCH or adopt it is if it makes them money.

Many don't care about the privacy, security, autonomy and other promises of BCH, they want something that can earn them money and add value to their lives. And Bitcoin cash can do that and it's already doing that.

Through read.cash, noise.cash and other projects, Bitcoin Cash is positively impacting a lot of lives and helping people around the globe.

For the time I've been active here, I've read a lot of testimonies from numerous users about the positive effect BCH brought to their life and that of their families.

  • Food. Bitcoin cash has helped a lot of poor homes to get food. It has empowered some of us to help put food on our table and the table of others. I once read a post on how one user distributed foodstuffs to the less privileged in her community with the BCH she earned from read.cash.

  • Shelter. Someone shared how his shelter was threatened because he was late on dues. And before the deadline to been evicted from the apartment, he was able to earn enough to pay his rent. Others have shared similar tales.

  • Education. We have a lot of students paying tuition fees and getting their basic needs as students with their BCH earnings.

  • Changing lives. Here a user shared how Bitcoin Cash changed his life. From helping with his education to provide for his family and taking care of bills. I know many of us have stories to tell.

  • Community projects. The Bitcoin cash powered water project by @Maxdevalue.BCH in his community is one of many BCH powered community projects.

  • It provides solace for a stay at home mum. Bitcoin powered platforms like noise.cash and read.cash not only earn them BCH to get their needs it also connects them with people who keep them company and it also keeps them engaged.

  • Improving peoples perspective on life and finance. You can read one of many testimonies here.

In general, Bitcoin cash has helped improve the quality of life of the common man, changed lives and provided for people in difficult times. And much more.

No one can deny the value BCH offers.

So, if you are thinking of promoting bitcoin cash adoption in your community, keep in mind that using the BCH mantra of privacy, security, low transaction fee, reliable payment and P2P won't be as effective as offering them a project, product or service that will earn them money.

10
$ 5.32
$ 5.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Maxdevalue.BCH
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 2
Avatar for Knowhere
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks for using my article as your example.. BCH sound money .people around the world should know it coz it's our future digital cash..And as a part of this community..we should help each other to promote it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I will do my part to promote it. I believe you've been promoting it too. Together we shall achieve the goal - massive adoption of BCH as the currency of the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was about to suggest you introduce them to noisecash. But reading further i realised you didđź‘Ť . Multiple times I've tried yo convince a lot of people but failed . Especially the BTC maximalist , they have their minds bent on not accepting any other coin. However with noisecash I've been able to convince over 50 people and still counting. After spending few weeks on noisecash some of them ask about readcash while some quit noise after spamming. All in all, the 2 sites are perfect tools to persuade people to join.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Noise.cash is a lot easier to join. Many may frown at having to write 600 words or more on read.cash. As someone said, we can take a horse to the river but we can't force it to take water... You've given them the opportunity, it's not up to them what they do with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Convincing anyone to "change their ways," or to "change their views" is always a very daunting and difficult task. I am a stock market guy. I have been doing it for 30+ years. I have made a very good portion of my wealth from it. And being that I have a long experience with it, and know that while it can seem complicated at first, once you "learn the ropes," all the ins and outs and strategies. How to write covered calls, how to jump stocks for dividends, how to hedge to mitigate risk and how to short to reduce losses, or make a profit—it becomes like second nature. It becomes easy. And of course I know the opportunity it has afforded me over time.

Try telling that to someone else. It's tough. It's tougher to get the message across. You get all sorts of begrudgers and naysayers. "You just got lucky." No. I actually learned my way around the markets. "You have money, I can't afford to invest." Yes, but I only have money NOW because I invested what little I had before.

For me there is one simple reason that I am into cryptocurrency at all. Albeit, it only represents 1% of my total wealth—the rest of my money is in places I know very well and know how to make the most from. I am not interested in safety. My money has always been relatively safe. I am not interested in secrecy. I have nothing to hide. I am not even interested in low transaction costs. My fiat costs me nothing to use.

I am in it because I do see things about it that indicate that MAYBE there is a potential there to increase my wealth a bit. While crypto does not move the same way as stocks do, it still moves. Up, down, sideways...

All I need to is to understand fundamentally what drives value in crypto like I understand what drives value in stocks. If I can do that, I can make money. I can increase my bottom line. I can create profits that I can use to further increase my stock positions at some point.

The fact that I can also EARN it (crypto) for doing things I already love to do is also an incentive to get on board with some of it, even if it is not intended to be, nor do I ever think it will my greatest source of income or wealth building.

In the stock market I don't like to miss opportunities. Not if I can help it. I have watched crypto over the past 12 years and although I only recently got INTO it, I have seen things it does that lead me to believe I probably want to have at least a little bit of skin in the game.

How can I, or you, relate this message to someone and sell them on the idea of it all? Anybody's guess. You can lead a horse to the water but you can't force him to drink. And some people just prefer to suffer thirst.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

In the end, we are in it because it makes us money. If there is no potential to increase wealth or earn it, I doubt many would be into crypto. Thank you for your input on this...

$ 0.01
2 years ago