Why I Left Social Media?

2 24
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
1 year ago

About three days ago, I deactivated my facebook and messenger. It's because I want to take a break from social media for a while and probably leave it for good once I get too comfortable without it. I have been thinking of doing this move since I received that break up text from my ex last July, but it wasn't until recently when I finally got a concrete plan on how to make things work without social media. Unfortunately, messenger is very important because my friends and family use it. Offline texting is not an option because you would have to spend money to buy some load and let's say I have the money to do so, the person I texted might won't be able to reply because he or she is the one who doesn't have load.

So what I did was create a new account where I used a pseudonym and added only the important contact people. I added my mother, older brother, bestfriend, and that one groupmate. Yes, one of the reasons why I couldn't leave facebook is because of school where we have to do group learnings and other group activities that is why I can't completely leave facebook. Instead, I just left my main account where I have a lot of internet friends whom I can't even confide to in times of hardships. I also hated my main account because I cared too much about the number of reacts and comments I would get, it's ruining my simple enjoyment of things because when I post I would get the desire to get high numbers. Now I feel happier that my main conversations that happen in a day is mostly in real life.

I also less care about the number of likes. I stopped posting things though and the selfies that I take are kept to myself. I kinda miss the attention from other people but I am prioritizing my mental health now. I am tired of seeing flawless edited people. I am tired of seeing people convince you to buy their skincare product knowing that it's not really as good as they claim it to be.

About two months ago, I deleted my instagram. I hated it because being there would get me the urge to seek validation and compliments from other people. One day I just woke up and ask myself "Why care? As long as you're happy". Best decision I made honestly. There are times when I think of making an account again but then I would just take a look at that day where I realized that social media is toxic then I'm fine again.

I'm not convincing everyone to leave social media because you know it has a different effect on each individual. Doesn't mean I find it toxic then it means it is also toxic for everyone. It depends because some people find it very helpful where they shared useful information with each other, make new friends, and connect with your loved ones. I am just saying for you guys to be reminded to use social media in moderation. And one thing, if you think you are very bombarded with things and you feel too burnt out, maybe you need to take a break from social media. Stop being there for people who wouldn't be there for you.

3
$ 2.24
$ 2.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Grecy095
Sponsors of Kiro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I left social media too after my birthday which was September. Up until now I am not coming back and it becomes a habit now. I am not updated now which is sad, but I'm enjoying what natural neauty life has. My social media accounts are all toxic.

You need to choose yourself. That is what matters.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am happy someone's with me in this one. True, I also miss being updated but being healthier mentally is priceless. :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago