Memories At The Backseat

11 47
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
3 years ago

I have three cousins named Christy, Diane, and Eli. They are so dear to me. Every summer our uncle would take us to the city for a short vacation. The four of us would sit at the backseat of the car, choosing to sit in limited space than sit apart from each other. We would admire the views along the way and talk about our plans for the vacation.

Until such time came that Christy wouldn't be coming to the ride any longer because she now lives in the city for college.

The following summer, it was Diane who couldn't come for the same reason. It was sad but I held on to the thought that it would be several years before Eli will leave me all alone at the bakseat. She was a freshman in high school that time and I was on my last year in elementary.

So it was just Eli and I at the backseat, reminiscing the presence of the other two. But the saddest summer came a lot sooner than I calculated. I was all alone after Eli ran from home after feeling negligence from her family. Nobody knows where she was. So I sat there at the backseat of the car, sitting and crying in silence as I longed for their presence. It was hard to take in.

Now, Christy has graduated from college and is a registered nurse. Diane dropped out from college but she's happy and that's all that matters. Eli came back two years ago and continues with her studies. And me? I'll be having my last backseat ride from my town to the city this year. Yes, I'm on my last year of high school.

27
$ 0.20
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kiro
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Moved friends, I hope you can come back together and sit together in the back of a narrow car seat, that time will repeat itself if you agree 🙃

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much! You don't know much this comment touched my heart. I wish for the time to really repeat.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your are three cousin bonding is very closely.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, you are right Sumiya. We still see each other now but some things has changed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Memories from childhood are really the best! I also have many memories and I enjoy thinking about my childhood. Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful story with all of us here. This is just one more proof that we do not need much to be happy. Children always enjoy small things, they do not need much to be happy, and that is the real happines, that is the pure happines.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right, as a child small things make us happy. It's good to know someone treasures his or her childhood memories as much as I do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It would be a perfect rewrite if you had written it with a timer in ten minutes.

I hope Eli found a good life and Diane will be still happy in a few years. Some would love to have a chance to study... So many drop outs there are.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey, @wakeupkitty thank you so much for the feedback. I'm sorry if this does not follow the rule, still learning around here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome. I am sorry I cannot approve it because of the rules but it is good and I liked reading it. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago