Lurking In The Dark 19

1 19
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

Nuvian drank his water before starting a conversation with Dad. "So, Dad. When will I get my own car?" Nuvian winked. He said he still thought of Lily but it doesn't hurt as much as it used to and it was obvious because his talkativeness was showing again.

"When you finally know how to drive without bumping into things," Dad answered lazily as he cut through his dish. Nuvian groaned in return.

Nuvian's bike has a lot of scratches and he needs to repaint it every month. It's either he falls on a ditch or he bumps into things because he doesn't know how to use the brake well. He is just really a wreckless driver.

Here in Keva, we don't need a license to drive. If you could drive, then drive.

I admired Mom in her new dress. Her golden hair was in a bun, spiked with hairpins made of silver that resembled a fire. The heirloom necklace compass from Dad's descent ornamented her slim neck which is more noticeable than her gray eyes.

Mom smiled at me as she caught me absently smiling at her. "Is there anything wrong, dear?"

I shook my head. "Nothing." I caught glance of Drev who eyed me before I preyed on my food.

He put down his utensils on his plate with a sound which made us glanced at him. The orange effect from the candles reflected on his pale skin, his eyes looked almost transparent. "Why," he started, "does Grassi look different from you?" He eyed the four of us.

The dinner turned into a wake, silent and eerie. I found myself wanting to disappear, shifting my heels uncomfortably under the table. So what?

Mom's gray eyes looked at me with passion of a motherly love. I also have gray eyes which supposedly would save me from questions if I am really a biological Erlijan, but my white hair reveals my foreign ancestors.

"You know, man, that just happens sometimes," answered Nuvian who knows I am adopted since he was ten, shooting me a nervous glance.

When asked about my legitimacy of being an Erlijan, the question was always ignored. But I doubt they would ignore it since it was from Drev, their favored charm of luck. And when the answer from Nuvian was added by Dad, I felt like walking out from dinner. But I couldn't since the people who raised me did their best to teach me good manners and eating dinner together is a Kevan culture, not doing it would be disrespectful.

"Different blood," Dad answered. It rang my ears again and again. I found myself trying my best not to shed a tear. Dad smiled at me, "But who cares? She's our princess."

All the emotions from a while ago disappeared and was replaced by a smile. I found my strength to face Drev as to tell him yes, I'm greater than you.

Drev didn't ask question again. But I know he didn't mean the awkwardness, it was a pure question out of curiosity. I know he wasn't expecting for the answer.

1
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kiro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Could this be a series? I just noticed there are other numbers to it and this is like 19 wow. I am sure also that Drev didn't mean any harm and I am glad that your smile was restored when dad said, who cares she's our princess lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago