How hackers get your password and to stop it

10 38
Avatar for King_son
1 year ago

Hello readers and writers,

As usual, I am here with another load of benefiting article. This time around it is on how hackers get your password. I think this will be beneficial to all of us seeing the way accounts (both financial institute based and social media based) are been hacked nowadays. It is important we learn the ways to they operate so we can know how to protect our accounts.

Here is the article below;

Ever wonder how hackers get your password and gain access to your account?

Recent research has identified several major ways:

Password theft

Password guessing

Unauthorized password resetting or bypass

“The biggest reason why people hate passwords is they’re all being told that they all need to be longer and longer and more complex,” started Roger Grimes, a Data-Driven Defense Evangelist at security awareness training company KnowBe4.

He says phishing emails are a top way hackers get our passwords. You’ve seen them before – they say your Netflix account is about to be deactivated, your Facebook account has a copyright issue or something needs to be fixed with your Instagram.

They trick us into handing over our information by making us log into a page that looks like the real thing but instantly sends our username and password to hackers, who immediately take over our accounts.

Don't fall for phishing emails like this

Another top way your password gets out into the wild: when a website is hacked. This is a treasure trove for hackers, since they often get access to millions of usernames and password combinations they can then try on other websites.

“If you’re a normal everyday internet user, twice a year your password is stolen from a website you belong to,” explained Grimes.

This is why you should never reuse the same password over and over, or even a variation of that password.

“People think they’re being really crafty but probably 80-90 percent of passwords are fairly predictable even if I don’t know you,” explained Grimes.

The passwords you create are easy for hackers to guess using simple software.

“I know of hackers today routine guessing up to 16 to 18 characters human created passwords all the time just as what they do every single day,” said Grimes.

So, how do you protect yourself and your accounts?

First, don’t get tricked.

Learn the signs of phishing emails and social engineering and slow down, especially if a message urges you to act immediately.

Also, keep the software on your devices up to date, enable two factor authentication on your accounts and most importantly, use a password manager.

“As far as we know, an 11 or 12 character perfectly random password is unguessable, uncrackable,” said Grimes.

Good choices for password managers include Bitwarden (free!), Dashlane and 1Password. Google and Apple also have built in password managers, but I typically only recommend those if you’re sticking to just their products.

If you must create a password yourself on the fly, try a passphrase instead. This is a long, random sentence that you can remember, but that would be tough for someone else to guess. Just don’t use common phrases.

So there it is, never fall for their tricks. Also, do not expose or tell anyone your password. Keep it somewhere safe and personal. Don't not click unknown URL addresses.

*******************************

Thanks for reading this article. Give a👍 guys. Cheers 🥂 to being free from being hacked.

6
$ 1.30
$ 1.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @cinderella
$ 0.01 from @Oyinwrites
+ 1
Sponsors of King_son
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for King_son
1 year ago

Comments

Hey dear friend, welcome to this great platform. I hope Rusty visit you often

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't use passwords much, I log in and that's it😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂 You know you are very prone to easy hacking shey?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

well, does not have meaning to always log out of ex instagram Facebook,😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was about to add my personal details yesterday after I was prompted that I am entitled to have an iphone reward from my internet service provider. Good thing I remember that why would they need to ask my personal details when I am their customer? I decided to make a research.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😂😂 I guess you are a smart girl. Most people would definitely fall for that thinking they have won an iPhone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have been careful these days as per the information I give out. I recently lost my IG account to hackers and I'm sure I didn't give them any information, all I remember was that I clicked on a particular link sent to me and that was all

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sheesh! Those phishing links can cause real damage. I know of another on Facebook where they will go to your account and see if you your link is in your profile. All they have to do is copy the link to a new browser and change your password. Please this to create awareness

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow.. just learning of this now

$ 0.00
1 year ago