A Vending Machine Jesus

33 64
Avatar for King_Gozie
2 years ago

I think we need to look at ourselves because if we are his image bearers have we done our best to give the world a clearer image of who Jesus is? Let me rephrase that, what of people are searching for God's likeness elsewhere because many refused to reflect his likeness in their lives.

What if this is us and worse than that when our gospel like prosperity teachings are wrong....what if Jesus is often presumed to be a machine that spits out blessings if you put dollars in? What if my friends put out good energy now only because they only heard sermons preached about God's energy focused on their good days, their back statements, their seasons and not their souls.

If we only see him as a giver of increase and not an anchor of suffering we will surely drift when our seeds come back void. He is greater than a giver and also not to be portrayed as one who somehow gets pleasure from pay back. Much more can he do for us even to fix us and not just in the reaps that makes us comfortable.

We can call him our friend and not just when we need him to provide for us all the time, I don't know which is worse in the absence of love or the other kind of love. Maybe my hypothesis is wrong but I can pridefully put God in a box to match my preferences using faith to push my personal self centered agenda.

But I've been blinded in limiting my understanding of light, where he is more than the simple things we all tag him as.....not just as our giver but so much more than that to us. Yes!! He will respond and meet every need, but are we giving back the level of praises and communication to him. We can make him our saviour and our friend, that is the main reason Jesus will always come knocking at the doors of our hearts.

I always fall a victim to this cuz everytime I need him, maybe to help in an exam or a family crisis....I would kneel before him and pray so loud but when he does it I completely neglect him. Never ever shown a sign of gratitude for the things he has done that I saw not even the things yet seen. So I'm gonna have to change my ways, which you must equally do the same.

So for every reader today, who is Jesus to you? And when do you reach out every day? I think its time we dedicate our time and energy in service to him. God bless you. Is he your vending machine or somebody much greater than that....

Thank you for reading.....

Sponsors of King_Gozie
empty
empty
empty

These are my wonderful sponsors please check them out....you will love reading their articles.

25 SEPTEMBER 2021

24
$ 9.63
$ 9.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 16
Avatar for King_Gozie
2 years ago

Comments

Jesus is the suffering servant, the exact likeness of the Father in the flesh. He suffered on the cross, died, and rose to life again to pay for the sins of all those who placed their trust in Him alone by faith alone.

You're right: God is not a magic genie in the heavens who spits out money like an ATM gone wild.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I always love your comment, truly we believe that's what he is alone which is bad. Thanks for stopping by Scotty

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good👏...keep up the work

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you Ola.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God is good, all the time. Jesus is our savior. We may not see him but his presence is always with us ❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

He is always present, not just when we need him but all the time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The labour is much but few labourers, even the ones that see the blessing in wealth and good health don't appreciate it. You should change your way. I too needs to change my way of not being appreciative of what he has done for me

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I thought of it and I'm sure I need a change as well....God will help us to remain faithful to the end. In our quiet place why not appreciate him cuz health is one of the most underrated thing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me Jesus is my saviour, he died for my sins. And I will do my best to please him. I will worship him forever

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hallelujah!! I love that you have him already as your saviour and friend, your worship means everything to him always remember....God bless you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this enlightenment, Christian of today have clearly departed from the faith that was laid down for us. I asked my people today "which door did you use to enter into the sheepfold?" The majority of today's Christians came into the church from the back door of their needs and problems and their faith is all gear in that direction. Preachers do not also help the matter, many have turned the church into a bank where people can come and receive. Christian sacrifice and suffering are no Gospel to hear in churches today.

For me as a preacher, I have told many people on several occasions that God doesn't give anyone money, He is not a miracle-making machine. Miracles are good but they are not the hallmark of the Gospel.

$ 0.07
2 years ago

Thank you for this powerful comment, you really took it further, and i really appreciate that you came by sir. The idea behind coming to church only to receive and not to commune with him should be erased from our minds. It's sometimes misleading and many people don't still get it. God bless you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of my articles lately talks about being grateful and thankful always to the Ultimate Blesser our Almighty Father may they be in a form of a gift or a trial. You can also check this song for more reflection: https://youtu.be/XQan9L3yXjc

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I will check it out, thanks ma'am for sharing. I'm going to stop by to appreciate you more. God bless you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm guilty of this. I see God as an ATM machine that should be run to only when i need something
. Though he asked us to ask until our joy get full, we ought to take him as our everything not just a giver.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Definitely true, I also do this a lot....worship when things are difficult, which is not right. Most times our worship is just all we need and things will fall in place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He's with me when in times of sadness, I can talk to him in my mind and everything will be better. The only one who will accept us for whoever we want to be. No racist because He love all of us bo matter what our sins are. And it's high time that you, me and everybody here to let Him inside you, accept him to guide you 💙

$ 0.06
2 years ago

God bless you ma'am....for everyone who will come across this will be touched and also learn something new. By accepting him, he becomes more than a friend to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also guilty of only calling on him in times of need and forgeting to just give him thanks without asking for anything most times

$ 0.03
2 years ago

No matter what religion we follow, the beliefs on Almighty always help us. We know we are sinners but who is more merciful than Him?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Jesus is my savior. He never leaves me and always stays beside me no matter what the situation is. He gave me the life I have right now. Without God, I am nothing.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Jesus is our saviour, he saved us from our sin but sad to say some people neglected Him and forget what He did. We should talk to Him always not just when we are down or we have something to ask for. Whenever we are happy thank God not just talk to Him when we're sad. He always listens and waiting for us to come to Him.

$ 0.06
2 years ago

God doesn't promise us to give us all happiness all the time, but He promised to be there in times of troubles and needs as long as we have faith and calls on Him.

$ 0.08
2 years ago

That is true ma'am Eyb...he can be much more to us, God will always answer when we call on him. I appreciate that you came by God bless you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jesus is my all, my faith in Him is as hard as rock🙏

$ 0.03
2 years ago

What you said is very right. The only popular reason why some of we humans want God to interfere in their matter is when we needed help. But God also needs our praises, worship and evangelism

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thing only matter is what we learn from our sins. Well! I think if you are guilty feeling from inside then I think almighty will forgive us and we should start a new life after this. Btw, well written brother.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am guilty of this. Sometimes in good and fun times, we forget to thank God for the blessings and praise Him, but during our times, we'll beg for forgiveness and ask for His help. A good slap in the face to wake up from this ungratefulness.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

For me Jesus is the one who crucified in the Cross to paid all of our Sins. He lived, he died, and rose again on high. Jesus is my Savior, Healer, Baptizer, and Coming King.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Jesus definitely is more than a vending machind but people treats Him like He is one. He could be all the things we thought Him to be. Father, Protector, Savior, Friend. Everything we all need.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Jesus is not just our giver, but he is our saviour and life. Amen

$ 0.03
2 years ago