Family Meeting On Marriage Matter

13 41
Avatar for Kiingsleyy
2 years ago

Hey People! How are you doing? Hope you're good? The weekend went well for me but I was occupied and hard little chances to visit and read articles here.

Today I learnt something surprising and I would like to share.

First of all? Do your parents have a say when it comes to marriage in your home/family? I mean, do you basically seek for your parents approval Before bringing in that your heartrob to the House? I know your answer is Yes. Oh! I know some part of the world that don't operate in this line.

In this part of the world, majority of homes, regions and states still believe that an approval from the parents is a must before going ahead for marriage. I won't elaborate more on this because a lot of people have written more on this subject of marriage blessings from parents and approval.

Tonight, I was chatting with my friend when he mentioned about him telling his dad about his fiance so the relationship would be "semi-official". I supported him for such move but was shocked when he said his dad is still skeptical about supporting his son to further with the lady. Why? Because the girl is still schooling and she's from another state. He was so bittered because He's so much in love with this girl. The girl he has Concluded to be his final bustop.

Knowing fully well how learned the dad his, I objected and told him that I don't see his dad saying such thing because he's Learned and advanced, this is a modern age that a lot of these considerations should be trashed out when selecting a girl for marriage. I tried to pinpoint some certain things that should be overloked.

He explained it well to me that his dad is not totally against it, because he said he'd get back to him and also, this was because they have laid down rules for marriage in their family which all the sons and daughters must follow.

Lead image source

The First among the regulations is that; The lady that any of the sons is marrying must have completed a certain stage of education. It's either at that level or higher and nothing below is allowed (Minimum of HND or BSC and nothing like OND or NSCE... Nigerians would relate here).

I got shocked after hearing this, that means their family is not ready to settle for a low quality. I'm not judging them or going against the rule they have for their family, but it's somehow not please within me. So this means that if LOVE is in view, the love should better run a thorough check before manifesting. Lol

The problem now is that, the lady my friend want to marry is currently schooling and at the very lowest Level which would take more four years to complete. He explained to his dad about the duration of the departmental schooling duration and the dad replied him that "he knows what to do, an also he'd get back to him this coming Monday". That's to say, the son should go and check their law book and see the truth himself.

That's the issue my friend is facing now. The only alternatives left for him and a standing ground is either he waits for the girl to finish schooling before proceeding to marriage or marry her while he promises the family that the girl will complete her education to the final stage of NYSC, otherwise he has failed the family and has broken the law all of them agreed on.

My take on this

To be sincere I'm not in support of this so called law or agreement. I find it odd to be practiced in this modern Life where freedom to fullness of life is existing.

So it means that they can't marry someone that's well doing in business but didn't go to school to the level they want. In my country currently, education is not a gaurantee to a successful life, you can acquire all the certificate and still struggle for survival. Infact, the school system is currently begging students to get a skill outside school before graduating. A lot of people don't find interest in school anymore because its aftermath is not something to talk about with regards to chances of being employed.

I know they implemented those laws in order not to be seen as uneducated People, in order not to harbour illiteracy in the family. I know school helps to broaden and brighten up someone but...🤷

They have other regulations such as conditions attached to marrying from another states (same country but different state). Also they have a big NO to marrying of out the country.

All these won't work for me because the way it's doing me eh, I can marry from any part of the world as long as I find peace. Even here, if I see someone that goes with my heart, why should I delay? We will marry straight away and you all gonna be in attendance. Lol🤣🤣.

Thanks for reading.

18th March 2022

6
$ 0.11
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
Sponsors of Kiingsleyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiingsleyy
2 years ago

Comments

Here in our country we also honour our parents approval and support for the marriage. In your friends case he should wait until his girl finish her studies, there's no need to rush into marriage.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think that would be the best thing to do it the dad refuses. Since the situation has presented itself this way, it's ideal he let things things dance according to the tune unless he's afraid of the girl leaving him at the long run is waiting 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some of these parents themselves did not go to school and are also doing well. At the end of the day, they always want the logical best for their children without including the emotional aspect

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mehn, they're not considering the emotional aspect of their children at all. Isn't love and emotional compatibility supposed to be among the things to be on the first list of consideration when a guy and a lady is meeting? But now, they want to be discuss educational Level before talking about "I love you". Omo!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the problem we face. Funny thing is that the person might not use that degree at all after all the schooling, so what's the point

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What law or agreement is greater than God? What if it is God who allowed it? Is that how family would destroy such with their mere laws? I don't support this ever. As long as God is in support, who law help?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is from another angle again, they're not considering love and God in this matter at all. All they want is to please the law they've made. These are things we see in movies. Na was!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know about other tribes but in mine (Igbo), our parents are very much involved in our marriage plans and they are especially strict when it comes to their first child (just like me). They might loosen their influence when it comes to the last child, but the first must marry from the same tribe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, i know of Igbo very well that's why I cut down my eyes when I was cooking interest in one first daughter of igbo like that. I knew the outcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The approval of parents for the marriage for me is very essential. If that would be their rules, try to respect them. Just get into married after the girl finished her education.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I totally agree. Some families and parents have their standards thst that everyone must meet. It'll make a lot of sense if they'll allow him to marry her while she continues her school

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That family need to less their law, because the world is now changing. You can't expect everyone to go to school! No! Not everyone has interest in school. What if the person does business and he/she is very responsible, and loving? In this of the world, as far as marriage his concerned, we all need to start embracing love and responsibleness, rather than just certificate.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know this kinda laws varies with countries, families and parents and we shouldn't question them, but this doesn't go well with me. Just like you said, we have ladies that stopped school at a certain level and are doing well in their fields or businesses

$ 0.00
2 years ago