Not all of us are ready for the Christmas

16 20
Avatar for Kiingsley
2 years ago

Hello good people!🖐️

I bring lovely greetings from my groovy environment to you guys. Hope you are having a nice time there?

Today has been a wonderful day on my reasoning capacity. Writer's block followed me all the way from dream to reality today and ever since I woke up, I've been pondering on what to write. Many ideas came but to put them into long form held me hostage, I tried to scratch out more informations on the topics that came to my mind but the brain was just running away from me, so I ended up drafting three topics halfway🤣. I know I'm not the only victim of this hahah🤣.

It got to this evening (the time of writing this article) and I said No! The day can't just go like that, I must write today and that was when I decided to used key in to a challenge I saw some days ago about Christmas. It's supposed to be in a white an eventful pattern concerning the coming Christmas or they past celebration but I chose to be different on this 🤦

Sponsors of Kiingsley
empty
empty
empty
My sponsors 💯

Christmas is here but not everyone is ready

Unfortunately, this is no longer the case. Many families are now complaining about how the economic hardship in the country in the last few years has badly affected them. Some are not even looking forward to Christmas because they lost their jobs during the course of the pandemic. Truthfully, the pandemic caused a lot of harm to this regards, a lot of companies relieved their staffs because the cost of management became tough hence not being able to foot all the salaries.

https://unsplash.com/photos/XdKIj0yM274

Meanwhile, some families have good reasons such as January house rent, children’s school fees, and financial prudence for maintaining a low-key Christmas celebration. They do not want a situation whereby they will not be able to pay their landlords when they come to ask for house rent in January or the embarrassing situation whereby they will not be able to pay schools fees when their children resume.


However, some people cannot cope with the presently harsh reality of prices of commodities in the market. For instance, rice, a carton of chicken thighs, pepper, and other ingredients that before now were sold for cheap prices, are no longer affordable. The recent increment of the poverty level in the country has directly contributed to this. Some few years ago, $200 used to be a big money when taken to market for shopping but now the reverse is the case, $200 is now seen as $10 because of high price of commodities in market. Is it only in Nigeria or Everywhere? Here we get amazed everyday by the daily increment of stocks. A common example is a sardine cup we used to buy for N200 which is now sold N700, a big difference of N500. What about the cooking gas? We used to fill a kg with N300, but now it's N900. I haven't been to market to check the price of Christmas stuffs like lights, trees etc but I know the price is not same as before.

https://unsplash.com/photos/ocq7NBmpOYU

Things have become so difficult that some people may not be able to cook like before, while those who usually buy new clothes to mark the celebration, may have to do with the old ones in their wardrobes. I called my mum earlier this month to find out about the preparation on buying new shoes for my junior siblings at home and she told me they might not give them new ones this season because money is Scarce and the prices are not friendly anymore. I had to forward a little amount to them for that purpose.

And some people are readily ready

Irrespective of the harsh economic reality in the country, some of us will still celebrate Christmas in a grand style. And this will not replace the general feelings of murmuring and complaints that have currently permeated the land. A reflection of the government’s performance thus far.

There's one common scenario we used to describe this form in the village those days, during Christmas while people are lamenting of no money, some people are there sponsoring gigantic building projects, where are they seeing the money?🤣. The world has been known like this, even in the midst of hunger there'll be people enjoying abundance. While some are having just 0.1BCH other people are having 10BCH...yeah we know it's hardwork and efforts but... THAT'S JUST LIFE!

Let's remember others, let's share love this Christmas.
For this Christmas not to be a harrowing experience for some, let those who have share with those who do not have. Let us remember to be our brothers’ keeper and show kindness to everyone around us. Virtual gift is good but real gift is better. No amount is too small, anything is acceptable to whom you're giving. Even though that the price of things are high, $1 can purchase a small module of rice.

Lead image| click the photo for the source

Thanks for reading, I love you all! I haven't been active here since morning because of weekend work, I'd soon pass through your articles. Big thanks to you all for the supports so far via the reads, comments, likes, upvotes and sponsors ❤️

This is my entry to the Christmas challenge hosted by @gertu13 . Incase you want to join, the challenge is still active till 15th December. Read here for more information.

14days to Christmas ❇️🎄🎄🎅💞

7
$ 2.26
$ 1.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @NakamotoBch
+ 4
Sponsors of Kiingsley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiingsley
2 years ago

Comments

This is very true especially the general but ridiculous increase in the prices of goods and services during December in a country where majority of the population are lower income earners and more people are falling below the poverty line daily. In order countries in the west, almost store or every shop in the market are always giving discount or slashing the prices of basic commodities . But in developing countries, dishonest traders hoards goods in november and sell them at cut-throat prices in December.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is true, the approach of sales on December in this part of the world is alarming. Even in the midst of the general toughness of living, they are going to make things tougher.😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw your comment at my post , So I decided to check your post to see your Christmas stories. You come up with a great idea not everyone is ready for Christmas due to the problem we faced in life , but we must all celebrate Christmas in our way or capacity no matter what. I really appreciate @gertu13 my big mom for raising up these wonderful contest ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes bro, with the situation of things we will sure celebrate with our little capacity. We have all reasons to celebrate cos there's life 💪💪💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that true. ❤️❤️❤️ Nice meeting you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not everyone is ready for Christmas and not everyone is excited too... I do not see any sort of excitment in my city too compared to the usuals, people are kinda down in dumps these days, financially emotionally...let's pray for blessings

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So it's everywhere too? I was thinking it's only in my country. Honestly, things are hard these days, things are no longer they used to be. But above all, we have life and we are grateful 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas it's for sharing love, in my place, the people that have enough usually give to people who have little or none because they want to see everyone happy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes bro, that's how it's supposed to be. Even in my hood, people are still practicing this. We share love!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, this is the reality. Actually rich people are already complaining about financial problem that this pandemic bring, how much more the poor families.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly my friend, things are tough and it's has affected almost everyone especially from the result of the pandemic. But nevertheless, we still going to celebrate the Christmas. We share love to people that have less

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesterday I went to the market to buy for our daily stock. I only have 800 pesos or $12 dollars in my pocket. I was so surprised how everything are expensive. I buy a little amount of beef, one whole chicken, ½kl. of grape's and some vegetables. That's it. Unlike before your $12 can afford more

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh! I was thinking it's only in my country that we are experiencing this, so it's general. The way prices of commodities are increasing is so alarming. But we are goint to survive, yeah that's for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your participation. I am sorry to read what is happening in your country. Also in my country things are so bad that people prefer to die fleeing from their sad reality. Some of us struggle more than others. Some of us are content with what we have. Some simply cannot do anything more for themselves.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, that's how life is, no matter what they'll always be the "needy" in the environment. Let's share the love of Christmas to them. Thanks so much for the opportunity to join the challenge

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There will always be need and needy. Many people struggle to get out of their precariousness and succeed. But it is not easy and many get left behind along the way. We can help those who struggle to move forward.

$ 0.02
2 years ago