Work From Home Struggles

42 37
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Image source: Unsplash

This article is my entry to@JonicaBradley Writing Prompt #17: Distraction.

When I first read of this writing prompt, I immediately had a thought of joining cause this "distraction" is literally part of my daily struggle to be a Work From Home Mom.

Let me site some of the factors that affects my productivity in my daily working experience at home.

Household Chores

Own Photo

While work from home is a big advantage to some because they can multitask and can do their household chores during their work hours, to me, being a working from home mom with three kids can be chaos at all times.

We just had our stay-out helper 2 months ago. Before that, when the pandemic has started March last year till June 2021, I work from home and take care of my three kids at the same time.

My shift starts at 4:00 AM Monday, and then 6:00AM from Tuesday to Friday. Since I am working from home, I usually set my alarm 30 minutes before my work's start time.

  • In the morning, as soon as I have completed my Start of Day Checks in my work, I will grab a quick break and will go to the kitchen to prepare for our breakfast before the kids woke-up.

    I usually cook a lot in the morning so that I don't need to cook again for our lunch.

  • After breakfast, I'll have to clean the dishes first and then ask my two bigger kids to take a bath, then go back to my work afterwards.

  • If everything in my work is quiet and smooth, I will take another 15 to 20 minutes break to fix our bedrooms.

  • After my 2 kids took a bath, it's my toddler's turn. So I will take another 15 to 20 minutes break again to give my youngest son a bath.

  • I will take lunch break at 12:00 noon. This time, my husband do the dishes after our lunch, so I have nothing to worry about and can go back to my work right after lunch. My husband will leave right after he washed our dishes and go back to our store. Sometimes, he will take a nap first specially when he has "MARKET" schedule. He goes to the market around 3:00AM in the morning to buy veggies, meats, and fruits which he sells in our store.

  • My shift ends at 01:00 PM during Monday while 3:00 PM during Tuesday to Friday, so I usually do the cleaning and laundry (twice a week) after shift.

Household members

I have three kids, 11, 7 and 3-year-old child. They are my company the entire day. It is very undeniably that if you have kids at home, it's not impossible for them to impose a fight. You'll just suddenly hear them arguing, crying and screaming.

Furthermore, sometimes at the middle of your meeting, you'll just suddenly hear them laughing out loud, talking at a very loud noise, or throwing their toys and food everywhere (too stressful isn't it?).

How about when your husband told you great news about your neighborhood that tested positive in COVID-19? This can trigger a long conversation that you'll not even notice the time that passes by and your shift is about to end already, yet you still have work that needs to accomplish for that day.

Also, there are times that my toddler will approach me and ask a non-ending questions. After you answered his first question, there will be follow-up question and another follow-up question until you don't even know how to answer his future questions.
Those distractions are actually impacting my productivity at work. I loose my focus to whatever I am doing, I lose my focus to the topic, I lose my focus and sometimes having hard time to grasps with the topic whenever I am having an ongoing call or ongoing conversation with my colleagues or Boss.

Noisy Environment

Aside from the noise of my kids, I also have to deal with the outside noises during my working hours.

Image source: https://image.freepik.com/free-photo/young-father-covered-his-ears-from-loud-screams-interrupts-by-her-kids-sons-while-working-home_116124-1772.jpg

This happens often. Our neighbor has 3 dogs and whenever there are people at their front yard, the dogs (all of them) will bark simultaneously until that person leaves. I am so annoyed by this to be honest. Those are big distractions for me because you cannot even hear your own mind because of those loud barks.

Another example based on my experience is the rooster's crowing sound. It happened during my meeting (a 4:00 AM meeting) and then all of a sudden my husband rooster's (three of them) crows loudly.

I don't know what to do that time, I felt so embarrassed cause one of the person in the meeting asked me right away "Are you in the farm?". Of course, I have to explain that those are my husband's rooster and jokingly said, "they are our alarm clocks". They laughed after I said that.

Mobile Phones

Image source: https://www.timeshighereducation.com/sites/default/files/iphone_apps.jpg

It's already been the habit of most of us (including I myself) to constantly check my mobile phone for any text messages or chats. But there are times that we used to hook on using our mobile phones during our working hours till we didn't even notice how long we've been scrolling on our phones already.

This significantly reduce our productivity. While it is important that we should keep our phones close to us specially in case of emergency, it's very tempting to keep on browsing it.

If you're going to ask me how did I survive my more one year work from home without a helper? I don't know as well.

I cannot give you some tips on how to survive on that set-up because I barely survived as well. Likewise, I am so stressed during that time.

Don't get me wrong, I am happy to be with my kids at all times. So if I will have to choose between working in the office or working from home? I will choose for sure the latter.


If you're looking for more articles to read, kindly pay a visit on my lovely sponsors pages as well.

Many thanks for your time!.

Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty

13
$ 3.88
$ 3.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 4
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago

Comments

Being a teenage mom myself, I also think about the work from home set up. Only that I don't have an actual PC so that's my problem number 1. Also, almost all the distraction you said are also what I'm encountering from day to day basis.So that's my problem number. That makes to not think very positive I'll be able to survive this kind of work set up if ever. But I'm still you made it. And to my eyes, you're a super om of three.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks for that compliment sis!..Kaya naten to!..tayo pa ba?..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe sana ako din soon makapag start na ng homebased work hehe. Pc nalang kulang talaga haha. Kakayanin sis para sa pamilya natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag determinado at pursigido sis hindi imposible na magagawa mo..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mothers do really have superpowers..., despite all the things they need to accomplish, they manage to accomplish things... Kudos to you po...,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agreed.. Mother are the ones who are always willing to sacrifice for the sake of her family

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po..,. That's why I love my mother and my dad too 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool... That's good to hear that you appreciate all their sacrifices and hardworks for you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po... since no one can replace the efforts and sacrifices they have done.. you are doing...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agreed ako dyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow you have super busy days. I only have one 3 year old, but she is a handful. I still managed to cook as well. You seem well organised.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for the compliment.. I am also lucky that my work do not demand me to be in front of my desk at all times, hence I can multitask

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome. Multitasking is another powerful thing to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

indeed..one of the talent moms naturally has I would say :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know how you feel sis :) I have 2 kids, buti na lang malaki age gap nila nakakatulong na sa pagaalaga minsan ang ate. At read pa lang yung raket ko so di masyado mataas ang stress level. You can do it, iyak lang if you want.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

4 yrs ang age gap ng mga kidos ko sis...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's cool..Sa akin kasi 2 lang puro babae pa so di ganun kagulo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay kaya pala sis.. Naku itong sa akin, kada magdidikit sila nag aaway.. Ultimo tv pinag aawayan.. Ito si bunso palaging inaaway si ate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heheh rambol time lagi..Baka naglalambing lang si bunso

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakubsis.. Mainit talaga dugo nya kay ate.. Kahit kapag kumakain kami, ayaw nha labigyan ng ulam, o kaya naman tubig.. Siguro kasi inaaway nga din sya palagi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baka nagsiselos sis kasi ate has the authority

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Possible sis..or pikon din sya kasi nga kapag wala ako sa tabi nya, sya naman ang inaaway ni ate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Para talagang aso't pusa yun dalawa hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

korek sis.tom and jerry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haiist kids :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel like you literally captured what it's like, I feel bad for my cousin who's an accountant and had to work home early this year due to covid. my other sister had to move in with her just to help her with the kids and everything, it really is hectic.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True..while some say working from home is much easier compared to working from the office , maybe for some single or bachelors , it's true..but for moms like me, it's like a disaster!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

because the kids want to be around you all the time and if you have fighting children then you are constantly the mediator.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

definitely!...hahaha...that's true!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a mom sissy ang galing mo,nahahandle mo lahat

$ 0.01
2 years ago

naku sis!..yung stress level ko naman doble , triple pa...naiiyak na nga ako minsan ahahaha..pero syempre kinakaya pa din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pro mukhang ambait nmn nila sissy lalo na ung bunso

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I left the corporate world long time and stayed/work from home for my daughter. Never been happier!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know that I am not alone :)...Stress level was actually x2 and more now as compared with working at the office.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mas stressed ako nung nagwowork ako sa ofc, sis hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay talaga? naku ako sis, petiks...pag walang gawa, ginagawa akong model ng make up nung team mate ko na gay..hehehe..lagi kaming may make up session sa office.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay talaga, sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ou sis. Ifeature ko nga yun minsan.. Ahahaha.. Mahilig sya mag make up.. Kapag may make uo event sya, sa akin muna nya pknapractice yung looks.. Ahahha.. Kaya yung work station namin nagiging salon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay bet ko yan, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatuwa nga din pag may gay friend lalo na sa work.. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay totoo yan, sis. Di ka maboboring hehe. May mga friendships din akong mga bading eh. Masaya lang hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek sis... Actually sya yung nagrefer dito sa current company namin.. Nagkakakilala kami sa prev work tapos after 3 yrs nirefer nya ako sa nilipatan nya which is dito nga.. Hehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago