Special Treatment....Shall I grab it or not?

27 53
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago

For those who have read my previous articles, I do mentioned there that we're mandated to Return to Office or what we also call as RTO starting this week. We are required to spend 1 day per week in the office. And hence, we are asked to select what day do we prefer to report and I selected Tuesday. The main reason why I choose this day is because my kids don't have school since their online schooling schedule is MWF only (Monday, Wednesday, and Friday). I can still assist them on their online school specially my daughter who is currently in Grade 2.

Last Tuesday, December 7th is my first day of RTO. I've actually shared my experience in here entitled Return to Office during pandemic : First Day. My shift starts at 6:00 AM and hence I have to leave the house by 4:00AM. My husband decided to drive me to the office for me to avoid the hustle of commute and to minimize my possible exposure to the virus. And since we do not have stay-in helper, we have decided to bring the kids along with us.

My Boss Gave Me an Option

Night of the same day (Tuesday), my Boss sent me a direct message asking how's my journey to office. He knows my proximity from the office and he also knows that I commute going to and from the office.

Here is bits of our conversation, a bit blurred though so let me type in the transcript after the image.

My Boss: Hey Khing!!! How was the journey in to the office?

Me: Hi Boss, My husband drive me to the office earlier.... with the kids ..So it's like a family field trip I would say..likewise after shift....

My Boss: Ahhhhhh that's lovely!!

Me: It's fun, however kind of costly...😁..Gas, tollgate, and the kids' foodies!..I have adjusted my shift as well (from 23:00 to 22:00 UK time) to avoid the traffic rush hour..so the travel time just took less than 2 hours (one way)...

My Boss: Damn!!! 2 hours!!!

Me: That means, my kids spent a total of 8 hrs in the road ...hahaha..

As you may notice, I thought it was just a simple, like sharing of travel experience or so and hence I am trying to sound optimistic as I can :)...

But then I am a bit surprised with his next question (again, the image is a bit blurred to let me create a transcript of it after the image.

My Boss: Will you continue to do that going forward?

Me: If I have a choice Boss, of course I won't..but as I told with Paul earlier, it will be unfair to my colleague if I will request a special arrangement or so...

My Boss: It's got nothing to do with being unfair to your colleagues, Khing. You need to do what is right for you and your family

And then he also asked my how's my commute prior to covid. Below is my reponse:

Commute Boss (average travel time is 2.5 hrs to 3 hrs)..worst experience so far is 5 hrs (one way)..

pre covid, provincial buses are allowed to route or travel along EDSA...

But now, I believe they are only allowed till PASAY ave. From there I have to take another BUS to ayala avenue then ride a BGC bus afterwards.. it's like additional waiting hours for me..

So he advised me to raise an exception for the RTO (Return to Office) and that he would back me up on this one but I needed to initiate an email detailing my journey to office and the possible risk not only to my health but also risk of arriving late if something goes wrong along the way.

I am really touched by the gesture of my Boss. That's a proof that he is really concerned about our welfare.

Still undecided!

Post our conversation last Tuesday, I am yet to send an email request because until now, I am still thinking of whether I will grab that opportunity of extending my RTO or not because to be honest, I wanted to be fair with my team mates. However, our major difference is that, they don't commute and their proximity from the office is not that far as mine.

So, what do you think guys? If you are my colleague, what will you think if you will learn that our Boss do not require me to report to the office (yet)? Will you think that I am being selfish or so? Or will you think that I am seeking for special treatment from our Boss?

I am still undecided as of this writing...huhuhu...

16
$ 6.11
$ 5.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 7
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago

Comments

Ang bait ni boss ahh.. Pero nasa syo pa din ang desisyon pero grab mo na yun sis at maintindihan nmn ng mga colleagues mo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ou sis nigrab ko na..nagsend nako ng email kahapon..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maau na sis.. Kalayo ba sa byhe pud. Mao ng dri rko sa bukid ky way traffic hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually, your boss is really kind and considerate. I know a lot of bosses who wouldn't care and would order you to keep up commuting to your place of work I respective of the proximity and your responsibilities. I don't think you should be worried wether your colleagues are comfortable with this arrangement or not. Am quote sure that your boss must have given them some preferential treatment at one point or the other due to issues beyond control. Now its your turn, so enjoy. Its a pleasure meeting you ma'am ☺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hello, nice meeting you too!. Many thanks for your inputs..I've already sent my request last night. Just awaiting response now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Para ngang unfair pero, sabi mo nga do naman sila nagcocommute so baka naman pwdng pagbigyan ka nola valid naman ang reason ee. Grab na, may option kana ee. Binigyan kana ng option tatannggihan mo paba?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nag email nako sis..pero nagpaalam din muna ako sa mga ka team ko..hrhe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your so lucky having this kind of boss. The are concerned about the welfare of their employes. As for me, you have the right to decide for the sake of your family. Its not about selfish you are just practical though, but of course minamarites yan eh hahah let them know nlng dn pra aware ang marites. . Okay lng yan sis its ur own good and to your family.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

truth, mahirap maging main topic ng marites kaya uunahan ko na sila :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me po, since yunh boss mo naman yung nag suggest. Grab it nalang po kais mas convenient sa part nyo. Gaya nga ng sabi ng boss mo, just explain it thoroughly sa iba about your travel situation. I am sure they will understand.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

tama ka sis, pero kakausapin ko muna iba kong team mates. iinform ko din sila about it para atleast hindi din nila mamisinterpret..baka kasi isipin eh pa-espesyal ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your boss is so kind. I think it is better to let them know your situation so that there is no confusion in their part. All the best, sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes sis..he is so considerate!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that opportunity is for your own sake, you commute for long hours and there's a possibility that you'll be late if there's a traffic, getting special treatments is okay as long as it will benefit you and the company, maybe there will be rumors but they will understand your situation.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yung mga kateam ko kasi malalapit lang sila dyan sa taguig. I guess tama si @GarrethGrey07 na inform ko din muna yung mga kateam ko para alam mo yun, walang tsismisang magaganap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think maiintindihan ng mga ka team mo un sis.. just let them know your situation, mahirap din kasi na hindi mo ipapaalam, alam mo naman sa panahon ngaun madaming Marites at maresol..by the way ang bait ng boss mo sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

sige sis. Inform ko muna sila maya bago ako magsend ng email sa Boss ko. Thanks sa inputs..and same tayo talaga ng iniisip ahahaha....ayoko talagang maging topic ako ng mga Marites at Marisol kaya ako nagdadalawang isip

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, minsan ok din maging advance mag isip kesa ma tsismes, better talaga ipaunawa mo muna SA knila para atleast may alam sila. Nasa sa kanila na yun kung uunawain ka nila or hindi besides boss nyo naman yung nag offer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tama ka sis. Kausapin ko sila mamaya pagpasok nila :)..tama naman point mo , agree ako...Saka para atleasy klaro sa kanila na hindi sa akin nanggaling yung option, nisuggest sya nung Boss ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grab mo na mommy. I'm sure they will understand. Sa work ko dati nkakachat ko sila dun , Yung mga mlpit sa office sa Ayala pumapasok na sa office pero Yung mllyo tulad Laguna hinahayaan nila mg wfh

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Thanks sis sa advise. Will do na talaga..hehehe...nag aalala kasi ako baka isipin ng mga katrabho ko eh napaka paespesyal ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He!she really concern of your welfare sis about your travelling vice versa, In my case I would grab that because it's for your own safety and for the family.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Many thanks for your inputs sis. I'll be considering the same since most of the advise in here is to go and grab the it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang bait po nung boss nyo ate. Pero for me, parang mas okay po kung grab nyo na yung opportunity kase for sure maiintindihan ka naman po ng mga colleagues nyo as you said earlier na hindi naman kasing hassle yung travel time nila compare sa inyo. I believe they will understand your point po. Pero apaka layo pala po talaga ng work nyo hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

naku, salamat po sa inputs...parang karamihan ng nagcomment ay GRAB ang advise, kaya I'll go for it na po. Salamat sa inyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napaka swerte mo nmn sissy ang bait sau ng boss mo

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ou sis, sobrang natouch nga ako eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago