Return To Office Postponed : Thank you Boss!

25 52
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago

Couple of weeks ago, I and my colleagues are all surprised by the Return to Office memo, effective November 8, 2021. We are all startled by the news because we are definitely not yet ready to expose ourselvess and our families to the covid-19 virus.

I actually posted an article with all my sentiments and worries about the return to office memo. You can find it here.

Right after the email announcement, our Manager organized a meeting to make a formal announcement about it. He told us to consolidate all our concerns and questions regarding the Return to Office notice.

And so my colleagues and I gathered all our concerns and sent it to our Manager. Below are the concerns I have raised.

My manager then sent me an invite for a one on one call (meaning, the meeting ia just between him and I). It was tuesday last week. During our call, I've raised my concerns of having no stay-in helper to take care of my kids while my husband and I are away. It is too difficult to get a stay-in helper nowadays due to pandemic. No one wants to stay away from their families.

I need to have a stay-in helper because my schedule is from 3AM to 12 noon on Mondays and 6AM to 3PM from Tuesdays to Fridays. My average commute time is 2.5 hrs one way. That means, I have to leave the house at around 3:30AM the latest. And my husband usually leave at 3:00 AM to go to the market to buy goods like veggies, fruits, fish, meat, etc that he will sell in our little store.

Also, I told my Manager that since I am commute going to and coming from the office, I've had a lot of exposure to the virus. And I might be the carrier of the virus in the office as well.

To be able to reach the office, I'll have to take 1 tricycle from our subdivision to the main road where I have to ride a jeepney till the bus station/stop over terminal. Buses from Cavite are not allowed to enter Manila anymore so I have to alight somewhere in Pasay City, most likely in the PITX terminal and from there, I need to ride another bus to Ayala Avenue and from Ayala Avenue, I needed to ride BGC bus. So all in all, I need to ride 1 trycicle., 1 jeepney and 3 buses. Which expose me a lot to the covid-19 virus. And we all know that some of the public transportations here in the Philippines are not compliant with the covid-19 protocols.

Image from unsplash

If anyone from our team caught the virus, all of us will have to isolate and undergo 14 days quarantine as per the IATF recommendation. That means, the manpower might also be at risk if that happens. In our team, 7 out of 10 headcount are from here in Manila branch. So the team coverage will definitely suffer if the worst case scenario hits us.

Furthermore, I am also afraid of the covid-19 virus because two of our neighbors died due to it already. So it is not a joke. And once it entered your home, it is difficult to escape anymore.

We've patiently waited more than a week for a response on all our concerns. And yesterday (tuesday, October 19, 2021), My manager sent the announcement that the Management decided to give the final decision to the team Managers whether they will require their team to report to the office or postpone it till the situation improved.

Image above was created using Canva

Luckily, my Manager responded in favor of us. He allowed us to continue in our work from home set-up.. Wohhooooo!! We are soooooo happy!. All of us are celebrating about it now.

We are so lucky to have a very considerate Manager who think of our welfare over any other else. As a matter of fact, I also told him during our one on one that our productivity actually mutliplied (almost doubled) when we started the work from home set-up. It is due to the time we are able to save from travelling to and from the office.

As soon as I've seen the email last night, I immediately sent my Manager a personal Thank you chat.. I am just so thankful that he considered our concerns and gave us work from home extension.

Sorry I cannot provide a snapshot of the announcement due to company policy.

I guess that would be it for now. I am just so haooy with the news and I cannot wait to share it with you. Thanks for your time as always.

Before I end this, let me share with you the click I did on one of my flower from my little garden. With a simple quote to remind you to always keep calm and just smile. It's contagious! Believe me.

13
$ 11.52
$ 11.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Infinity
+ 6
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago

Comments

I'm happy for you that your boss consider the proposal. Congrats ma'am.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thank you po :)..super happy din po namin :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang nabunutan kanang tinik sis atlast stay at home pa rin less hassle para sayo dahil need mo ng helper at alam mo naman ngayon dika basta basta makakuha ng mapagkakatiwalaan na katulong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ou sis.. Super laking bagay talaga na naka work from home..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti nalang talaga sis at ganun ang nangyari. Para din naman din talaga sa kapakanan nadin nang nakararami, especially na nga diba, kasi sa sitwasyon natin..

Be careful sis. God bless you and your family as well!😇❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

korek sis. apektado dun ang coverage kapag nagkasakit kami

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga, kaya mag-ingat ka talaga sis.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks sis :) ikaw din ingats :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walang anuman sis...Thank you din..😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan naman ang maganda at nakikinig talaga sa concern ng mas nakakarami. Delikado pa rin nan kasi talaga re. Di pa talaga pwd, maliban nalang if handa sila sa maaaring maging epekto if itinuloy nila yon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

korek sis. Sobrang thankful nga kami sa Manager namin at pinanigan kami. Mas inisip nya ang kapakanan namin at ng pamilya namin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan naman kasi dapat diba. Wag sana yong puro lang sa company ganorn

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ou sis..makatao ang Boss ko,. buti nalang..hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Excellent. To have such a wonderful understanding superior you must lucky. It's safe for the family as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yep, we're lucky to have a very considerate Boss. I told him that I thought our concerns would never be heard :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Malayo pla workplace mo sis?? hirap talaga mag commute ngaun.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

taguig sis..sa BGC taguig ako nag wowork. ALam mo naman ang traffic sa aguinaldo hi-way

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung Hindi pa pandemic sis sino nag aalaga sa mga junakis mo kapag nagwowork ka?

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

may stay-in helper kami sis. taga province namin sa Mindoro..natakot nung June last year umuwi sa province dahil madami daw covid dito

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti nalang Sis mas di na struggle para sayo, at mas safe pa nga.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ou sis..buti nalang pumabor sa amin yung Manager namin :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas ok na yan sissy, for sure mas safe kapa at dina mahirapan sa adjustment na gagawin mo mostly for your kiddos

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Truth po sis...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a good news at least you can stay with your family while working, it's to far your work to your home,and every day always traffic how many hours you will travel

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Super good news po talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago