A Grace DisGrace

39 50
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Laziness, Acrostic, Poem
Date: October 18, 2021

I tried to challenge myself and join in with ACROSTIC challenge I've saw in this platform last week. This will be the first time I've been doing both (making a poem, and making a word puzzle) so wish me luck!

Hope you'll like it!

After few days of thinking whether or not to try acrostic,

Here I am now trying to make an article out of it.

I am not a good poet neither an expert writer,

But I'll try my best to make and finish this till the end.

Going back to my childhood, where my memories are not that good

I was once tagged as lazy and careless by my mother who's not always in the mood.

I am always the worst despite my effort to do my best.

Is that one of the disadvantage of being the eldest?

Recognizing the fact that I am the eldest

Expectations from me sometimes are so pointless.

I am just a thin young girl back then

Who has the limited capabilities, don't expect from me well.

Accomplishments at school is one of my proof

That I am not lazy, but always determined at all

Yes I am not diligent, not proactive at school

But that's actually due to the fact, that I am too shy to be noticed by them all.

Countless spanking, this I can still clearly recall

Those are what I usually get, when my mother is not in the mood

Sometimes I've been asking myself as to why

If I am really a bad child, why I am getting those dislikes.

Education has been my priority

Because I know something good is waiting for me

I am very optimistic that someday I can be

A successful person, which is what I always wanted to be

Discouragements, this is what I normally get

Looks like I am not really the majority's bet

My relatives, they always belittled me,

They are always there not to inspire but to demotivate me

Inspiration is what I always have

To escape from the poverty, that's all the goal that I have

Prove them wrong, and prove them that I can

Be a successful person, far from what they can.

School days have been in favor of me

I am always part of the top 5, which is I am not actually aiming to be

Just have a passing grade, is enough for me

But God never fail and always give extras to me

And they never trusted even one of my abilities.

Given the awards that I am able to bring home

Are those still not enough to prove you all wrong?

That I am not lazy just like what you've thought of me

But one child who always wanted to bring the best of out me.

Respect is what I ever wanted

From the people around who always belittle the thin child version of me

I am not diligent at home yes I admit

But I do not let my studies to be impacted by it.

Amazing God is what we always have

He didn't let me fall apart

Despite the challenges and struggles I've got

He is always there, providing me the guts!

Criticism should not make us feel down

But it should be one of our reason to strive harder and turn the world upside down

So that in the end, those who has judged you when you're down

Will be ones amongst those who praise your success and will always stick around.

Excellence cannot be achieved if you will not work hard for it

You need to use stairs and climb up to have it

Build a strong foundation is what you need to focus on

Which will keep you standing in times of havoc.

And that's my "A grace disgrace" poem. The first ever English poem I have created in my entire life :).

During my childhood, I almost considered myself as a disgrace to my mother. Whenever we have visitors, relatives or just our neighbors, I always hear my mother telling them that she is very proud of my little sister because she is so diligent and good in polishing our house. Unlike me who is very lazy and "burara" in Filipino which means slovenly in English. I always hear that whenever she has a conversation with someone. I never heard her being proud of me. She never talked about my achievements at school. From elementary where I am always on the top 5 list, till I graduated High School as Valedictorian, I never experienced even a small celebration just like what my other classmates have.

I do not also get some support or motivations from my relatives. In fact, they are the one who are first to bring me down. They are like crabs who keep on trying to pull me down whenever I tried to climb up.

But now, the feeling has changed. From being their "disgrace" to "grace", because being the eldest, I am the breadwinner in our family now.

But then after all, here I am now. That's why I always believe in the bible verse "Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up" James UChapter 4 verse 10.

Image source

This is a very short verse but has a very strong meaning. You just need to remain humble and keep your faith with yourself and with the Lord. He will lift you up and help you reach your dreams.


I am not 100% sure if this qualified with @JonicaBradley 's writing prompt about Laziness. When I saw this prompt, my mother always called me as "lazy" first came out of my mind.

Just in case, you're interested to join this writing prompt, here are the rules:

Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty

15
$ 4.94
$ 4.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 10
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Laziness, Acrostic, Poem

Comments

Beautifully done!!!

Amazing God is what we always have He didn't let me fall apart Despite the challenges and struggles I've got He is always there, providing me the guts!

Love this part. True always!

About relatives and achievements not getting celebrated, I guess it really happens that sometimes we taste bullying from inside our home. I think that part makes us stronger . upside.. downside.. it ruins the ideal of counting on relatives to help.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed.. That's the reason why i pursued to finish my study

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bless you for not holding any grudge to your relatives and even your mom

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woooww. You are so good. This article is lit. I can relate hihi. Minsan, yung pinaksakit pa dun is mismong family mo yung nang da down sayu. Hays.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganyang ganyan sis ang dinanas ko.. Hehehe.. Anjannyung ieskandaluhin ka sa bahay nyo eh wala ka namang kalaban laban sa kanila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a really awesome piece. It is just so perfect to be your first ever English poem. One could almost view the scenarios in it. Never stop believing in yourself. You got this and always do.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh wow.. Many thanks for the compliment..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have mine sis..pro hndi pa siya tapos..im being distracted with our noisey neighborhood, and my phone is keep on lagging..hahahahha papunta sa goodbye na yata to..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

naku naghahanap na yan ng kapalit sis :)..i-next project mo na daw yang phone ..hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magbibirthday pa kc anak ko kaya wla pang budget.. hahahhaha pinagtatyagaan ko na muna to..kaya lang talagang nakakadistract.. minsan need ko pa siyang e off para lng gumana ulit ung screen

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwts nagpapapalit na talaga yan sis.. Naghahang na sya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan din napagsabihan ako ng nanay ko ng ganyan sis😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ako sis, palagi..ahahah..lumaki ako na tumatak sa isip ko na tamad daw ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe ,okay lang yan sis ,nasasabi yan ng nanay natin kasi napapagod din sila ,kaya siguro nasabi nila yan para naman matuto tayo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

baka nga sis..pero may favoritsm talaga yung nanay ko since noon pa..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang galing sissy well done! Iba na talaga ang maraming alam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you sis :)...jusko ilang oras ko bago natapos :)...muntik ko na ngang di matapos :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero ang galing sissy ang ganda ng pagkakagawa mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay wow, natuwa naman ako sis at maganda ang result...akala ko nga sabog sabog ang thoughts..ahaahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyang din ako nung Bata tamad ko daw hahaha. Di nila alam sipag sipag ko mag aral 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

truth sis. Ganyang ganyan ang bansag sa akin ng nanay ko. Pero naku, bilang na bilang ang absent ko sa school..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same hahaha. Diko lang tlga hilig maglinis ng bahay haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

ako sis naglilinis naman ng bahay, pero laging may balik..linis "ki-ki" daw ang gawa ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo Ganon nga. Gitna lang daw winawalis hahaha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

ahaha...hindi pala ako nag iisa sis..ahaha..pero nung nagkaasawa na ako, hindi na ako ganun. palagi ko nga nililinis bahay namin..hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No choice na e hahahaha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Nice combination of lazy prompt and acrostic..just like what I did 😁 So far, hndi ako sinabihan ni mama nyan haha. Hndi naman tlga ako lazy sa bahay. kpg pagod lng

$ 0.01
2 years ago

naku sis, favorite line yan ng nanay ko dati kapag kausap ang mga marites naming kapitbahay..Palagi ko naririnig ang nanay ko sinasabi na ubod daw ako ng tamad at burara hindi daw katulad ng kapatid ko :)....

Tamad ba yung mula elementary eh nag alaga ng tatlong kapatid kahit napakapayat? hehehehe...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great poems sis, alam ko yung feeling na kincompare :) Your life turned out to be a grace rather than a disgrace anyway :) You proved them wrong.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes sis. Yung mga tita na nagmamaliit sa akin dati nung nag aaral pa ako, hayun ..hindi sila makaapproach masyado. Siguro nahihiya sa mga pinagagagawa nila sa akin dati :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah nahit yung pride nila sis :) you had the best revenge ever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My parents and family had so much expectation about me too but I wasn’t able to be successful with my studies that’s why I end up often shy with my family.ITs too hard to meet peoples expectation about us it can gives us pressure also.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes indeed. Their expectations just added some pressure to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda ng pagkagawa sis! Love this💕💕

Nakakalungkot naman pala ang kabataan mo, yung lagi mong ginagawa ang best sa lahat ng bagay para lang maging proud yung kapamilya mo lalo na yung mama mo pero parang hindi pa din sapat. Yung sila dapat ang magmotivate sa'yo at ang unang tao na maging proud para sa'yo, pero kabaliktaran yung nangyAri.

Okay lang sis, at least ngayon, you're a good mother to your children. God bless you and your family!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

kaya nga sis..Kung yung iba proud na proud sa mga anak kapag may honor, hindi ko nakita yun sa nanay ko..pero okay lang,,kasi kuntento naman ako sa kung nasaan ako ngayon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lang yun sis at least napaganda mo yung buhay mo dahil sa sarili mong kagustuhan at pagsisikap na umangat yung buhay mo, di baleng hindi sila proud at least naipakita mo sa kanilang kaya mong umangat kahit nag-iisa ka lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your poem is so nice , How sad your mother didn't support you you before,but Gid is good to you sis ,now you climb up ... Congratulations sis And God bless you and your family

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks for the compliment :)..That's my very first english poem :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago