"The Day She Said Goodnight"

19 836
Avatar for Khairro
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Story, Random, Thoughts, Life, ...

The heat of the sun hits my face as I heard the grass and the leaves of trees swayed by the wind. I am currently sitting on a bench near the park while waiting for my girl bestfriend to finish her class today.

"Where is that annoying chubby cheeks? She is taking her time so well huh."

I said to myself while roaming my eyes on the front gate of their school. I looked at my watch just to notice that it's already 5:30 in the afternoon then my face turn to the cup of ice cream I'm holding, and realized that I almost ate 6 cups of medium size ice cream that I bought on Blizzard earlier.

Park
Image Source: Pinterest

I groaned on boredom and frustration I'm feeling while making circles on my heavy stomach.

"I am so full. *Brpppppp*"

I laughed when a loud burp escaped my lips.

I chose to wait for 10 more minutes before I decided to stand up on the bench I was sitting and go directly to the front of their school gate. I was about to shout her name when I saw her exiting the gate.

"You little chipmunk! Where have youβ€”"

I suddenly stopped when I noticed that her eyes are red like she just came from crying.

She is about to walked passed on me when I hold her arms and make her looked at me.

"Wait Raine! Why are you crying!? Did someone bully you!? Did someone hurt you!? I will go teach them a lesson if they did something on you!"

I asked her frantically. She just continue to sob like there is no tomorrow. My fist balled and my jaw tightened, I can feel the anger rising on my body. With a clue on what's happening, I asked her.

"Is that because of Jerome? Your boyfriend? What-did-he-do huh!?

I questioned her slowly but dangerously low and with that, she looks at me with fright on her almond eyes. My gaze suddenly becomes soft, regretting the tone I gave her.

"I'm sorry, I didn't mean to scare you Rere..."

I apologized to her for my sudden outburst. "Rere" is my nickname I gave on her when we became best of friends. I'm calling her that when I want her to forgive me on the mistake I've done or if I want her to do something for me.

"I-it's okay"

She shortly replied. Her voice cracked because of the crying.

"I just don't want to talk about it today Charles. I am really exhausted and tired. Can you just drive me home?"

She asked me wanted to divert the main topic. I am tensed, I can feel that but I chose to understand her because I know that she will share her problem to me soon.

I deep sigh came out on my mouth.

"Okay, I understand, but I just want to let you know that I'm just here to listen to you when you need someone to talk to. I can be your knight to protect you and I can be your handkerchief to wipe those tears coming from you. You know that I love you right? On the day we became best of friends, I treated you as my own little sister and I am your big brother. I am just here so don't push me away because I want to get your pain."

I replied to her. With that, we go to my car and I start the engine to drove home.

On our ride, she chose to be quiet. It's like she is in her deep thought. I cleared my throat when we arrived at the front of her house making her stumble on the sit.

"We're here Raine. Rest now and think the things I said to you earlier."

I told her.

"Thank you Cheche...I know that you are worried for me but let me think of this first alone. Drive home safe."

She said and quickly made her way on their home.

I wait for her to go inside the house before I drive my car on the next street where do I live.

"I just hope that she will tell me what happen to her, soon. I don't want her to feel the excruciating pain alone."

I told myself on my mind while I drive.

Several days had passed...

I am extremely worried because it's been 4 days when I last saw my Rere. I wanted to see her so bad. I want to hug her and whisper comforting words just like what she did on me when I was the one suffering.

I tried to call her on her phone but it just keep ringing. I tried to visit their house but her mother said that she wants to be alone for the meantime. I even waited for her on my car in front of their house thinking that she will have a heart to let me in but...no avail.

I am getting frustrated every day. My temper is slowly fading and my anger is totally rising. I am just thankful that I was able to beat up her boyfriend on the pulp until he can't open her eyes anymore. I realized that Raine's boyfriend cheated on her even if they are already on their 5 years relationship. I've never thought that he can do that to my bestfriend. I want to beat him up again but I reigned my emotions.

"I am going on their house tonight. With her permission or not."

I told myself with confidence.

Raine's Residence

Image Source: Pinterest

I drove at their home at exactly 8 o'clock in the evening. I saw that the lights on their house is limited making me realize that she is the only one at home. When I look up to her room on the balcony, I saw her... My bestfriend is holding one of the rails while her hair is being blowned by the wind. I can clearly see the sadness on her eyes despite of the distance we are in. She then decided to go back on her room without closing the door. I take it as a cue to climb on their balcony to surprise her and to badly asked her if she's okay.

As the time I reached their balcony, I entered her room. I saw her combing her long brown hair while facing the mirror.

I cleared my throat that makes her jump on her sit.

"Charles!? You scared me to death! And what are you doing on my room?"

I just stared at her face. The stains of her tears are still prominent. And the sadness on her eyes are still present.

With my remaining strength, I asked her the questions that are lingering on my mind when she decided not to show up.

She sighed and keep quiet for a while but tells me the true story from the start.

Fast forward...

"That's what actually happened... I am tired now Charles, I want to rest for the day. I answered all of your questions so please can you leave me alone for tonight? I promise I will be fine tomorrow."

She said dismissively.

I can't help myself but to agree because I know thay she is really tired from all of this. With a last glance I bid my goodnight on her.

"Goodnight Charles...I am very thankful that I met a wonderful man like you. I love you, always remember that, I do.

I kissed her forehead and i tucked her on the bed. I whispered my love on her on that night waiting for her to fall asleep before I get up. I can't help but to feel nervous for tomorrow, I hope that she will be now okay.

Present Time...

I am crying so hard today because it's her death anniversary. I remember again that day, wherein I bid my goodbye on my bestfriend not thinking that it will be the last time that we will be able to see each other again.

I pulled my hair and shout.

I wasn't able to save her from pain, from suffering and from grief. That morning after we talk on that night shattered my whole life because I learned that she committed suicide with the baby on her womb.

I regretted the day "when she said goodnight."

Author's note:

Good day readers! Here I am today to ask if you enjoyed the article/story? I hope that you enjoyed reading it because I, myself enjoyed writing this one. I just want to say my deep gratitude to all of you for the time you spent on this story. Feel free to comment down your thoughts, feedbacks, recommendations and suggestions. I am always open for constructive criticism.

The name of the characters, places and the plot itself is all on my wide imagination.

Disclaimer:

The following photos on the article is NOT mine. Credits are rightfully given to the owners.

Lead Image was originally captured by ME and not on other platforms.

Character List:

  • Raine (Rere)

  • Charles (Cheche)

  • Jerome (Raine's Boyfriend)

  • Mother of Raine

________________________

You can always find me on:

If you like the story, don't be shy to like and subscribe. It is all appreciated! Again thank you for spending your time on reading this!

11
$ 2.06
$ 1.00 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.40 from @Ruffa
$ 0.21 from @kli4d
+ 3
Sponsors of Khairro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khairro
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Story, Random, Thoughts, Life, ...

Comments

Bet ko talaga mga gantong ending eh, yung mga tragic ending πŸ˜‚ compared sa mga happily ever after na ending. I feel so satisfied kapag tragic yung ending hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Where did you find the guts to hurt me? I was absorbing every word on this story. I'll sumbong you to my friends for hurting me so badly. The plot twist that I will never accept. 😩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

AHAHAH sorry na. Ansarap patayin ng characters eh charing πŸ˜‚ next time ulit ha?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huwag na hahahaha. Sasaktan mo ulit ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabi na title palang alam kong masakit na pero bakit ako umasa?🀧 kapatid mo ba si sic? Waaahh why ganon. Yung baby😭😭😭


Anyhoooowww, the story is good and really captivated my head shoulder knees and toes haha. Is this my first time reading your work? I like it! Although, it saddened me about rereπŸ™ƒ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's your first time nga ba? AHAHAH sorry na kung nahurt ka πŸ˜‚ minsan lang naman yan ihh πŸ₯Ί sulitin na opkors. Till next tragic story ulit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I expected the suicide part, but not with a baby on her womb!

Sicarioooo ikaw ba 'to? Mapanakit ka bata!

Anyways, well done! Well written. To more short stories or even novel coming from you. Will look forward for those writeups. I had such "fun" time reading. I mean I did enjoy reading but the story isn't fun at all. It hurts! Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po at nagustuhan and naappreciate niyo ang mapanakit kung story sa susunod ulit AHAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nananapak nako pag mapanakit ulit ha? EXPECTED ko naman na tragic e pero bat ganon????? Mapanakit!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sad naman ng ending another mapanaket na Author spotted. Parang si @Immaryandmerry lang 😩πŸ₯²

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nadamay pako! Happy ending naman akin ah. Iba nga lang nakatuluyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

whahaha πŸ˜‚ Wala lang naalala ko lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala sorry naa! Di naman ganon intention ko pero parang ganon na nga AHAHAH πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHA idol mo si Sic santos no? πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know, I'm actually thinking na they will end up together in the end, that Cheche has a hidden desire for his Rere and all that sweet things. And I never thought that you'll actually kill Rere, I hate you πŸ™„πŸ˜­. I feel more kilig than Cheche and Rere than that jerk of her boyfriend. So why did you have to kill Rere, why didn't put a happy ending on it. Why Rere is so weak? She has someone on her side, if only she let Cheche stay on with her I'm sure 😭. I so hate you bataaaa 😭.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im sorryyy na AHAHAH! I actually think of that plot on your mind but I chose not to. I want this story to leave some scars on your mind perhaps on your heart. It will be a reminder for us that life will not always end in a happily ever after. Peace na sana mapatawad mo pa ko wahhhhh😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan naman kayo ee, hihinyi ng tawad pero uulitin 🀧 charowttt.

Ganitong ganito ako nong na brokenheart ako, gusto kong mang damay kaya lahat ng character ko it's either walang happy ending or patayin natim ahahaha o diba may karamay wahahaha. And true din, hindi laging maganda ang wakas ng buhay, minsan tatanda kang mag isa kasi mas pinili mong maging mahina at di ginawa ang dapat, sumuko agad ni hindi manlang inabot yong kamay para sana masagip πŸ˜’

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm very thankful and happy right now because there is someone who finds my story/article worth reading forπŸ₯Ί Thank you for lending me your time reading this! I appreciate it so bad! πŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh sure, more stories to come bata πŸ’ͺ😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago