My Home was in the Mountain

13 31
Avatar for Kendy42
2 years ago
Topics: Nature, Travel

"The lead image was the highest mountain peak in our place."

I should have to write about my beloved mother tonight but I decided to tour you for a while and give you a little glimpse to my birth place in the mountains.

Apao

Photo from Tineg facebook page

Very unique name of a small Barrio wherein I grow up and enjoy my childhood to the fullest. The picture above was where we started the hike to the mountains trail down to our little Barrio. There you can feel the cold breeze of the wind to your face and skin especially in ber months 'till february. From where the photo taken to the Barrio was almost an hour walk to a normal speed, but folk who used to hike just did it in just 25 to 35 minutes walking. That is normal they have a faster speed than those who are not used to climbed the mountain. We enjoyed hiking back and forth back then, after graduated from elementary we need to enroll to down town to study high school. I'm a kid of the 80's and 90's, way back to this years the area was just a vast grass mountains with less trees. During wet season you will witness the greenery of the place and when summer is approaching the color was slowly fading to brownish one in which the grass are too old already.

Rivers

Photo from Tineg Facebook page

As you can see trees are abundant in the rivers, they used as sheds and shade to the water sources. When I was a kid and during growing up we used to come here for a few days camping, old folks catches fish and dried them at the top of the stones to store them for future used and sometimes brought down to the center and sell for money. We as kids used to swim to the clear water of the river and help our oldies dried their catched fish. And at the same time collected them after sundown. Granny and I sometimes goes here together and after a day or two we climbed up the mountain and trail our way to the high way to down town, and along the way we sell her dried fish to the people we passed by to accumulate additional money to buy for our daily needs. Granny frequently did this during town fiestas to meet her old time friends in the down town.

Sometimes walking for almost a day to down town was very tiring especially if you have no other companion to talk to while walking. Transportation in our place before was very scarce, there was a jeepney who coming but in scheduled day only. And beside I was not comfortable riding jeepney before, I have a motion sickness that cause me to vomit everytime that I rode a moving vehicles.

Rice pounding (Pagbabayo) is the way we remove rice husk. Photo from Tineg facebook page

We are a human machine you know? Maybe it's your first time seeing picture like this. that pagbabayo was already the second stage of grinding the rice, the first step was removing the rice grain from its stalk through slightly heavy wooden tool just like the one which the Auntie holding on but it is done on a flat covered surface. Then after that they will separate the the husk from the grain to be pounding again in order to removed those rice covers. That way we removed the the grain cover in order to have rice to cooked in every meal. My mother was very strong that she can finished and accumulate a 30 to 50 kilos of rice in a day. We helped her too, to do the job for a faster worked to be done. The Auntie in the picture seems alone doing it so I'm sure she just finished a lil bit kilos of rice.

Apao Rolling Hills before and after

Apao Rolling Hills was now one of the tourist attraction in our place. Photo credit to Tineg facebook page

Time flies fast! When I was just a kid only regular travellers was one that you can see around this area before, it was so silent and peaceful place to meditate and no one will disturbed you from your deep thinking and soul searching. But now a days many tourist are coming from the local and even foreigners are drawn to its beauty and keep coming to witness the serenity of nature. Sadly, I lived there before but not able to witness the changes when they started to developed the place. Many local artist also visited it, and features to some bloggers site like Byahe ni Drew and many more. We used to kill time here before after a long walk from down town. The view of the Sunset here was so cool and majestic to watch as the sun goes down and kiss the vast land.

Let's have a peak to the famous KAPARKAN FALLS

It was located in the nearby Baranggay of our town.

How to get there?

You see it right? Did you noticed the heavy duty steel chain on the wheel? Yeah! That one! They need to put that to the wheels in order to give support and prevent the wheels to slide in the muddy and slippery terrain way up to the mountain. This occurrence was every rainy season. But I heard that the construction of a concrete road was on going already, I hope that they will finish as soon as possible so that people who want to visit the site will be convenient in their travel to the place.

The Entrance: One on my bucket list is to travel here.

Sadly, I'm a native there but not able to visit this beautiful place, I have gone to the Barangay that covering the place but no chanced to see this before. That is why when this pandemic ends, I will try my best to go home in my home town to visit and submerge myself to this beautiful body of water.

Photo credit to Tineg facebook page

As you can see the water from the falls was so clear. How I wish to be here with my family and spend a day in this luscious nature.

Photo credit to Tineg facebook page

Side view of the majestic beauty of Kaparkan falls. It was a terraces falls carved by nature to its finest craft. To be with nature was so relaxing and rejuvenating to our body and soul. I envy those folk who had have gone and enjoy their vacation here.

Our place has so much to offer in terms of natural beauty. Those I shared was just a few of it. Because I myself did not experienced and had a chanced to visit most of those site.

Photo credit to Tineg facebook page

If you want to know more about our town feel free to visit their fb page.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Tineg-Abra/109544265738238

Bonus photo was Brgy. ANAYAN one of the farthest Barangay of our town.

I can proudly said that the people in our place was very hospitable and humble especially to visitors. They will give all what they have just to show how grateful they are during your visit.

Hope you enjoy reading my shared story of my simple abode in the mountain. And Here I am again your wanna be writer saying thank you for all your support. Comment and likes plus subscribe are very much welcome. See you to my next article again. Thank you! Thank you as always!

6
$ 3.53
$ 3.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @dLifeWanderer
Sponsors of Kendy42
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kendy42
2 years ago
Topics: Nature, Travel

Comments

I want to go! Nagpintas! We have planned visiting Kaparkan. I didn't know there are wonderful mountain ranges there. Reminds me of Batanes, my dream place that I haven't been to yet only in pictures :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wen maam intay to nu mayat ti panawen nan hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sir ak po hehe. Sige man ta mapasyar man met ti Abra.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha sorry po. Sir ka gayam😁. Mabalin san agbiyahen Sir pero private van pa lang ti lugan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! your hometown is perfectly beautiful, lots of beautiful tourist spots.too bad cause in this time of pandemic no one can enjoy that beautiful places. But i hope someday i can go there and explore this beauty of nature.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah! One of my bucket list is to go home after this crisis ends, and explore those natures beauty in my birth land☺️.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why haven't I heard of that Rolling Hills when I was still in Abra.., Kaparkan Falls also became known when I left Abra ...,

Planning to visit soon...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Apao rolling hills was viewed when you were at Vira. Where in the new Municipal hall situated. It's nice to be back home soon. Anyhow, thank you for dropping by☺️.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will try to visit again..., Abra has been a memorable place for me even if I only stayed for 5 months..., :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome to visit madam..☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will try po ma'am, kapag pwde na 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ganda ng hometown mo sissy!! Super! How I wish I can go there.. Sa fb ko lang nakita yang waterfalls na yan, super ganda.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes sis, pero diko pa yan napuntahan kasi di pa develop nung time na andun ako pero lagi na daw yan picnikan nang maga nasa malapit sa lugar. At talagang maganda nga daw ang lugar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago