Me as a Mom

5 28
Avatar for Keekay
Written by
2 years ago

What kind of Mom are you?

In terms of motherhood we are unique in our own style of raising our children. There are factors that we may consider and that might affects our childrens behaviour and upbringing.

Disclaimer : I will be sharing how am I as a mom. There are ways that may applicable with you and some will not be.I don't want you to follow but at least have an idea how to be and why we must be a tough mom .

My Background

I am a working mom of two.Our eldest is a girl, 13 years old and the youngest son (I think but not sure. Lol!) is 5 years old.

I own a small business that supplies or selling agricultural and poultry products. I manage it since my husband is working abroad but it doesn't mean, he has no participation at all. Of course he is funding the financial aspects of the business and I consider his opinions and decision for some matters.

We stayed at our parent's house at the moment (praying and saving for our own house soon)Almost everyday I am at the shop from 10:00am until 6:00 pm. My mom is with my kids everytime I am away.

***********************************

Since I am always away from home I leave my kids with duties and responsibilities.

Eldest Daughter :

13 years old incoming Grade 7 in Special Journalism Program Junior High School. Girl version of her dad in facial features.

*Look for her younger brother, assure her that they will eat on time.

*Fix the bed before going or doing anything as soon as she wakes up.

*Taking a bath should be in the morning at least at 10:00am.

*In cleaning, washing the dishes and washing her clothes are scheduled :

*Take a nap in the afternoon.

*Assignments and school works should be done according to the schedule.

*Cellphone time after doing what is scheduled for the day and sleeping time at night should be 9:00pm

She only got her own cellphone when she was 12 years old.As promised when she was 5 years, I told her to have her own when she reach 12. She had 1 year old phone at the moment.

Younger son:

5 years old incoming Kinder 2. Has long hair, because he is blessed with nice hair and I am enjoying his hair that's why I don't cut it. Combination of mine and his dad's facial feature.

*Eat, sleep, drink milk in the morning and in afternoon after taking a nap.

*No chocolates, peanuts and other foods that could trigger his skin asthma.

*No cellphone during day time.

*Video watching at night before going to bed if he did the nap in the afternoon..No nap, no video or minecraft game.

Same with him, I talked to him that he will only have his own cellphone when he gets 12 and we agreed. He made me to promise to buy him iphone X when the time comes.lol!

***********************************

Me as a Mom

Compared with my husband I'm the strict one maybe because he is away most of the time. For me, rule is rule and that rule is null when he is at home. He is always telling me that he is making up with those missed moment with the kids.

I am using hanger in beating the kids if they really exceed my patience. Discipline for me is very important. I impose punishment but I don't pressure them with anything. I just want them to follow instructions and rules.

I believe that mothers are the influencer of the children so I make sure that the influence that my kids will be adapting from me, is good and Godly. From thier younger years, I bring them to the church for them to hear and learn about Jesus as young as they are. I know kids are best imitator and I am aware that they are looking up to me so I am very careful with my actions.

I don't spoil my kids. I'm more on rewarding them for their achievement and being obedient. I don't pressure them but motivate them. I don't scold them, I talk to them in a way that they will understand what they did and let them realize that it was bad. I let mistakes slide but never do it again.

When it comes to social media accounts, I don't allow our eldest to change or know the password I made with her FB account. Yes, I made her an account wen she was 4 years old and I uploaded the pictures and videos of her since she was young. When she reached 12, I allowed her to use it but she did not know her password yet. I told her to wait until she is 18 and I will give her the account details.

Closing Message

As I write this article got a struggle because this made me think and evaluate myself with a question, Am I a good mom? In what area do I lack ,exceed or needs improvement?

I am not a perfect mom but I am doing to be a great mom for my kids and whole family. I just can't stay at home to tend kids because I always think that my husband's work is not a lifetime source of income so I need to help him for the future of the family. I know, material things should not be the priority but it is a need and it compromises with the time we should spend together. But how could we survive in this tough world if we stick with the typical family set up?

Being a mom does not limit in cooking, tending, washing, cleaning etc. Being a mom is being in a multi-task situation. A mom should not give up because the kids are looking up to her. Love your mom, love your wife because you don't know her worries at all.

Hope you enjoy it. Thank you for reading.

-Keekay

4
$ 0.15
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
Sponsors of Keekay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Keekay
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Soju cake? I like your parenting style already lol! Your son could pass for a girl with that long hair of his :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well you a disciplined and great mom😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis. Moms are great😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're a kind of strict but well disciplined mother to your kids Sis. And that it good as long as it's for their future. Btw, the cake of your daughter was unique, why you came up with that theme? :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Soju themed caked for her 13th birthday, she is fond of k-pop and other korean thing they also drink it with her cousins .hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago