$10 as monthly salary

8 35
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Hello People!
Hope you're enjoying the weekend? For the sport lovers, I know you're feeling the excitement in the ongoing FIFA World Cup. Let's keep enjoying πŸ‘πŸ‘

Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Thank you sponsors

So today, I said let me share with you all about what happened in my former workplace and why I stopped working there.

Just like some of you know, I was working as a cashier in an eatery where I handled all the financial deals. I and the manager has a good relationship, so he trusted me with the income of the company and I made sure I didn't disappoint him.

We were about 12 staffs and all of them were ladies which means I'm the only guy...my eyes saw a lot of things Sha😁.

The monthly salary wasn't big, we were just managing with it hoping for a better thing in the future. The salary ranges from $17, $20, $30 to $50... depending on the position.

The owner of the place is a high profiled politician in my state(Delta State), he's rich in naira and dollars. Infact, his wife and children are in USA enjoying life.
He has money but he's shallow when it comes to investment. Just read onπŸ‘

Earlier this year, the sales in the eatery heavily dropped down and that was because they restructured the school system in the community, so many students left. The town became empty.

The City has a tertiary institutions which every business owner depends on for their survival.

As a result of the NO STUDENTS, everywhere became very dull that sometimes we struggle to be able to produce $100 in a day. This was something that we used to hit $1,000 in the days of good market.

The situation became so unbearable for the owner and he decided to implement some regulations to help in the situation but he ended up spoiling things the more.

The most funny among the regulations he brought was that, we should be putting on light from 2:00pm daily instead of the normal all day light(we resume by 7:00am and put on light from that morning till when we close at night). He was trying to cut down the budget on diesel.
We pleaded with him to cancel the law because it's gonna drive customers away but he refused.
We continued with his law and that unarguably pushed a lot of customers away. They would come and meet us in darkness and they'll turn back and go.

The worst!
He wanted to drop down some staffs but because there was no space for such(I mean all the occupied positions were vital), he decided to lure us to cut down our salaries into half.
Did you get that? Let's say if someone was earning $20 before, he/she would collect $10 at the end of the month as salary!

Image source

What is $10 as monthly salary in this era? Is it for feeding or data subscription? πŸ˜‚
We laughed so loud when we heard about the news and thought it was a joke but it came to reality.
That was the moment I just dropped my resignation letter, I didn't argued with anybody... because I don't like stress.

What I was making from my writing was double of what I was receiving as salary, I was just using the job to pass away time.
As I dropped my letter, others did same too and that's how we left the work.

Till now, the place is still locked down.
________________________

Recently, I heard that he wanted to close down the eatery that's why he tried to force us to go with half cut salary.

________________________

Thanks for reading
25th November 2022

9
$ 0.39
$ 0.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @fantagira
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 3
Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Wow! $10 to the whole month of work. That's crazy. Good job you left x

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was really sad. 10$ as a monthly salary is really small my friend. I couldn't imagine it especially those having family already.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This pandemic really affects human lives, and it is so sad to read about some situations like this. I hope better days will come for every one of us here, and better to have another job that will justify your efforts and hard work.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I can feel your pain I was also working at a place where I was getting so much low salary I was putting my best into that work but the cut of my salary from $30 to $20

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Omo! It's just sad to hear about what happ to the eatery. I think it was heading to an inevitable end and no matter what the owner do, it's still going to die (unless he relocates to a more busy location). It's good that you resigned sha, $10 in this buhari era na rubbish, that's what I even use for monthly data subscription πŸ˜†

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I was thinking that you had write about your monthly salary about the read cash 😊 but it was about something other else well. A good article to read about

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It was also maybe the effect of the pandemic and so the owner face bankruptcy. But anyways, decreasing the amount of salary is not fair for all the employees and I understand why you all left. That salary is too small.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You should value your time and efforts youcan earn more than your salary by blogging on different platforms and trading. Wish you good luck mate πŸ‘

$ 0.01
1 year ago