Insulin resistance and weight loss

6 62
Avatar for JustMyRambles01
2 years ago

What is Insulin Resistance?

In a nutshell, my words? It causes you to become unhealthy, gain weight and have a bunch of other problems too.

Sponsors of JustMyRambles01
empty
empty
empty

DISCLAIMER: DO NOT take anything here as medical advice, please do your own research before starting on any diet and always consult your doctor before doing so (especially if you have medical problems).

Above image source and lead image, screenshot from this video:

This post isn't going to be excessively long, but I just want to introduce you to a couple of things that really help me in terms of when I lack energy and what causes it.

Carbs

Below image source, screenshot from: https://admin.nanoresort.com/stories/jokes-memes-90s-2000s-comedies-true/

I think we all love carbs because it gives us that immediate satisfied feel, and they taste good! I am not here to tell anyone they shouldn't be eating carbs, so please don't think that's what this is about. I do know from how the body works and from my own experience that eating excessive carbs causes me to lose energy very quickly, bloat, gain weight and become (more 🤣) moody.

I also know when I eat high fat foods, I end up having much more energy for much longer without the up-and-down energy drops from eating. I don't suffer with bloating and my woman-problems become less severe.

How does it all work?

Basically, you eat food and it gets broken down into sugar and travels around in your blood, your pancreas produces insulin so that your all the little cells in your body can get the sugar that they need (the insulin helps to get the sugar into those cells) which gives you energy to go about your daily life.

How does it all go wrong?

In a person who has no medical conditions causing an imbalance in their body, they will eat foods which contain different amounts of sugars. When they eat foods which the body processes as high in sugar, the body releases more insulin because there's too much in the blood. After a while the body becomes resistant to the insulin in the same way a drug addict needs more and more drugs to get a high. The person's cells won't be able to get the sugar in the blood stream, which ends up then being stored as fat and lands on all those places we really hate on ourselves 🤣 But because we aren't getting the sugar into the cells, we feel tired and hungry and moody (commonly known as hangry 😛) so we eat more which follows in the cycle.

Eventually all of that causes diabetes which in turn causes a doctor to put you on medications for life - because if you don't go onto those medications it puts you at greater risk for heart attacks, strokes and a bunch of other unhealthy issues that you don't want. However, most doctors won't tell you that there is a cure, and most (in my country at least) are very much against the high fat low carb / keto diet.

I found an awesome image of the cycle - below image source is a screenshot from: https://drjockers.com/insulin-resistance/

How do you fix it?

Changing what you eat has an INCREDIBLE effect!

Below image source: https://drjockers.com/insulin-resistance/

Did you know that your kidneys are responsible for your blood pressure?

Well, mostly. There are other components as well, but I'm going to speak specifically your kidneys.

What do your kidneys do?

  • They are a filtration system that gets rid of all the urine which is all the bodily waste that needs to go away.

  • The regulate the acidity / alkaline balance in your body, as well as potassium and salt concentrations.

  • Your heart runs on an electrical supply produced from a sodium and potassium pump. Without your kidneys regulating these, your heart will not beat the way it needs to.

What do your kidneys need in order to keep you healthy?

Let's concentrate on insulin resistance and diabetes... if all that sugar is floating around in your blood, your kidneys are going to have to work that much harder to get rid of it. When you urinate, you'll be urinating that sugar out. If you keep overworking your kidneys you will end up with kidney disease, kidney damage and kidney failure. With the damage that is being done by the sugar in your diet to your kidneys, they are going to fail to produce the hormones needed in order to keep your blood pressure under control.

When you have high blood pressure it puts you at risk for heart attacks and strokes and you generally feel unwell, tired and don't want to exercise. By not exercising it is just one more thing that leads into over eating and not keeping healthy.

Small changes can help you rid yourself of insulin resistance

It can also help if you are battling to lose a little bit of extra weight, trying to build muscle, trying to lose a lot of weight, or just want to maintain a healthy weight.

When you change your food consumption to a high fat low carb diet you will notice extreme tiredness and (likely) a really annoying and painful headache for the first couple of days. I highly recommend increasing your water intake during that time to help stop it.

The reason for that tiredness is because your body no longer has all that free sugar floating around that it can grab without having to do much work - your body now has to actually start burning fat in order for you to get the energy you need to carry on with your normal life.

You will find that eating high fat will keep you fuller for longer and that you will be less inclined to eat for the sake of eating. After around 3 weeks (for me) my carb cravings had been completed eliminated.

Some other benefits

  • My period pain which was unbearable significantly improved

  • My joints were not as stiff because of the anti inflammatory properties

  • My body didn't always feel tired

  • My concentration was much better

I am not telling you to do anything I've written here

I just wanted to share with you what has worked for me and some of my friends where they are no longer on diabetic medication, they are not even classified as diabetics anymore. The high blood pressure has gone from them and none of them are taking pain killers from their previous joint problems anymore. It was all about what they were and were not eating.

Random stuff!

I'm heading outside now to enjoy some sun and get some vitamin D all over my body 😛🤣

It feels so good to be home and just clear my head from work. Happy Tuesday friends!

10
$ 9.71
$ 9.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of JustMyRambles01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JustMyRambles01
2 years ago

Comments

I’ve learnt so much from this, it was analyses and broken down really well.. we need to take care of ourselves and when we notice these signs, we must go for check up regularly.. thank you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If you have insulin resistance in your body, you are a diabetic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is some new stuff. Haven't heard of it before.. Would love to try but I am still eating what mom puts on the table. 😌🤧

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I may bot do anything mentioned above but I'm glad to have learnt something new.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad! One of these days I'll sit and take the time to write down some other anatomy stuff that leads into good health. I am such a medical nerd! haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I'm a nerd that enjoys virtual tours to dangerous places.

$ 0.02
2 years ago