Your Expiry (or Best Before) date

22 53
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

3 August 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood) 

This article sounds a little morbid but here we go anyway.

Have you ever thought about your expiry date? Some of us touched on that subject when we took on the "Rather" challenge last month.

Regardless, that is an interesting thought, isn't it? I mean, all of us will have a final Expiry Date but how about the many non-final expiry dates? Have you thought about those? Non-final in the sense that it's not a curtain call yet.

Shall we look at some of these?

"Manufacturing" Date

Of course, we need to start with the manufacturing date. And we all know what that is. Oh yeah, I hear you. The definition of your manufacturing date depends on how technical and nitpicky you want to be. You may want to argue that this is the conception date but I don't really know if you can put an exact date on it. Possibly but I'm not aware and I'll not be researching to find out. You can do that. So, we'll take the easy way out. We will define your manufacturing date as the day you were born.

I wonder if from here on out, entropy takes over. Does our body start breaking down immediately? Maybe someone can help me out here. I want to use the word entropy because it makes me sound smart but that may not be the correct word to use.

Yeah, chaos is probably a better word. From here on chaos take over, especially for the parents. It will be chaotic for many years to come. Ask any parents.

Education Expiry Date

For the sake of time and length of the article, we've jumped quite a few other expiry dates. Expiry from being a baby. Expiry date from grade school, etc. And finally, the expiry date from formal education.

This is the date where we will likely no longer go back to any formal education. We are headed out to the dog-eat-dog working world.

Work Expiry Date

This period of time is probably the longest period we'll go through in our whole lifespan. It can also be the toughest period of time that we go through.

Oftentimes, our smaller period of validity falls under the mercy of those who pay for our utility. There are many factors that can affect this utility such as the relevant experience, character, health (mental, emotional, psychological, and physical), skills, emotional and intelligent quotient, etc.

Once these are no longer valuable, we kinda expire from work. We are no longer needed. Some would go as far as to say - discarded.

Period of Validity

One impact on our work validity period is being a conforming member of society.

Despite having all the utilities mentioned earlier, one can have the validity period cut short or gravely affected if one ends up being convicted in a court of law and incarcerated for a period of time. Finding work after incarceration will then be an uphill task. A possible vicious cycle entails.

Another validity period impact that not many thinks about has to do with your utility. It is called the Peter Principle. Do get a copy of this book by authors Dr. Laurence J. Peter and Raymond Hull.

The Peter Principle states that your competence will result in your promotion. This continues until you are promoted to a level where you will no longer be competent...i.e. incompetent. I highly recommend anyone who's working to read this eye-opening book.

Obviously, once you have reached a level of incompetence, you have reached your expiry date at that job. Can this expiration date be extended? Read the book.

After Expiry Date

I am prone to changing the rule of the game. Read some of my previous articles and you'll find one or two more where I have done the same.

It's my article, it's my thoughts, it's my experience. I will do what pleases me as long as I play it nice and be respectful.

So, the expiry date viewpoint is a little fatalistic, don't you think? In fact, we can think along a different line of labeling practice. Let's call it "Best Before Date".

This in effect means that we can stretch the so-called "Expiry Date". It applies to all of the above. I mean, if you want to act like a baby until you are 21 years old or beyond, that is your prerogative, right? Yeah, you are right...some do.

Best Before...

Life would be better if we follow the "Best Before dates". It gives us more room to play around with. We can continue with our formal education no matter what age group we are in.

We can continue to work regardless of our competency or incompetency. It is also a reason why we find so many incompetent people in so many organizations.

At a personal level, we should live like the expiry date is near but plan like that's a best before date.

This gives us some urgency to prepare. Okay, this article started out with a promising idea but it kinda fizzled out. I have expired my ideas. I better go back to rhyming.

Thank you for reading. Come on, it's time to rhyme!

Sources:

Header: Unsplash.com - Charisse Kenion

Image 1: Unsplash.com - Vasily Koloda

Image 2: Unsplash.com - Huy Phan

Image 3: Unsplash.com - Bud Helisson

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

9
$ 5.26
$ 4.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.15 from @Pichi28
+ 7
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

Hehe. Thinking about expiry dates can indeed put things in perspective.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes. It does.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Entropy - lack of order or predictability; gradual decline into disorder. Sounds about right :D

Expiry dates depend on education and competency. Got it. The choice is ours if we want to expire or not - unless of course we meet a fatal accident.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can do our best to extend these dates. Upgrading, exercising, positive attitude, etc... Gonna make today count. Stay safe & have a greater day!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just chiming in, your expiry date concept is similar to that in the Stoic philosophy - momento mori. Give it a Google if you have time! Some great values there.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I haven't encountered that in a long time. I'm not sure where did I encounter memento mori for the first time - a book or a movie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

momento mori Just Googled it. Interesting. Learned something new. Yes, that's pretty much the gist of it. Making a difference while we are alive. Thank you for visiting and for pointing that out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

when i read about the expiration date, the 1st things that come into my mind are foods and more foods 🤣take one step at a time, just cross the bridge when you get there 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, if it's food make sure to consume all way before the stated dates. 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes in life, you need to take the good with the bad and find a balance that sits right inside your heart before it expires ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great outlook on life. Exactly, and be able to laugh it off and move forward. Stay safe, friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Cheers, Dood! You too, big bro!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will just live my life to the fullest. I only have one life live, I should enjoy it and make the most out of it without thinking about my expiry date. 😇💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, live each day as if there's no tomorrow. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually, I don't even want to think about it. What I know is that we should live every day as though there is no tomorrow. But dang... this lockdown is making it hard for us to LIVE!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true. Can't imagine the thought of going to the mall gives the excitement of going on an overseas tour now. Can't wait to go to the malls again, watch movies, eat lots of street food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was thinking of the same best before idea kinda like shelf life... but yeh it expires midway.. so glad you did this one. lels. ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do ahead. I'd love to read your idea. As for me, I'd fired that monkey. Looking for a new one. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nope will not comment seriously... best before dates think i like this line LOL let's see where will I land with that line hahaha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Not very happy with the article. I forced myself to write it after coming up with the title. Not at that level yet. LOL. Thanks for putting yourself through the torture. Hahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahaha you tricked me!!! LOL let's see what will be my output with his one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay. Look forward to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago