Up and About in Amsterdam

40 35
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

25 August 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Written on 24 August 2021

This is a continuation from the following UplandDood's timeline:

  1. Destination UK: Prelude to 1 BCHClub Party with 2 DJs

  2. Destination UK: 1 BCHClub Party with 2 DJs. It's party time!

  3. I'd woken up in Amsterdam!

  4. Castles and shrooms in Amsterdam... part 2 by @Eylz2021

Note: It's still a mystery how UplandDood ended up in Amsterdam. He has no recollection of what had happened after he had "passed out" in his hotel room after the 1 BCHClub Party in London!

Regardless, he is hoping that continuing his stay in Amsterdam may jolt his memory back. His story continues...

Day 5: Chocolat!

The ladies had wanted to indulge in some premium chocolate. Well, except for Pichi but she doesn't have a say in it since she's outnumbered. Me? I have no problem. This renowned chocolate establishment also offers locally roasted coffee there, so I'm good. Besides, they've agreed to have pizzas later in the day.

So, off we go to Chocolátl!

Less than 5 minutes after we've arrived, I could see that Bloghound and Eylz were already enjoying eating the gourmet chocolates and sampling as many types as they could. However, Jaytee, Expe, and Marinov were busy buying chocolates like they were suppliers buying stock for their Chocolate Emporium back home in the Philippines. I can't wait to see how they plan to get all those chocolates back to the hotel!

Side note: Here's something funny. Though Pichi didn't like chocolates, we find it funny that she'd somehow found this chocolate design at one obscured corner cabinet and had wanted to buy it:

Image linked to source

Pizza Heart Bar

The name definitely sounds better than another pizza place I know. With a name like Pizza Heart Bar, it must be THE place for pizza lovers!

Someone, I won't say who had wanted to order pasta. Before I knew it, I had blurted out, "NO! This is not Pasta Heart Bar! It's Pizza Heart Bar. Order Pizza." I was caught off guard for saying that. Didn't know I feel so strongly about pizza! LOL.

Then my Marvelous Pizza-man alter-ego took over and proceeded to order 10 pizzas for everybody. It was simple to get the order done. I told the waiter, "give us your 10 best-selling pizzas" and that was that.

Unexpectedly, Pichi had challenged me to finish 4 large ones. Well, the Marvelous Pizza-man would never decline a Pizza challenge. So the Marvelous Pizza-man replied with much confidence, "Challenge accepted"!

When the pizzas arrived, the Marvelous Pizza-man had conveniently disappeared. Nowhere to be seen or heard. I was left to fend for myself. I did my best but the most I could finish was the equivalent of 4 extra-large slices.

I was so full, I had to roll off my chair. I couldn't stand up straight! I told them that I had to rest and stretch my legs a bit so that some pizzas can fill up my toes. We had a good laugh. That was a great lunch. LOL.

Museums

The remaining of the day was spent visiting two museums - the Geelvinck Pianola Museum & the Torture Museum. The Pianola was an interesting museum. I won't talk much about it since Eylz has described both clearly in her account of the visits. As for the Torture Museum, I wasn't a fan of gore so it didn't appeal too much to me. I was looking forward more to dinner at a unique place. Could be an interesting new experience for us.

Image linked to source

The Restaurant that has no Lights

For first-timers, it can be quite daunting. No phones allowed and dining in total darkness. While the ladies have their concerns, I too was filled with thousand and one fears.

  • What if I poke my eyes with the fork? Who'd pay for the damage?

  • Do they put decorative flowers on the table? If they do, what if I accidentally ate that?

  • What if I fumbled and spilled drinks all over the table?

  • Would I mistakenly drank someone else's drink or ate someone else's food?

  • Would I accidentally eat the bones I've left on the table?

  • What if I choked? Would anyone else know?

Then the mischievous part of me was thinking:

  • I wonder if I threw my food across the table, would someone yell? Would be fun to catapult some pudding off a spoon!

  • Or if I start sprinkling drinks all over? Nobody would know who did it anyway. It's all dark.

  • Or if someone gets slapped halfway eating a meatball or something. That would be funny. Now, I was worried someone might slap me and I wouldn't know who. LOL.

All kinds of crazy thoughts went through my mind. Yeah. Confront our fears. We'll find out soon enough what we're made of.

I can tell you this - it was really a neat experience to go through. But I don't think I'll have the stomach to go through it again. I'd put some round squishy things into my mouth. Then there was something that's a bit chewy and tough. And something that felt like vegetables but unfamiliar.

I mean, I have a very creative mind. Who's to tell if they hadn't recycled their foods, eh? Ewe.

It was a long two hours of suspenseful eating. Never thought I could use "suspenseful" to describe a having meal.

Would I recommend it? Yes, if you've never tried it before. My advice is don't do it on your own. You must have a group of friends to experience it with. It helps take your minds off the food and more on the fun part of it. With friends, you can joke and laugh nervously as you put the next unknown spoonful of edibles into your mouth. And if you get slapped, you'd know one of your friends did it! LOL.

Day 6: An Efteling Adventure

We had planned to have breakfast together at the hotel before going out. Eylz has planned a fun-filled day for all of us at a theme park. How fun! It was a surprise last day outing. She wouldn't tell us where but when we arrived, we were like kids. You can tell we were all very excited!

Image linked to source

The ladies have decided to enjoy the view while riding on the theme park's Gondoletta. I've decided not to and it's a 20 minutes ride, so we made plans to meet in 30 minute's time at the entrance to the Spookslot haunted house. I was there early and had a quick look around the attraction. I don't have a strong stomach for horror or spooks so when they arrived, I asked them to go ahead without me.

Next, we have decided to try the Baron 1898 Dive Coaster. All I can say is WOW! This is something you have got to try if you ever visit this theme park.

Part of this ride's attractions includes, amongst others, a 37.5 meters into a smoke-filled pit, an Immelmann loop, a zero-gravity roll, and a 360° Helix. We were all screaming our heads off from the first drop all the way to the end of the ride.

We tried our best to maximize our time at the theme park by hitting as many of the attractions as we could with the last being the Aquanura Water Show. A befitting end to a fun-filled day.

It was a great day and definitely one to be remembered. Since it was late, we've decided to head straight back to the hotel and have our dinner there.

We had dinner at the hotel's Restaurant De Palmboom and after dinner adjourned to the Pastorie Bar where we ordered cocktails and chatted over the events of the past few days.

The next day, all of us checked out at the same time. After thanking Eylz for organizing such a wonderful fun-packed itinerary, we bid farewells and went our own ways.

Sources:

Header Photo Image - Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam City Center

All images linked directly to sources

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

9
$ 6.17
$ 5.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
+ 6
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

So this sounds very real but I am guessing that this is a made-up story in line with the other BCH party story I read lol. It is fabulous and sounds like you actually lived every minute of it! Great storytelling mate! If I'm wrong then...well you really did have a fantastic holiday...either IRL or in your imagination lols

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was an imagined vacation. But writing it was almost as fun as being there in real life! You have read the 1 BCHClub It's Party Time story too? That too was an imagined party but we had so much fun! lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was fun to read. Some time ago, I read about a restaurant in the dark. I don't think it was in Amsterdam, the one I read about, but I don't remember. I think I would go maybe once out of curiosity. But I'm not sure I would like the experience.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There are such experiences in many countries, I'm sure. Same as dining on top of the city on a platform hoisted by a crane. I have a fear of heights. I'm sure I'd get indigestion for sure cause my system will be on full alert and the blood wouldn't be effectively assisting with digestion around the stomach. (See? I'm really bad at biology! lol). I still haven't decided if I'll ever eat in a total darkness dining experience. I'll be highly suspicious of the caterer. What if they recycle food? I have no way of knowing that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, I think I could have dinner sometime in the dark, but just once for the experience. But definitely not on a platform up high. Like you, I would have indigestion. LOL

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I'd try eating in the dark once if I have the opportunity to.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't want to try that restaurant without lights. What if someone undresses while you were there? I hope they can't see me eat in nude lol!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I was more concerned with my friends pelting food at me! lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol! I just hope they will serve great food :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They probably do. I'd think your senses should be heightened in the dark. Or that we'd focus our senses more on tasting the food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this chocolate design at one obscured corner

bwaha you got me laughing at this one with stomping feet dood! Even if i close my eyes.. i still see that chocolate! hahahaha...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lol. That's why you went crazy over it, I guess. Hahaha... Btw may I ask how you do the quote with the side bar in comment?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yup I will go crazy over that! hahaha...

use the greater than sign ">" for inline commenting :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah. Thank you sensei.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

whaaaa why i didn't saw that chocolate????

$ 0.03
2 years ago

LOL. Yeah, Pichi beats you, Bloghound, and I to it. I'd have wanted that too! Hahaha..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

and i want pizza tonight too lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay. Pizza! 10 large ones?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems like you're doing a long vacay in Amsterdam

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, and we had a great time there! :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha I had fun reading and until Amsterdam you still a pizza crazy and ordered a lot 🙊 that no lights restaurant is kinda scary totally unsafe haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, safety was a concern but in the end, we survived the experience and it was truly a unique one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Pizza Challenge you all had was a blast! I wonder, who won the challenge? Was he or she still okay after gobbling several large sizes of pizza? On a side note, I really thought that @Pichi really indulged in her cravings and bought a Chocolate Space Cake at the Chocolátl shop. LOL. So my guess was just a fantasy then. hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nah, she's only interested in that one particular unique design.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah I can't imagine dining in a restaurant with no lights but it sounds fun

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, it's fun but I'd only do it once.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh so it is never made in your imagination it is really one of your experience haha nice one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually, it's made up. I'm answering in character. hahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owww noooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just kept picking all kinds of chocolates that i see.. They have varieties of chocolates. And they also have this huge chocolate fountain on the side lols 🤣🍫

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It can be addicting! LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes and just the smell of it makes me smile ☺ ❤️🍫

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, puweese! Where can I get those chocolates! I want some now! (stomping feet)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

LOL. Yeah, me too. Those are exactly the kind of chocolates I'd get. But Pichi beat us to it. You'll have to offer lots of BCH to Pichi for it. Hahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha good lord

$ 0.00
2 years ago

waiting for the bid... HAHAHAHAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tagallllll lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lol i hear .5 bch anyone out for .6 bch for the awesome artistic chocolate? lols

$ 0.00
2 years ago

waahhhhhhh may nanalo na ba? lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago