Towards a Better September Pt II - How I set my Goals

29 67
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

7 September 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Written 4 September 2021

As I was writing Towards a Better September Part I, I'd decided to split it into a two-parter. Initially, I'd wanted to include my September Goals in that article but it'd have ended up being a long article. I do my best to keep my articles between a 4 - 8 minutes read (i.e. between 600 - 1500 words). Most will be leaning more towards the lower end as I know many of my readers have a lot of articles to read daily.

Michelangelo's Boot (impending kick in the butt)

While I was doing my Better September calendar, I'd come across a quote. This quote was attributed to Michelangelo, one of the greatest artists who ever graced this earth.

It goes like this:

The greatest danger for most of us is not our aim is too high and we miss it, but that it is too low and we reach it.

This is so meaningful. Let me tell you why by showing you a few conversations I've had with @CoquiCoin.

Part of that conversation went something like this:

I was impressed by an almost $12 per article income. Though part of me wanted to take that as a benchmark for this month, another part of me, the chicken part, forbade me to even think of it.

But here's the interesting thing. If you've read my August & First BCH Report Card, you'd have noticed that I'd committed to my August benchmark using @immaryandmerry's July results.

Both those Noise.Cash and Read.Cash figures were burned into my subconscious mind and I was aware for the most part, what I needed to achieve on the average per day. It was these average to achieve per day that had driven me to meet my goals of reaching those benchmarks.

If you want to know if I've succeeded or not, you can read my August Report Card. In short, I would not have achieved my August goals if I had not set those benchmarks.

Getting Booted by Michelangelo (that kick in the butt)

Now, let's get back to the above "chicken me" comment. I should have known better, right? I should have a benchmark, correct? But my chicken self had me distracted from committing until I had this next conversation with CoquiCoin. This time it was on the Noise.Cash platform.

I'm sure you're curious about what went on there. Here's the conversation that had my chicken self butt kicked!

As you can see, after a little bit of nudging, I'd committed myself to an $11 per article benchmark for September. My chicken self is still telling me that I'd bitten off more than I could chew.

It was later in the day that when I designed the Better September Calendar that I'd noticed that quote by Michelangelo. That had without a doubt had given my chicken self a swift and forceful kick to Kingdom Come!

Moving Forward

The thing is that once you've set a benchmark, it becomes easier to tweak it in subsequent iterations. I'll demonstrate it as I formulate my September benchmark for Noise.Cash & Read.Cash

Total BCH Earned (excluding tips given out) in August 2021

Noise.Cash = 0.228 490 52 BCH ($146.72)

Read.Cash = 0.209 879 46 BCH ($134.54)

Total BCH = 0.43836998 BCH ($281.26)

Based on my own figure above, I am aiming for a 20% increase. (Note: when I started punching in the figure, my chicken self was telling me to settle for 15%. But remember Michelangelo's quote? I'd upped that 15% suggestion from my chicken self to 20%.)

You know what? I think at 20%, the chicken me was still having an influence. I'm gonna up it to 25%. Take that, you chicken! Lol.

Here are the calculations and setting my benchmark figures.

September Benchmark for Noise.Cash & Read.Cash

Noise.Cash = 0.285 613 15 BCH ($183.40)

Read.Cash = 0.262 349 32 BCH ($168.17)

Total BCH = 0.547 962 47 BCH ($351.57)

I won't be setting goals for other items and let them run as-is for another month before deciding what to do in terms of goals come next month.

Closing Thoughts

The quote by Michelangelo has a big impact on my goal setting. Setting a goal too low and reaching it is not much different than not setting a goal and any result, in the end, is acceptable. You know what people say, not having a target means it's a sure hit every time.

The other factor is that I'm glad I'm experiencing the impact of the #BetterSeptember spirit already. If it wasn't for that, I probably wouldn't have had the conversation with CoquiCoin and wouldn't have pushed myself to set higher goals. In order for me to have a better September, I need to have higher goals. That's been set now. I'll look back and evaluate the results at the end of the month.

Thank you for reading and I wish you a #BetterSeptember!

Sources:

Header Image designed with Canva.com templates

All other images were screenshots from respective platforms

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood | #ClubBrokeBCH

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

11
$ 5.79
$ 4.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pichi28
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
+ 7
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

Bingo. Never set goals according to what you hope to achieve. Set goals according to what you KNOW you can achieve.

I do not get sales goals from my boss. A large part of our earnings are paid from commissions and so it is up to us to aim as high as we can and set our own goals. And when I sit down at the end of each fiscal year to determine the next fiscal year's goals I take a 'realistic' approach. I examine what I was able to do the previous year, and what the average over the last 7 years has been, I examine what my 'saturation rate' is, and calculate my goal based on all of that data.

Doing it this way, most of the time I blow past my goals. But that's because I set my goals in a way that not only can I achieve them and still make very impressive growth, overachieving is actually way more fun than simply MEETING the goal AND for me, actually motivates all that much more.

As for YOUR goals here, I think you can more than get there, and it should be fun to read your September results—which is only a couple of weeks away.

How is it coming along so far?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm sweating right now. LOL. Am doing my best but for a bit chunk of the month, I was sidetracked by the happenings in the smartBCH chain.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe that sidetrack has a payoff? Never lose sight of the intrinsic value of things you do. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nail on the head. When I was typing the above reply, I was trying very hard to include a sentence to say what you've said above. But for the life of me, I couldn't get the word "intrinsic" into my brain. The word "intangible" kept appearing and out of frustration, I'd decided to delete the whole sentence. LOL.

That's a lot of air to say that you're right. I do think that there is an intrinsic value to the distractions. It may lead to something...in fact, it's been brewing in my mind for a few days now. I need to start and put something into motion.

I'll write something to organize my thoughts a little more. Plan to publish it today.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I will keep my eyes out for it. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am inspired to do more it seems! The chicken in you pushed out the catto in me! 😹 #BetterSeptember

$ 0.03
2 years ago

LOL. You're funny! Let's head towards a #BetterSeptember then, buddy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go go go for the goal! Right behind ya.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Gogogogogogo...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Higher goals for #BetterSeptember , chicken no more! Lol. Let's see how it goes and continue to work hard and hope for the best. :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

LOL. Yeah. No more chicken! Tapping constantly with fingers crossed! hahahaha...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes you can do it.. Aim for that challenge you had with @CoquiCoin and kick that chicken self of yours hhahaha we'll keep an eye as well 👍💪💪💪

$ 0.03
2 years ago

we'll keep an eye as well ohoh...@MonnyJaytee is gonna be a referee. hahahaha.. hmmm...or maybe she's referring to keeping an eye on her own chicken. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, thank you for the tag! :) And for showing that quote, we really have to keep it in mind. Let's go for our goals. And for a #BetterSeptember friend!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, have to work for it. Let's go!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I'm committed to my part of the goal ;) I'm even working on having an article bank, hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yay! That's great. I've been busy last few days and have been relying on my article bank. Need to get back to depositing a few more back. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Happy for u. It was a blessed indeed getting this huge tips. I am hoping that bot will admirevme again and again.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm sure he'll. For the longest time since I started, he was a total stranger. Only visited once or twice. Then I persisted from the end of June onwards and a month later...he came.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh wow . Yeah I do believe and keep motivating myself that someday bot will gonna inspire me again

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I'm certain he will. Just need to be consistent and persistent. Good luck!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow.. That's already a huge tips.. Meanwhile, my benchmark is decreasing 🤣 I guess it depends on the mood of the bot..lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I guess I'm aiming for the stars. Even if I miss it, I may still hit the moon. hahahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also impressed to hear the quote of Michelangelo and motivated to set my goals higher.My biggest target for this month is to achieve 80 followers on read.cash as I joined it only a week ago,almost in September and I am consistent to achieve it. I wish you best of luck for your goals for this month.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Shooting high. Yes, I wish you luck and towards a #BetterSeptember!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a very tough decision. Fighting with your chicken self wasn't easy. Good to know you'll able to beat it and set a higher goal. May we all have a #BetterSeptember! Goodluck.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love the convo with Coqui :D

BetterSeptember it is

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah. It was a bit of a butt-kicking convo. Needed that little bit of a nudge to get moving. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I need that too 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago