The DeFi in MyDefiPet - Does Your Pet Earn You Crypto? Mine does.

9 56
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

17 September 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

A few days back, I'd written about an alternative game similar to Axie that I've started playing. I'd started playing this game on 5 September, which means I've been playing it for almost two weeks now.

Getting Started

Ever since I started, I have been playing it on a daily basis. Initially, it was to get the proper setup going.

These initial steps involve:

  1. Buying an egg in the in-game Shop

  1. Putting the egg in the Incubator

  1. Hatching the egg in the Incubator

  1. Placing the newborn pet in the complimentary Cage ( you can buy better ones from the Shop)

  1. From then on, it's mostly Feeding the pet to level up

That's pretty much the gist of what's needed to get started. And until a few days ago, most of my time was spent on planting, feeding, and leveling up the pet.

If you like, you can continue to purchase a few more eggs to hatch. My advice is to get a feel for the game before you do so. You need to know how to manage your resources and your pet's growth rate. It's a resource (planting & feeding) vs time (how fast you can level up your pet & also how much you can afford for better facilities) challenge.

The DeFi Feature Launched

As I have said, that was what I have been doing and it was the few things I was able to do in the game. Until 14 September, that is. On that date, the DeFi feature in the game was put into motion. Players could now send their pets on a Hunt (i.e. Stake their pets). The Hunting (Staking) period is 30 days.

The in-game Hunting Rules were as follows:

  • Pet sent to Hunt will collect Food & DPET.

  • Pets sent to Hunt will be locked for a duration of 30 days. And during this period, the pet will not be able to perform any activities.

  • Recall of Pets sent to Hunt will not be possible until after the Hunting period of 30 days is over.

  • Option to harvest DPET collected by Pets on Hunt anytime.

  • Only able to send a maximum of 3 pets to the hunt

I had started with 2 pets Hunting on this feature's launch date. After sending these 2 pets, I've decided I have wanted to send another. Therefore, I ended up purchasing one more pet to send for Hunting. Altogether, I'd sent 3 pets in total to Hunt (Stake).

Hunting Results

As of the time of writing, I have accumulated a substantial amount of Food. Though I have not compared it to the normal harvesting, I believe it is much more than normal and it contributes towards feeding other pets still in Cages. I couldn't quantify the amount of Food collected during the Hunt as there was no in-game record of it.

During this same period, my 3 pets have collected a total of 0.21053 DPET. I'd just checked the value of a $DPET. It's trading at $2.13 each. Not much to shout about but these 3 pets are earning me something.

Concluding Thoughts

I guestimate that at the end of the Staking period, I will at most get 2 DPETs. Not enough to buy an Egg. That is not the point at the moment. I'm looking at the longer-term for this game. I look forward to other features as they become available.

Meanwhile, though it is repetitive, I'm still enjoying playing the game. It is still new and the discovery process is thus far enjoyable. If this game does take off, I do believe that these pets will be worth money, especially if the DPET value increases. I for one hope that it will be as popular, if not more than Axie Infinity.

As cliched as it is, time will tell. I'm in no hurry as my Pets are out there making me money as we speak.

Thank you for reading. If you want a guide on how to get started, do let me know. I'll put a brief one together.

Take care and stay safe. #BetterSeptember

Disclaimer: This is Not Financial Advice. Do Your Own Research.

Sources:

Header Image from MyDefiPet.com site

Other images are game screenshots

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood | #ClubBrokeBCH

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

10
$ 5.12
$ 4.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @szbarnaus
$ 0.10 from @Eylz2021
+ 5
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

Maybe I should give this game a try.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Do be cautioned though...it can be addictive. lol.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'll take this as advice, though not as financial advice. LOL ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL. Have fun!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Still waiting for future updates from the dev. I currently have 12 pets and i am still thinking if I will stake the 3 of them. Since pet can be just stake 1 time thru their lifetime, this might affect their market value when marketplace is release. Well, just my thoughts and hoping for the best

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i want a pet... a pet that brings in the moolah.. even better... . ...hoooow

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Easy. You need to enrol in a course at Lotsa Moolah University. The course name is How to Get My Pet to Bring in the Bread. Hehehe...kinda has a ring to it..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

signed up with these but haven't played it yet

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is quite addictive in the beginning. Like Tamagotchi but these pets can't die. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago