SmartBCH: Importing the Desktop MetaMask to the Mobile MetaMask Wallet.

18 63
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

16 September 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Without a wallet, you can't buy anything. This is true in real life. Even with a wallet, if it's empty, you still can't buy anything. Unless of course, you use a credit or debit card. Technically speaking, those also have "wallets" that record your transactions.

Through the recent past few events, I have discovered that in the Blockchain sports, I've needed to be proficient in the Hurdles event. I have needed to keep up to pace. Too slow and I'll tumble into oblivion. Keep up to pace and I'll be rewarded with invaluable knowledge.

Hurdle 1

One of the important and first things that needed to be done when I started learning about smartBCH is that I need a wallet. Without one, I can do diddly. This was the case when the $EBEN was on pre-sale. For the life of me, I couldn't get the wallet connected to get on the bandwagon. That wagon has since long left and an opportunity gone.

For me, the key takeaway from that was - I should have been more persistent in getting it to work, including asking for help until it worked.

In the end, I did manage to get my MetaMask wallet connected to Coinflex. It was relatively smooth sailing from then on.

Hurdle 2

There's always something new to be learned in the blockchain world. Yesterday, I found out that the mobile version of the MetaMask wallet supports NFTs. I'd always thought that the mobile wallet was just like the desktop version so this was something new to me.

Last week I had tried to sync my mobile MetaMask with my desktop one but to no avail. It didn't work. I had no inkling as to what went wrong and again, I half-heartedly have given up. Until yesterday, that was when I found out that the mobile version can display NFTs.

Recalling the lesson learned from Hurdle 1, I had decided to give it a try until I get it to work. And this time, I have decided to get some help when I get stuck and will continue to get help until I overcome the hurdle.

Fresh off launching the new CandyMan project she was involved in, @carisdaneym2 was gracious enough to guide me through when I contacted her. Because of her time investment, I had managed to finally import my desktop MetaMask to my mobile version.

Importing to Mobile

I will not go into downloading and the initial setup of both your desktop and mobile MetaMask. You can Google and will find many such tutorials. You can refer to this brief guide for the installation of the mobile MetaMask wallet.

In brief, there are 3 ways you can start a mobile MetaMask wallet:

  1. Register a new one

  2. Sync with your current desktop extension

  3. Import to your mobile MetaMask using the Secret Recovery Phrase (Seed Phrase).

What I had wanted to do was to import my existing desktop wallet to my mobile wallet, so options 2 & 3 would be the way to go.

Though there were a few guides on this, it was not clear or complete enough for me. I have wanted to do a "Sync with extension" as that seems like the easiest route to take. As I proceeded to follow the steps to sync them, I out that the option is temporarily disabled. The "Sync with extension" option is no longer available.

That left one more option and that is to import using the Secret Recovery Phrase. Here are the steps that I'd used:

Steps to "Import with Secret Recovery Phrase"

To start with, you should have an existing desktop MetaMask that you're already using. Open your desktop MetaMask in a tab if you like. Regardless, once you have opened your desktop MetaMask, look for the "Account Options" three dots at the upper right-hand corner.

And since we're talking about importing your smartBCH MetaMask account, make sure that your desktop MetaMask is on the Smart CBH network then follow the instructions per the image below. If you have not added this network to your desktop MetaMask, I suggest you check out carisdayneym2's How-To article on this. Look under the paragraph heading - SmartBCH on MetaMask.

Steps to perform on your desktop MetaMask

Steps to perform on your Mobile Metamask

Once you have copied down your Secret Recovery Phrase, head on over to your mobile MetaMask app and follow the instructions below:

Once you've clicked "IMPORT", you should receive an "Account Successfully Imported!" message. The new account will have an "Imported" label next to it.

Setting Up SmartBCH Network on your Mobile MetaMask Wallet

Since this is not a smartBCH account on your mobile wallet yet, you'll need to set that up.

Refer to the image for details:

Details for Item 6 in the image above for your ease of copy & paste.

Network Name: SmartBCH

RPC Url: https://smartbch.fountainhead.cash/mainnet or https://smartbch.greyh.at (either of the two)

Chain ID: 10000

Currency Symbol: BCH

Block Explorer URL: https://www.smartscan.cash

After completing and clicking "Add", you should have something like this:

Adding Custom Tokens on your Mobile MetaMask Wallet

However, when you look at your SmartBCH wallet, you'll only see your BCH balance shown. If you have other Tokens on your desktop MetaMask, it's not reflected here. No worries. We proceed to the next step. Adding the Tokens manually.

For most of the Tokens, the most important detail is the "Token Address". Most Tokens will auto-populate the remaining fields after the "Token Address" has been entered.

To find the "Token Address", the easiest way is to navigate to the marketcap.cash site.

Once you're there, click on the icon shown in the image above. Then copy into the "Token Address" field mentioned above. The two remaining fields should auto-populate. Then, click the ADD TOKEN button.

All Done!

Go back SmartBCH account and you should see your token reflected there. Something similar to the image below.

Do the same to add other SmartBCH tokens into your mobile MetaMask wallet.

That's it. I hope this has been helpful for you. I'm reproducing my experience above. And I'm doing my best to recall the steps involved. It is meant as a guide and not necessarily a manual. Do be careful to thoroughly do your own research before proceeding.

And do remember this WARNING: NEVER share your Secret Recovery Phrase with anyone!

Not Financial Advice. Do Your Own Research.

Thank you for reading.

Sources:

All screenshots are my own

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood | #ClubBrokeBCH

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

7
$ 3.23
$ 2.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 5
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

EDIT: I did it again but this time it surprisingly worked. I tried a lot of times before and kept repeating the process.

I'm not sure why it didn't work for me. I tried importing to the already installed app but it didn't work I uninstalled and re-installed. I went through the process but still it didn't work.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

My friend, your persistence paid off. I've also learned this lesson. This metaverse is a strange one. Always testing our patience and persistence. Any idea what you did right this time or it just decided to let you through this time?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!! I did it ;) It worked great 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wonderful! Happy to hear. Was the guide clear and easy enough to follow? The mobile version is so convenient to use.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! Now, I will try the mobile version.

This is so helpful. I tried to Renoise it on Noise but you've posted it on a Channel ;)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Do let me know how the mobile version setup turned out. Thank you for wanting to Renoise it. I've posted an alternative post just now. You should be able to Renoise this --->https://noise.cash/post/zmpn8jrf5g94

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm going there ;)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. I saw that. Did you manage to setup your mobile version?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, thank you! I already did it and added all the tokens. 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Splendid. Thanks for the Renoise. And it's always a great feeling to get something to work. 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Well done for staying with it succeeding in connecting your wallets. I did both of them in the same sitting and can’t remember how I did it, but it worked. I did notice that mobile one gives you more options than desktop. Like you, I was late for an EBEN presale, but I still got it at good price and farming them ever since 💙

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I do like the mobile version. The only thing is that it can't connect to some apps because Chrome doesn't have an extension for its the mobile version. And I don't plan on downloading more browsers to get it to work. But being able to see NFTs on the mobile version is great though. Yeah, I managed to get some EBEN but not at a great price. I do think it'll go back up. Love the farming. Hope to keep on getting good returns for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mobile one is only connected to BenSwap, as I don't need it for anything else for the time being, so I can't tell about full functionality of it. I use Safari browser, as it's a default for iPhones. I'm sure EBEN will pump up again, but farming it is great nonetheless, especially while % is so high still.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah. Maybe the browser integration with iOS has better support. Yeah, look forward to EBEN doing well. Just a matter of time as more people learn about benswap n smartBCH.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saving this for later, big bro!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Do let me know if it's easy to follow if I'd missed any steps or need to amend anything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will do. I am having a hard time importing mine!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did too initially. Then on my retry, and with Caris' help, I managed to get it done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago