I'd woken up in Amsterdam!

20 35
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

24 August 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Written on 23 August 2021

Day 1: Woke Up in a Hotel Room!

I could not explain it but I found myself waking up in a strange environment. Instinctively, I glanced over at the side table of my bed and saw that it's 6.18 PM! I was in an unfamiliar room with some light seeping in through the curtains.

I staggered out of bed and pulled open the curtain. I looked out and saw something like a clock tower. The surrounding architecture was very European. In fact, it's very Dutch.

Without giving it further thought, I went into the bathroom to freshen up. As I came out of the bathroom, I saw a compendium on the study desk. It has the Radisson Blu Hotel word and logo on it and next to that is a Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam - Welcome to Blu leaflet. It then dawned on me that I'm in the City Center Radisson Blu Hotel.

Image linked to source

I could now vaguely remember planning on meeting some friends here. Since it was almost dinner time, I've decided to get cleaned up and go out to get something to eat. I left the room and found out from the front desk that there's a steak house called TER Steakhouse Restaurant. It's located just around the corner from the hotel, less than 300 meters walk.

As I turned around from the front desk and was about to head out the front door, I saw @Eylz2021, @Bloghound, @Pichi28, and @Jaytee headed my way.

Ah, now I remembered. I was supposed to meet them here. Quite unexpectedly, right there in the hotel lobby, Bloghound started rapping!

he gives his street a shake

and laughs until his belly aches

dood's on his way, taking sounds break

of distant waves and birds awake

As I was still out of my element, I could only cusp all the fingers on my right hand and bring them close to my mouth. Dumbfounded but sane enough to say, time for me to get something to eat. That was an unexpected response from me and we all burst out laughing!

We chatted a bit more in the lobby before I went out for my dinner. Not before we had set the time to meet up at the lobby tomorrow morning.

Day 2: Hash & Height

The Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum

Of course, the first place they have decided to go was Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum. Before we went in, I warned the ladies:

Don't take any srooms

in any of the rooms

or you'll go boom

flying off on a broom!

They laughed but I doubted if they had taken me seriously. I was serious though. I could remember clearly that I'd told them that before the visit to the museum. They can't stop giggling. I do suspect they have bought something from the gift shop that has had an impact on their behaviors. You'll have to ask them. They won't tell me. Instead, they thought that I was the one who's had srooms. LOL.

A'DAM Lookout

The next destination planned by Eylz2021 was the A'DAM Lookout at Buiksloterweg. Swings at the top of a 22nd-floor building? I told them, "thanks, but no thanks". I didn't come all the way to Amsterdam to die in Amsterdam! I'd opted for the Amsterdam VR Ride. Well, if I were to die riding in a VR ride, then so be it!

Image linked to source

After the ride, my head was spinning. The ladies have decided they wanted to stay at the rooftop longer but I've decided to head back to the hotel. I don't want to risk walking around on the rooftop with a dizzy head. Do you get what I mean?

After confirming time to meet up in the hotel lobby the next morning, I left them to enjoy the rooftop!

Day 3: Windmills, One More Windmill & Beer, then more Beers!

Zaanse Schans & De Gooyer

Personally, I don't see what's so exciting about windmills. I guess if you're in Amsterdam, that's something you have to do. Otherwise, the visit is not complete.

After oohing and aahing for a few full minutes, accompanied by plenty of picture taking, the ladies decided they didn't have enough windmills. Off we went to De Gooyer for one more windmill. No complaints from me this next stop, cause right next to it is the Brouwerij 't IJ Brewery! Alright, ladies. All is forgiven.

Redlights & Goodnight!

The last stop was the De Wallen Red Light District. I have no idea why the ladies were so excited. I was more excited at the Craft Beer breweries in the area. LOL. But I'd misestimated my alcohol tolerance. I'd had a little too much at the Brouwerij 't IJ Brewery so I couldn't sample more at this location. Again, I had to leave earlier as I wasn't feeling too good. I blame it on the windmills. Those big turning fans made me dizzy! I bid the ladies a good night and headed back to the hotel on my own.

Day 3: Very Hungry & Don't mind me taking this bread!

I really didn't have much to share about this day aside from the fact that I was really hungry the whole day.

That's because I'd woken up late in the morning and had missed breakfast. Coupled with not having dinner the night before, I was really famished. Today's agenda was to see castles! The whole trip to the first stop at Muiden, my stomach was rumbling! The ladies were busy chatting so I don't think anyone heard my stomach complaining.

I was glad that there was a cooking demonstration going on at the Muidenslot Castle at that time. While the ladies were busy taking photos, I moseyed over to where the foods were! Next to the demo table, there were some invitingly delicious bread and sandwiches. When no one was looking, I helped myself to some! Actually, I thought I saw a little sign that says, "Help yourselves". LOL. I found out later that it was a cooking demonstration by Siebren Houwer who was not only a historian and tour guide but also the castle's chef. The bread that I had tasted was his famous beer bread.

Image linked to source

I can tell you that the whole time at this Castle, De Haar Castle, and Doornenburg Castle, the ladies were in imaginary fairylands. How could I tell? No one mentioned anything about breaking for lunch! Before we knew it, it was evening! I had to say something before my stomach rebelled. I could almost see those imaginary "fairyland dream bubbles on top of their heads burst!" Alright, all of them are now back on earth. Time to head back to the city to have a proper meal.

Day 4: Say Cheese

I'd found out that this day's itinerary involved eating cheese. Despite being very tired, I had decided that this was something not to be missed. Indeed it was well worth the time. Cheese and wine pairings. It was just perfect!

Image linked to source

The ladies have decided to go biking after that. I'd decided it's best for me to head back to the hotel to rest. Besides, I'd some writing and lots of notifications to clear and messages to respond to.

To be continued...

This is UplandDood's perspective on this tour described by @Eylz2021. You can read her version here - Castles and shrooms in Amsterdam... If you need a tour plan for you, look her up. You'll not be disappointed. But be prepared to walk a lot!

This was also a continuation from - Destination UK: 1 BCHClub Party with 2 DJs. It's party time! Though at this point in time, no one knows how UplandDood has gotten from London to Amsterdam.

Sources:

Header Photo Image - Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam City Center

All images linked directly to sources

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

9
$ 4.68
$ 4.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.10 from @Eylz2021
+ 6
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

Oww cheese. Just recently I watched a vlog about eating different kinds of cheese. I'm not a fan of cheese but I want to try cheese eating next time so I would find out if the other cheese variety are delicious

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love cheese. All kinds. Even the supposedly pungent type like Blue Cheese. Love em all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🧡🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You described all the fun you guys and gals had on this article in a candid yet vivid manner. I love reading everything. I'm excited to read more of your articles. I'm a new subscriber here.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hi! Welcome! Yes, we did have a lot of fun. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries, my friend. It's my pleasure. I had fun just merely reading about your adventures.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wonderful. You'll find out soon enough that there are a lot of nice people on this platform.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so loving this!!! I laughed at not having dinners hahahaha. .. .

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lol. So engrossed with scenery, food became optional! hahaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can I ask the number of that tour guide?/_🤣🤣red light district, it is where the hotel located where we had BCH reunion 🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

She's a seasoned tour guide! Anyways, we were there for the craft beers. 😉 Btw, hope you were happy with how the deejaying turned out for your party? https://read.cash/@Just1dood/destination-uk-1-bchclub-party-with-2-djs-its-party-time-75b5663c

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The cheese and wine combo, I'd love to try that too. 😍😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, real nice. Tasty!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The girls are teaching me how to ride a bike hahaha since i dont know how to balance but i guess we still lack sleep so we're heading back 😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Glad you had lots of fun there. I do regret missing that part. Was too preoccupied with other things and was also very tired.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A'dam is all about walking and biking LOL looks like you didn't enjoy much with the ladies LOL

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I have a fear of heights. The VR was good. I did enjoy having cheese and wine pairing. My mind wasn't there that few days as I was still trying to figure out what had happened after the BCH party. Yeah, I'd missed the biking part. That would have been fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've tried a VR ride once. It feels sooo real haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Me too. Glad I didn't throw up! haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha scared me to death too

$ 0.00
2 years ago