An autopsy: Failed Memes...ARG...!!!

15 48
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

14 September 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Written on 13 September 2021

The last few days have been sorta a roller coaster ride. I ended up not spending much time on ReadCash nor NoiseCash, though not necessarily bad. I was distracted by the happenings in the smartBCH sidechain. It was a good distraction. I'm learning new things. And it has been an eye-opener and exciting, to say the least.

One of the...actually, two of these distractions were meme contests. The first one was organized by BitcoinCash Argentina (ARG) and the immediate next one was by Knuth (KTH).

I'd heard about the ARG meme contest in their discord channel on 11 September 2021.

Eleven hours later, the contest was announced on Twitter in the following post:

In the hours between the preview announcement and the actual announcement, I'd started thinking, researching, planning, and completing the memes.

Though I don't know much about this token, I did check on basic information such as price and maximum supply. I was driven by the fact that a country's name was on this Token. Something that no one should take lightly. To me, this could be something big even though the maximum token supply was substantially big.

This coupled with the fact that Argentina has one of the highest inflation rates in Latin America; Bitcoin Cash Argentina (ARG) is something I'm very interested in and should base my memes on.

The First Meme Entry: Don't Do It!

The first meme I had in mind was a tease, where on 22 May 2010, Laszlo Hanyecz had spent 10,000 Bitcoins on two pizzas. At the time of this writing, those two pizzas would have been worth well over $440,000,000!

You see, we will not make history as Laszlo did. He is a hero in many regards. If it wasn't for him, we probably wouldn't have today's cryptocurrency growth.

So then, we are no Laszlo, and hence the first meme then is to make sure those who bought ARG shouldn't be a monkey and spend them on pizzas!

The Second Meme Entry: ARG...!!!

After I was quite satisfied with the first meme, I proceeded to work on my second one.

This time, I have wanted to play with the token's name - ARG. I was thinking about how to get this into everyone's mind? And since the first one I'd used a monkey, I thought why not use another monkey to convey the message.

This was when I came up with the following meme idea:

I think the message was simple and clear.

The Results

I was quite upbeat and thought that at least one would make it into the top 10 winner's list.

Apparently not. Once I saw the winner's list, I was extremely disappointed. Disappointed not because I was beaten by much better memes (although a couple of them were very good), but by some that were not funny and/or with fewer "likes" and "retweets".

I figured, if those who were judging this meme contest didn't get the joke, then a history lesson is in place. I don't believe the need to explain jokes in the meme. That's just me.

I had taken snapshots of both my "Don't Do It!" and "ARG...!!!" Tweet results after the winners were announced.

When I checked my "Don't Do It!" meme, I had 11 Retweets, 1 Quote Tweet, and 16 Likes. Not bad at all. And in fact more than some of the finalists.

Out of curiosity and to find out what I'd done wrong and how far I was from the winners' results, I did some investigation a day after the contest had ended.

I took snapshots of each winner's posts to see what each post's Retweets, Quoted Tweets, and Likes were.

I found out that my first "Don't Do It!" meme in terms of RTs and Likes was higher than 6 of the winners'.

I was more surprised when I checked my "ARG...!!!" meme results. At the snapshot time, I had 11 Retweets, 3 Quoted Tweets, and 21 Likes!

For those who are interested, here is the Tweet link to the winner's announcement.

TL;DR: Summary of the 10 winners' results taken one day after the snapshot of my results:

  • 2 RT 6 L,

  • 20 RT 1 QT 46 L

  • 3 RT 1 QT 15 L

  • 2 RT 5 L

  • 20 RT 1 QT 47 L

  • 20 RT 28 QT

  • 11 RT 16 QT

  • 6 RT 2 QT 12 L

  • 3 RT 1 QT 13 L

  • 10 RT 2 QT 23 L

My Disappointment

I thought I'd missed the intention of what was required but it doesn't seem so. It is this point that is difficult for me to swallow.

I will not make a big fuss in the group's Telegram channel. I'm writing here to put my thoughts into words. Hopefully, from here I can learn what had gone wrong and a record for myself to improve in the future.

I can understand the Telegram group admin/owner being swarmed with thousand and one things to do and plenty of messages to reply to. Multitasking is a b1tch! I can empathize. Mixed with lack of sleep, it is a slippery slope to making unwise decisions.

It is noble of the project to decide to award all participants with something but the damage was already done. Unless the service recovery gives a BIG WOW factor, it is a day late and a dollar short.

From my experience, a FIRST CLASS service recovery can be a better marketing tool than the initial award. But in the end, I felt that it was an afterthought and an "Oh, okay. We'll give you something too. Here's $0.15 for your effort."

Heartfelt Feedback

What I learned from this is that, if ever I were to organize something like this, it is imperative to not change/add to the conditions once it has started.

This was what had happened in this case.

  • Initially stated conditions:

  • Updated conditions after the contest have started:

Why is this so important? You can't move the goalposts after the game has started. It speaks of the integrity of the whole process.

Final Thoughts

Despite the disappointment, I have learned something else. It is that I'm satisfied with my product even though I'm not proficient in design apps. I'm also quite happy with how my creativity came out through these memes. My Twitter friends attested to that through their comments and separately, a friend, @MoreGainStrategiesin a DM said this after I showed him my two memes:

I have done some self-reflection after going through the above. I try to be objective in my documenting my experience. I hope if the organizer read this they will take it as constructive feedback for future improvements.

In the end, if you ask me if this is a good project, I'll say, "Yes". This is because of what I have stated at the beginning about Argentina. I see a need for this project. I do wish them much success. I'd initially thought of putting some money in but due to the above experience, I'll observe on the sideline for now. My sentiment may yet change. That's left to be seen. I do want to be a part of this. I really do.

I'm at a loss in a way. What do you think? Do leave your comment and hopefully, it may clear some of my doubts.

Bitcoin Cash Argentina, I do wish you all the best. May you do something wonderful for Argentina's population of 40 plus million people.

Friends, thank you for reading. See you soon in another article. Yes, I'm thinking of another similar meme experience.

Disclaimer: This is Not Financial Advice. Do Your Own Research.

Sources:

Header Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood | #ClubBrokeBCH

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

9
$ 2.96
$ 2.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Mr_Trenzs
$ 0.05 from @MoreGainStrategies
+ 4
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

I feel similar levels of disappointment when someone finally wins the Powerball or MegaMillions jackpots and it is not me...like I ever really had a chance anyway. lol. Although, it expends no creative energy to buy lottery tickets. But I am just saying.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, but can you imagine if you have bought a ticket and then they changed the rule?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I shudder the thought. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There would have sparked riots everywhere. lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I get where you are coming from. Truly, last minute chnages or changing the mechanics while the contest is on going or after is not good. However, I believe that greater things are yet to come to you. i appreciate your creation 🤗. All of the participants have exerted efforts and kodus to you all for that. Maybe they just didn't get the message that youa re trying to convey. But I still believe that there will be a place or people who can see our efforts someday 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ARG is one on my list as the top tokens in sBCH. I think basing the winners on popularity and numbers will never mean that the meme was the best. It must also be judged objectively, if there are future contests like this. They did an irreparable mistake for sure.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I do like this project a lot for the reasons stated above. What I wasn't so happy about and gave me a negative light was how it was handled. On the positive side, I hope they learned something from this. Better to learn lessons early than later. Being involved in a project of this scale, integrity is of utmost importance. At least to me, it is. I still give them the benefit of the doubt but only gonna watch first.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Your memes were good. And for me, it's a mistake not to reward the memes that were most popular in terms of retweets, likes, etc.

Regarding Argentina, Cryptocurrencies also have a lot of potentials there. I've been to Buenos Aires a couple of times. And the economy there, as in Venezuela, has always been marked by exchange controls and inflation. Of course, we have the lead with the longest hyperinflation in the region. But they have had hyperinflation in the past too.

Argentinians understand the freedoms that cryptos can offer. They had an economic history that has marked them. In 2001, they lived something called Corralito. At that time the peso had parity with the dollar and you could have accounts in both currencies. But at the end of 2001, the government froze the funds and made a great devaluation and people lost a lot of money because what they had in dollars in the banks was converted into pesos using the devalued exchange rate. But also people couldn't access freely their money for almost a year. Monthly limits were imposed on the amounts of money that people could withdraw from banks. So Cryptos there are for sure well appreciated.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for the additional economic background for Argentina. It is a reason why I was looking forward to supporting this in a bigger capacity this token but how they have handled a simple contest has left some doubt in my mind. If they don't get more organized, there will be others to come and take over the opportunity. Running a tight ship is critical for success for the individual token and for the overall good of smartBCH as a whole.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, that it hasn't been very organized. It same case from a couple of days ago when Kitten's got the hashtag wrong on Twitter. I think they want to go fast and grow, but they're not very well prepared to handle the huge interactions they get. Let's hope some of these projects succeed. For the good and the success of SmartBCH.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. These projects need to proceed with care and caution. It's just not the name of the individual project at stake here. It's the whole sidechain reputation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my opinion, they do the right thing to choose those memes with humors and exact thing that ARG will spread, the wrong here is,they changed their mechanics that's why it made confusion to participants. Still, those winners deserve to win cause I can see that their memes are funny.😅😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I guess humor is very subjective. And changing rules after a contest has started in my opinion reflects on a lack of proper planning and thought out. In the blockchain world, once it's out, it's immutable. Just saying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess they failed to see the message your meme tried to convey but never be sad because there are people who appreciate it. We just have to find the place where our efforts are recognized and rewarded.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for your kind words. I'm okay. I do enjoy my creation and like them. It didn't give me a feeling of a shoddily done job. I'm proud of my monkeys. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago