The first time I visited my roots (part 2)

13 49
Avatar for Jumper-22
2 years ago

Hey guys thank you for the love and support from my previous articles considering the fact that I am still a newbie here and I have only come this far with the help and support of my friends here. Y’all are the best for real .

anyways I had fun making the part 1 of this article and I feel like I should share my remaining experiences on here.

My grandma’s fam

So apparently my grandma and grandpa were big time farmers.They had a lot farm lands which they share equally among their sons (my dad and his brothers) .Although, my grandma kept a few for herself for her to cultivate vegetables, corn, pear and some other tuber food like Cassava and yams. They day I finally visited her farm I was so happy she kept giving me stuff most of them fell on my way back to the house. She was showing off her plants and telling me how she planted them and how my dad use to come farm here when he was younger. Honestly It was truly a humbling experience and on our way home we saw a lot of old women they were all greeting us saying “daalu bè kè” “ ije oma " which translate to “ well done white man 😂😂" "safe journey “ 😂😂. My grandma is a funny and strong woman she kept making jokes and telling stuff about my grandpa

The way to the farm
Sponsors of Jumper-22
empty
empty
empty

I am so thankful to my beautiful and   wonderful sponsors check them out 

My cousins

Owing to the fact that this was the first they would see me 😂😂 they were all amazed as to how big I have grown . I remember one of them saying in our local dialect “is this Levi ? , the same Levi they showed us his picture and told us about.. I doubt it, he so big with beards “ I laughed so hard , maybe even too hard 😂😂. Anyways 2 of all my cousins were the ones I hanged out with the most because we were same age and then they love asking me stuff about Lagos . Apparently Lagos people have seeing it all and Lagos is all about enjoyment , they don’t know about it 😂😂😂. Funny enough they both bear the say name ikechukwu which would mean “ power of GOD “ in igbo . I had to call them Ike 1 and Ike 2 . They took me to the village square , showed me around , took me to the local palm wine joint and bush bar .. the roads were very hilly I got scared at several points I won’t even lie 😂😂but it was so much fun to just go on full speed on one of their bikes and just feel the breeze go through your hair .

My cousins
Bush bar 😂💪

The weather and fun adventures

The college close to my house
Nearby market places

We would often just go hiking with huge boots of course the soil is clay and so it was sticky and it was really easy for our clothes to get dirty . We went to markets close to villages around ours we would just walk around for hours looking for things to buy. There was the famous food they sold called “okpa " well it wasn’t food per say it was more like a snack made with red oil and some other nice ingredients. We would often get some with palm wine and just eat to our fill.

The weather was quite soothing ..the air was dense and cold and fogs can be seeing at early hours of the morning. Just like most places in the east the weather is mostly cold because the sun rises in the east right ?!!!!😂😂 forgive me my geography is a bit rusty .. but yeah the weather was generally cold sha and we couldn’t go swimming till it was around mid day because it was really really cold. I saw lots of animals and insects in the bush I only took a few pictures because they would often run away before I got a chance to take really good pictures of them here are a few …

Anyways thanks so much for your time I might do a part 3 😂 depends cause really I have so much to share with you guys but anyways thanks again for reading enjoy the rest of your day .

arigato ✌🏼

3
$ 1.34
$ 1.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @ARTicLEE
+ 1
Avatar for Jumper-22
2 years ago

Comments

You really had fun with this your trip,I hope we travel together too one day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sure my friends we would very soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been here before. Traveling to the eastern part of Nigeria during burials is quite an experience. May God forgive the shortcomings of your grandma. The bush bar is one big thing for village men. That's where you get the most recent information in town.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is ..” the shortcomings “???I really don’t understand you sir but thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for showing us a bit of your travel. This reminds me of my grandma, may she rest in peace. That's really nice having fun with your cousins. I hope you haven't drank too much at the bar :D

What is red oil made from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind words and no I didn’t drink too much 😂😂.. and red oil is made from palm trees they produce this large combs of palm fruits very small but in bunches of 50s or 60s in one comb they are eventually peeled of and then a grinder is use to bring out the oil

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah I see...We do have palm oil here but it's colored light yellow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to get some pictures or something or how can I google them I’d love to see them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are lots. You can search for Bimoli, Golden Fiesta, Claro. Those are the palm oils I can think of :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For real 😮

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just love how deep this writeup is. The pictures are fantastic. Great piece. Love it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much I had fun making it I actually had a fun experience and I wish I could share all of it on here even videos but it’s all good thank you for you kind words ada 💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago