Me vs me

20 53
Avatar for Jumper-01
2 years ago
PUBLISHED: 03/10/2021
PUBLISHER: jumper01 

Everyone should strive not to be better than the next person but to be a better version of who they were yesterday too. So I got up this morning feeling really tired and unmotivated, I went about my daily morning routine until my brother reminded me about a song we talked about the previous day titled; want it all by Burna Boy.

Hi everyone good day, it jumper here I hope everyone is doing well, I hope this read meets you well. I want to thank everyone for their support so far and without wasting time any further let dive into the topic proper..

I vs me.

I listened deeply to the song and Burna boy talked about how he felt fulfillment because of the things he had achieved . He talked about how he felt after winning a Grammy and how his state of origin honored him and his family. It just made me realize that often Times life is more of a personal race and the war of personal growth and responsibility should often be against our old ourself.

You vs you

As much as we want to measure up with others we should make sure that we are getting better each day at what will do each day in comparison to how well we have done it in the past or the previous day. You see the greatest men and women measure their success by how well and fast they are able to conquer a challenge in comparison to the last time they faced the same challenge. Take Jamaican speed star usain bolts for example ;The fastest man alive with world records for 100 and 200 meter race what do you think his mind set would be when preparing for a race. I mean he is the fastest he has already achieved that feet so how does he draw motivation? Well it’s simple he competes with himself and that is how he stayed relevant and dominant for so many years in the racing world.

You see the best mindset one could have Is the mindset of always trying to outdo their previous work because at the end of the day when everybody leaves, when that door closes, when you log-off that computer or switch off that phone the only person left standing in mirror with you is YOU.

➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖➖

A little story…

When I first joined the gym I couldn’t lift most of the weights and so it was very easy for me to loose motivation not because I wasn’t able to lift some of the weights around but because I was constantly comparing what I lifted with what the other guys were lifting, bear in mind these guys started 2 years before I did. I just didn’t understand that certain things took time and so for the first few weeks I was there I was always complaining about how I feel like I am not making progress. Until one day I decided to track my progress and try to improve just by comparing myself the previous day to the next and within a month I was able to make an enormous improvement. I told myself that if I could lift more weights than I did the previous day I would be okay with myself Irrespective of how much other persons were lifting. That mindset changed my fitness life forever.

I know it is easy to loose track and worry about how good we are doing in life in comparison with others due to the pressure put on us as members of the society but let us try and see life as a personal journey not everyone starts well and not everyone ends well regardless of where you are just make sure you are making progress.

A tip for success

Other are flying but you can’t fly then run , others are running but you can’t run then walk , others are walking but you can’t then craw, just make sure that no matter what stage in life you find yourself make progress daily and outdo yourself”

Thank you for your time as always ❤️ do check out my sponsors if you are yet to do so.

Sponsors of Jumper-01
empty
empty
empty

Till I come your way again peace and joy

©️ 2021 Jumper01

12
$ 1.49
$ 1.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 5
Sponsors of Jumper-01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jumper-01
2 years ago

Comments

We shouldn't see a comparison with other people as jealousy or a way to hate the person. I, personally see the comparison as a way to be better not than the person but to be at my best too cos if that person isn't at it's best I wouldn't have the mindset to look up to him or her. We should make sure we improve everyday and that's the best way we can make progress in life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes this is an example of health comparison this is actually a good one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been trying to stop comparing myself to people, I've been patting myself these days and saying "dee, you're doing well for yourself, your timeline is different"

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly continue very soon you would see the effect I promise

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Comparing yourself with others will lead you nowhere, competing with yourself is more important because being the best you is the goal!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly self actualization is the most important

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Self-evaluation is an essential element of life and man should always bring himself into account each day.....

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes self valuation Nd self improvement

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really is pointless to compare ourselves to someone else, because like what Max Ehrmann, of Desiderata poem said, "If we compare ourselves to others, we will become vain and bitter, for always there will be someone greater or lesser than ourselves."

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly there would always be someone who has it better than we do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In summary, don't compare yourself with others but just focus on the things that you are able to do.. There are things that you can do, but they cannot and vise versa.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly build on your strength and outdo yourself daily

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Completely agree with you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Comparison leads to jealousy which inadvertently lead to destruction. We only have ourselves to beat and not someone else. If you're to compete at all, it should be an healthy competition

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes you are right it’s either a healthy competition or no competition at all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I listened to that song throughout yesterday. It's pointless comparing yourself to others everyone path to success can't be the same and the time might be different but if you have a determined mindset you can achieve anything. Only you can stop yourself

$ 0.02
2 years ago

One of the things I dislike is being compared to another person. We all have our individual capabilities. We shouldn't expect the action of A to produce the same result as B. I had a coursemate who reads at every oppotunity, plus TDB. Yet she is always at the bottom half of the result ranking. The top student only spends just a few hours reading. We have to understand ourselves and appreciate our capability and work on being better than we were yesterday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmmmmm you have spoken well knowing our strength is also important

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The yardstick with which people measure success is quite flawed. True progress can only be ascertained by trying to be better than you were yesterday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly this is my point exactly 👏

$ 0.00
2 years ago