Pop Tabs

3 22
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago

Don't throw your pop tabs away!

Pop tabs are that small aluminum tabs that you pull to open a can of soda.

There are lots of ways to recycle them and one of them is to repurpose them as buttons for the earsavers.

My lady boss, who also crochets, asked me what I used for my earsavers. I told her that I am sewing bottoms at each end. She then told me that she uses pop tabs and sent me a link to a pattern. Here is the link below if you are interested to make one.

https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/buttonless-pop-top-ear-savers

She then gave me lots and lots of pop tabs, saying that somebody gave her a thousand pieces when she posted in her FB page her need for pop tabs.

I tried to follow the pattern above but I just can't understand the pattern, even if there is a photo tutorial. So I made my own pattern. See pictures below for my finished earsaver using pop tabs as buttons.

This is another way to save mother earth and and at the same time help the frontliners!

Let's get crafting!

4
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @marblely
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago

Comments

Oh and they are nicely hidden too! Smart way to use this instead of sewing on buttons. I think this pop tabs are sturdier than buttons because of the way they are crocheted into the ear savers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi @marblely. Thank you so much for the upvotes of my DIY/Crafts articles. They are such an inspiration to do more. Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Always creative Ms. Judith! Ang ganda as usual😍😍😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago