Knee Pains

10 37
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

December 29, 2021

Has anyone here experienced knee pains?

I did. Many times I went to the doctor to have it consulted, I was always told to lose weight. Is that an insult? Hehe. Well, I accepted that as it is really true that I need to lose weight, but what if there is another reason for it?

As required by our company, we have to have an annual medical and physical examinations (AMPE) before the year ends. The AMPE consists of having lab examinations, Xray and ultrasound. Once the results are out, we were scheduled to have it interpreted by the doctors assigned.

I specifically informed the doctor about my knee pains and she checked on my lab results. Uric, which is the indication for having knee pains, was normal and the rest of the lab results were normal too. I thank God for that but I still need answers to my knee pain. And once again, I was told to lose weight as my knee is having a burden in carrying out my weight.

As the pain is not permanent, it just comes once in a while and is manageable, I accepted the fact that I really need to lose weight.

When typhoon Odette strikes last December 16, the mango tree fronting the house fell, making our driveway unpassable. Because of this, we have to do some clearing and cleaning. I helped in the cutting of branches by using my kitchen butcher knife. Thankfully it was light and very sharp.

For three days, we were clearing the place. In my hand is either the knife or the broomstick. We finally did have the place spic and span but my right knee, which has experienced pains previously, gave up at the same time.

I really had pains while walking how much more in going up and down the stairs. This is the reason why, once I have gone down from my room on the second floor, I don’t go back up not until it is time for bed.

Sometimes even while resting, the pain is still there. It is like something is throbbing under my skin. I tried hot compress and applied a lot of oil, even the pan away (pain away) of Young Living essential oil, but still the pain persists.

I sometimes have discomfort while sleeping. I have to find a position wherein there will be no pain on my knee.

One night, I was woken up due to intense pain and I cannot go back to sleep. So I tried to open up my data and gladly, I was able to connect to the internet right away, and search about knee pains.

During my search about knee pain, I found out that this is called Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome. This is usually common to persons engage in sports but can occur to others as well. One of the contributors to this knee pain is the overuse of the knee.

There are home remedies to the knee pain that we can apply on our own. It is called the RICE method.

Β REST.

Rest your knee and avoid putting weight on it. Stop doing the activities that make the knee hurt and that means putting off walking for a while, in my case.

Maybe the pain on my knee intensifies because of the daily weight I put on it during clearing and cleaning outside the house.

ICE.

I was wrong in putting hot compress on my knee. Instead of hot compress it should have been cold compress. But until now I was not able to put on cold compress as we still don’t have electricity as of this writing and there is no ice for sale in the supermarkets. I think they put off production of ice to give way to water distribution.

COMPRESSION.

Again I did something wrong with compressing my knee.

To prevent swelling of the knee, an elastic bandage has to be wrapped around the knee but leaving a hole in the area of the kneecap, where the swelling is. But instead of doing that, I covered my whole knee with the bandage.

When I tried doing the recommended method, I find it comforting. True enough the pain was not as intense.

ELEVATION.

When resting the knee, it has to be elevated higher than the heart. So during my sleep, my right foot is elevated with lots of pillows. It is not a comfortable position to sleep with but I have to manage.

I tried to follow the RICE method, except for the ice part. For the past two days, all I did was sit and crochet. I finished a few ear savers, a bonnet, a headband and started another headband.

I wrote an article and published it when there was internet connection. I only stand and walk when I need to go to the bathroom.

After following the RICE method, except for the ice part (again), I felt changes in the pain of my knee. The pain has slowly subsided and I can sometimes walk without limping.

I really need to heal as come January, I will be working back to the head office, no longer working from home, and my office is located on the fourth floor of the building that has no elevators. 😭

Thank you for enduring the knee pain with me.

Β πŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈπŸ™‹β€β™€οΈ

That’s all for now folks.

Thanks for dropping by.

To my sponsors, upvoters and commenters, a HUGE THANK YOU!

Thanks for the 🧑🧑🧑.

Β 

Β 

Β 

Β 

5
$ 3.17
$ 2.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 3
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

Comments

I can relate to knee pain but not as intense. For me, going back to walking eased that pain away. I hope you heal fast enough.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try to add more fruits and vegetables to your diet ma'am. They contain a lot of calcium that promotes bone heath and helps to reduce the friction between two bones in contact.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray for your quick healing and recovery… it wouldn’t enter the new year and I’m sure if you can constantly stick with that remedy you will be free from the pain.. sorry about that dear and take good care of yourself

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe you consult your doctor about it. The rice method is helpful but it's much better if you still consult and have it check up

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I already texted our company doctor about this but because of an unsteady signal we have right now, I am not sure if she was able to read it. I am still waiting for her reply. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganun tlga kpg tumatanda na πŸ˜…. Get well soon ate

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha, di talaga maitago ang age nito. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray that your knee will no longer in pain maam Judith.πŸ™ It will heal ma'am.πŸ™ Just follow the RICE methods ma'am, for sure it is a big help for your knee.

Thank you for sharing the methods ma'am Judith. I learn something new today when it comes to knee pains. Praying for your knee ma'am.πŸ™

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you Ramona. Advance Happy New Year!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome maam Judith. Mawawala din po yang knee pains niyo po.πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago