Gradient Tops

24 32
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

August 5, 2021

 Oh my, I missed an article yesterday. My goal to write once a day can no longer be materialized unless I will make up for it in another day, meaning I have to write two articles every time I missed a day. I am sure that will not happen. 😁

Anyways, this article is another crochet related. So if you are not interested, just scroll directly below and just give it a thumbs up.

****************************************************************

I received a big ball of fine yarn on the Christmas of 2019. This was gifted to me by a doctor friend who is also a fellow crochet enthusiast and an admin of our crochet group, Cebu Crochet Group.

I have no idea on what to do with the yarn until I saw a YouTube tutorial that would be great for the yarn that I received. I then started the long journey of finishing one project, a top that will fit me. As I am on the heavy side, it takes a lot of stitches to finish one round.

Usually, if the item I crocheted is for me, I always put it aside and will only work on it when I want to. So after several months of short time crocheting, I finally finished the blouse. The fine yarn has gradient color.

When I am using a big ball of yarn, I always pull the thread from the middle. And since the middle yarn has black color, I started with the black color. After a few rounds another color is introduced to slowly change the color of the yarn. Gradually it changes to lighter colors and eventually I ended up with a combination of yellow and orange yarn.

After fastening off, I still have a lot of yarn left. The yellow orange colored yarn.

I just put it aside as I again have no project in mind. But every time I start another project, I can always remember the yellow orange yarn. So I started to scout a design again for inspiration and finally I was able to choose a design that I would love to wear.

But, foolish of me, I really thought that the yarn is enough for another blouse since the design does not have close stitches. There where chains in between. But well, the thread was just enough to finish from the neckline to the shoulder straps.

I really want to finish the blouse as I was already fond of the design. So what I did was to finish it using sewing thread.

I want to make it a gradient also, so I planned the colors that will be combined together. I bought yellow, orange, red, burgundy and black sewing threads.

The orange and the yellows were already used.

I also asked a favor from my brother’s carpenter to make me a thread holder so that the threads won’t trip on each other and cause chaos.

I attached the thread every time I reach the end. And slowly change the thread color every few rounds.

Slowly a gradient is made

Same as usual, I only crochet in short periods of time as this project is mine. But because I cannot keep it inside a pouch and hide it due to the threads being used, the project on hand is always placed beside my office table, visible to me every day. So every time I got bored with office work I stitch a few rounds.

Therefore, this gradient top is finished faster than my other top.

After the top was I finished I ended up with lots of empty spools of thread.

Any suggestion on what "do-it-yourself" project I can do using this empty spools? I don’t want to just throw them out and destroy mother earth.  A Christmas ornament perhaps? Looking for suggestions here.

That’s it for today my friends.  Nothing more to write. It seems my brain is fried and just want to relax.

Thanks for dropping by.

Thanks for the 🧡🧡🧡

 

12
$ 7.44
$ 6.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 8
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

Comments

It looks really pretty. I love the stitch! And I love anything gradient and ombre. There is something very special about colours that changes gradually. Ooo and I love the thread holder! Makes things really neater and easier doesn't it?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I love gradients too. It makes me want to finish faster so that I can see the effect it has on the project. 😁 The thread holder does do an excellent job of holding the thread in place. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That top looks amazing! Congrats! A Christmas ornament might be nice. Or small figures with crochet faces and use the spools for the body. I'm here inventing, hehe!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was thinking of a Christmas wreath but I am still wondering how to shape it into round. That faces with spools for the body looks interesting though... Hmmm.. Will see. 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That looks amazing and you're very resourceful.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This looks so good on you. Perfectly woven with a brilliant delivery and of course carefully chosen colours. ❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for the compliment Ola. Very encouraging words. 🧡🧡🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anytime, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala ang ganda po Ma'am. Una akong nakakita ng ganito sa tiktok, and so amazed how they turn a simple yarn into nice clothes, and sa inyo is different colors in one.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. Nakita ko din yung tiktok, grabeh mga damit nila. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sipag mo tlga ate.. Mag negosyo kna

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sideline ko na to Jane. Marami na ako inventory kaso takot pa ako mag bazaar ngayon kaya gawa ng gawa na lang muna. Selling on line din, may na sell naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow ma'am Judith you're really skillful. I did once a crochet maam. When it was first time my hand were hurts but after 1 month it was okay and I was really enjoyed while doing it.. More blessings to you ma'am Judith..🙏😇

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gawa ka ulit, pang sideline. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am I want too. Bili muna ako materials ko ma'am Judith..❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is an activity that I have not been involved in very often in my life. You did very well at least in the photo it looks very nice. Congratulations.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This blouse looks good on you after working on it. I admire People with this skill because they would always make themselves something to look nice on them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Princess. It just take time to finish one unlike sewing with a sewing machine but its all worth it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always told you that you are so hardworking and skillful. You crochet a wonderful knitted blouse. Your technique will get better and better, you are already a professional !! This transition from one color to another is beautiful!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Judit. I give my best. 🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda ganda ng blouse, last na ginawa q knitted na hand warmer nagamit q lng yun crochet hook nun iseal q na yun warmer. Ang colorful nyan blouse 👚 😍🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. Gawa ka ulit. 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago