Epic Fail

5 23
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago

Every year, my brothers and their family always join us for Christmas eve dinner. This has been their practice since when they were still single. When they got married, they continue this practice and now the family keeps on growing.

That is why I always plan ahead on what to prepare for the Christmas eve dinner, from the main course to the dessert. This is done during the first week of December.

However this year, I only planned for a few dishes to make as we were also planning for another party on the 27th, the debut of my 3rd daughter.

I have my two eldest daughters to help me plan the menu. We have all written down the menu, then the ingredients for each dish. After that we check the pantry to see which ingredient is available and write them off from the list. We then summarize the list that still needs to be bought. As this was done early in the month, we still have time to do the grocery.

As I am fond of watching Youtube, I came across a tutorial on how to make a coffee jelly dessert. And as a coffee lover, I was tempted to make the same for the Christmas eve dinner. So I added the list of ingredients to our grocery list.

Come December 24, I started to make the coffee jelly dessert but instead of following the procedure, I tried to make it into a coffee jelly cake. Like the mango ice cream cake that I made before and posted it here. Here is the link to that post. https://read.cash/@Judith1969/mango-ice-cream-cake-bed62f5e

The ingredients of the coffee jelly are as follows :

The first step is to make the jelly. Dissolve the gulaman mix, coffee flavor, into a cup of water. I added a pack of coffee to add more coffee punch. Heat it up and boil. Once the mixture thickens, put off the fire and cool the mixture down. This will harden and it will be easy to cut them into squares.

While waiting for it to cool down, mix the evaporated milk and the cream. This is the same with the mango ice cream cake mixture. I always use the ratio of 3 cream to 1 can of condensed milk. This way, it will not be so sweet.

Cut the jelly into squares and add them to the wet mixture.

Thank you shoppee for this cutter. It makes cutting the jelly easier.

Here comes why I entitled this article "Epic Fail".

I then place the mixture in a glass pan to place it in the freezer, ready to be served during the Christmas dinner.

And this is how it looks like when frozen.

It is so hard that we have to wait for it to melt.

But when melted, this is how it looks like.

Yucks!.

It does taste good as it is coffee flavor, but no one except me, tried to eat this. ๐Ÿ˜Œ

I tried to place it in the refrigerator instead of the freezer, hoping that on the following day it will look better. But it melts and melts and is sooo gross to look at that in the end we have to throw it away.

Now, where did I go wrong?

Yup! It was wrong to put it in the freezer. It was meant to be served and enjoyed once done.

Well better luck next time. Or better still, look for other desserts to try on.

Merry Christmas!

5
$ 2.47
$ 2.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @bbghitte
+ 1
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago

Comments

Aw, lesson learned! Heheh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Probably freezing it with the jelly was what made it into a disaster. I'm not really sure. Because if you are familiar with Nathaniel's Buko Pandan, it is sold frozen but it still looked edible. Though coffee jelly dessert or drink are best served chilled. But if making it into a cake, I think it has to have other components. Just my guess. Hehe. Anyway, too bad you had to throw it away. You can still make a coffee shake with it. Just keep on exploring. You might be able to come up with a unique dessert. ๐Ÿ˜‰

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Shouldn't be put inside the freezer ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ and i guess you added too much water

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, that freezer thing is the culprit! ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And you need more cream i guess..you can add cornstarch next time

$ 0.00
3 years ago