Alec Baldwin and his accident, my opinion based on the death of Brandon Lee.

22 54
Avatar for JuanyChelme
2 years ago

I was quite surprised by the news that affected the American actor Alec Baldwin, a few days ago.

He accidentally shot cinematographer Halyna Hutchins during the shooting of his new movie "Rust" causing her tragic death. I couldn't help but think of that time when actor Brandon Lee was also shot dead in the cult movie "The Crow".

On March 30, 1993, my beloved Brandon Lee died at the age of 28. In one of the scenes in the movie, the gun they were using was supposed to contain a blank bullet, but instead it was pointed with a .44 caliber projectile, which went through his abdomen, damaged vital organs and lodged in his spine. It was never clear what really happened.

After months of investigation, in the end, justice did not hold anyone responsible for what happened on that set and the fact that the gun was not inspected before it was used in Brandon, was not a reason to arrest anyone. Which seems really very unfair to me 😢.

"Our hearts go out to the family of Halyna Hutchins and to Joel Souza and all involved in the incident on “Rust”. No one should ever be killed by a gun on a film set" Brandon Lee’s sister Shannon Lee tweeted late Thursday.

I wonder, is it really an accident that this kind of thing happens?

It seems more like irresponsibility to me. I guess wanting to do something quickly is better for them than doing it properly.

Earlier, there had already been at least three prop gun misfires on the set, sources told the Times. Hannah Gutierrez Reed, was the one who was supposed to check the firearms. She previously said she almost turned down the job, she didn't feel prepared to do it 🤦🏻‍♀️.

I was reading an interview with Simon Athertones. Who works in the film industry in the UK, as a armorer. A armorer is a person who is in charge of examining guns before they are used by actors. Of course, this person must have extensive knowledge to do this job. To be trained to know how to handle all types of weaponry.

He explained that there are protocols that must be followed correctly when working with firearms in the cinema, such as:

  • Sufficient time to train actors.

  • Have good communication with the directors and the main actors, so that they know that the armorer is work is very important. Put aside the ego of the superstar.

  • Examine the weapon at each scene before using it, to make sure it is unloaded, both the magazine and the cylinder, if it is a revolver, and the barrel, to see that there is nothing in it, not even a pebble or mud.

What is unusual is that there are marked differences in how gun movies are made in the United States compared to how they are made in the United Kingdom. In the United States who is in charge of the weapons is simply the main prop, who was previously instructed with only one course. This is gross negligence, the unfair thing is that everyone gets away with it, while many die. The very thought that my beautiful Brandon Lee would still be alive, if it weren't for all these human failures, which could have been prevented, makes me extremely angry. Let's hope that the death of Halyna Hutchins at least serves to change the security measures with which they work in the North American film industry and that they begin to apply the protocol they use in countries like the United Kingdom.

Yes, I'm a Brandon Lee fan, so when I heard this news I was shocked. I never thought these things could still happen today. Hopefully after this there will be more awareness in this industry and they will start looking out for the safety of everyone who works on movie sets.

My ARTICLE IS 100% ORIGINAL.

English is not my native language, so it is translated with deepl.com.

Cover image by Pixabay, user UserBot

Get to know me better on Noisecash 🐾

Banner created by me in Canva

Thanks to my sponsors, they are amazing at their writing. You should read your posts. I mean it, don't think I'm being sycophantic, they are really good.

6
$ 0.43
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 3
Sponsors of JuanyChelme
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JuanyChelme
2 years ago

Comments

It was shocking. You have to remember that in the UK unlike USA we don't have a gun culture. Unlike Americans, we do not like or own guns, so our rules are very strict. I feel sorry for her family and for Shannon Lee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

escuche sobre la noticia pero había olvidado a brandon lee y el cuervo a mi parece verdadera negligencia del encargado de utilería menos claro que quien empuñaba el arma quisiera asesinar a la mujer encargada de la fotografía ( que lo dudo)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is so tragic. Here in Venezuela, a long time ago it happened to an actress I know who accidentally killed another actor in a play. The actress almost went crazy. Then a movie inspired by the event was filmed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

quien fue esa actriz me interesa saber por favor

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eso paso en los 80s con Julie Restifo. La película que hicieron sobre el caso se llama Homicidio Culposo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ah gracias ya se para buscarla y verla saludos desde merida venezuela por cierto acabo de publicar mi primer articulo para esta red si le quieres echar un ojo https://read.cash/@emanuel78_/caracoles-en-su-tinta-0414e6f3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Inevitable not to think about Brandon Lee´s casuality. I think this was the most famous story so far. There are many things to clarify in this particular case, but unfortunately, Alec Baldwin must face the consequences, but not only him, the crew in charge of props too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh is Brandon Lee the son of Bruce Lee? Another incident of fire arms in the set, this is tragic, and someone should always be held accountable if life is at stake.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

New Mexico district attorney will likely bring criminal charges against Baldwin for negligent homicide, according to the New York Post. Perhaps this is payback for criticizing the NRA.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know if Mr. Alec Baldwin is solely responsible for this tragedy and if anyone has wanted to frame him. I understand that it is not very good to get involved with the NRA.

Thank you very much for your comment 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He is the Executive Producer of the film, so if any charges are brought, he will be the first. The young armorer may be charged as well. So, yeah, I never said he was solely responsible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am in the film business. You neglected to mention that the propmaster and other crew walked off the set due to safety issues - a very important factor.

Second, Baldwin was negligible. The first rule of gun safety on any set is to 1. never assume a gun does not have a live round no matter what anyone says; and 2. never, ever point a weapon at actors, crew or equipment.

Finally, you forgot to mention that Baldwin was practicing a cross draw when the preventable event occurred. Your post should have been entitled other than it was, because your focus was on Brandon Lee rather than Alec Baldwin. Nevertheless, I have you some coins for even bringing up the matter. Perhaps you should consider an edit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago
  1. never, ever point a weapon at actors, crew or equipment.

yes this this this this is that part I cannot imagine.. i keep simulating the story in my head and i cannot imagine a rehearsal missing this part.. huhu..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Baldwin is an egotistical blowhard. Working around these types is difficult. I'll never forget what he said to his daughter years ago. He is persona non grata in my eyes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A person who treats his little daughter like that, it's because he's a self-centered misogynistic jerk. I just read what he said to Ireland 😡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems to be he is reaping what he ha sowed. And while I do not know his heart insofar as his apology to the bereaved family, one thing that sticks in my mind is his history of belligerence and the fact that he is an actor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right, when I wrote Brandon came to mind, he is my inspiration. Thanks for your professional opinion

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I got to read that one about Alec Baldwin and I still find it unbelievable. If I am Baldwin I will have sleepless nights. and why was it aimed at the cinematographer?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alec Baldwin was practicing drawing the gun. You don't know any more than that, but I think with all the production problems they had. His job just didn't have the safety measures in place to use guns. It wasn't aimed at Hutchins, anybody could have gotten hurt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

practicing drawing a gun and pointing it to a person.... that is not quite a good practice. Drawing, aiming and pulling the trigger . .yikes...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a tragic ending to a nice character

$ 0.00
2 years ago