Writing Prompt #26: Sweet and Savory

15 64
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Topics: Prompt, Food, Sweet, Savory

I made bread last night so Keith would have something yummy to eat when he came home from work at 9:00 p.m. (20:00). I knew I would already be asleep.

He made a sandwich and this morning told me how good it tasted. I wasn't sure the bread would hold up to all the sandwich toppings like mayo and mustard, cheese, and lunch meat. The bread was very fluffy and soft. He said it held up just fine for his sandwich.

This morning I decided to make my own sandwich. I am craving unusual flavor combinations lately. No, I'm not pregnant!!!

I have quit smoking and want to eat all the things.

I'm craving both sweet and savory. At the same time.

In researching the exact definition of the word savory, I learned that it is the dish served last in a full course meal. It would be served after the sweet pudding or dessert dish. A savory is usually plain food, not sweet. It was used to "cleanse the palate" after a large meal.

A great example of sweet vs savory is pie.

I recently made a pizza pie.

Look at all that savory goodness! Tomato sauce, cheese, pepperoni, mushrooms, black olives, ham. It was extremely tasty!!!! So much so that the photo is making me hungry again and I've just eaten my breakfast sandwich.

This is also pie. It is a cherry pie I made a while back. The cherries were tart before I added all the sugar and thickening. Yep. Now I want that kind of pie, too.

But since I've been craving sweet and savory together, this morning I made a pretty unique sandwich.

There is an Italian bread spread brand, Nutella, that has become incredibly popular in the U.S. It is a chocolate, hazelnut spread. It's very sweet.

So, I started with my homemade bread and added some chocolate hazelnut spread.

I smeared it on both pieces of bread (which were actually one piece cut in half). On one half I put a piece of sharp cheddar cheese (the sharper, the better!).

And on the other side, I put thin slice turkey lunch meat. This meat is so processed it hardly looks like it came from a turkey, but it tastes pretty good and is relatively cheap.

I smooshed both slices of bread together and ended up with a sweet and savory breakfast sandwich.

It tasted really great. It was both sweet and savory. Some people are probably thinking, "Yuck! That looks so gross!"

What can I say? It is what I was craving. Who knows, maybe I am pregnant. (I'm not - it would be a physical impossibility.)

This entire process caused me to think of another writing prompt.

Sweet and Savory

I wonder if you can come up with other things in life that are sweet and/or savory. People, for example, are often called sweet-natured. What would a savory person be like?

Smokin hot? Super sexy?

Can you think of other things in life that can be called sweet? A sweet car? A sweet job? A sweet house? What about savory? A savory car? I've never heard savory used for inanimate objects or ideas. But, why not?

What can you come up with?

Or you can be boring, like me, and just write about food. I tend to prefer savory food to sweet most of the time. food like this chicken meal I prepared the other day.

MMMMMM. I still have some leftover potatoes and gravy. I bet I could eat that for my second breakfast.

Show me what you've got! If you would like to participate, please follow these simple rules:

  1. Join the Promptly Jonica community here

  2. Write anything about sweet and savory

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Write at least 600 words for Rusty to be happy

  5. Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

  6. Tag me, @JonicaBradley

  7. Have fun!

Don't forget to join and submit to the PromptlyJonica community. Also, please remember, there are no time limits on writing the PromptlyJonica prompts. You may write any of the prompts, any time, as many times as you like, forever.

Check them out here:https://read.cash/@JonicaBradley/the-promptlyjonica-writing-prompts-linked-in-order-5a576c94

Please be kind and read, thumbs up, comment, and tip the other writers in the community. Together we can change the world!

I can't wait to read what you've got.

All images mine or license-free from Unsplash

13
$ 3.85
$ 3.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @BCH_LOVER
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
+ 4
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Topics: Prompt, Food, Sweet, Savory

Comments

Yehey!! Another sweet tooic to write about! Thanks Jonica!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're very welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rather odd combination to fill bread with. But... whatever works.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was delicious!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are really a good baker❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am a better chef than a baker, but I do enjoy the time I spend in the kitchen. Cooking. But cleaning? Blech. I would love a little fairy to follow me around cleaning up my mess!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am drooling over your homemade sweets! I am gonna join this trend/prompt again hihi thankyouuu.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yay! Looking forward to it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes while I was reading about how you make your breakfast and saw the picture, it's indeed look gross hehe but of course need to try it so that I can have a good judgement.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There's just something about the chocolate spread with the sharp cheese and the lunch meat. It was good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm done eating and now preppin' to sleep then I read this hahah 😋😋😋 I like savory too more than sweets but sometimes my cravings betrayed me haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

These dang cravings!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It looks gross but I think the combination of sweet for nutella and salty of cheese will blend that makes it savory

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was pretty good. Especially in the homemade bread

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😋😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago