Writing Prompt #19: Laziness

41 194
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

My mother gave me a gift when I was 13. It was a sticker for my bedroom door.

(I had a lot of stickers on my door. I loved stickers then and love them still. I'll show you later in the article.)

Does anyone remember Garfield? Apparently they are selling this exact sticker on eBay and other sites as a vintage classic sticker from the 70s and 80s.

Geeze I feel old, now!

Anyway, my mother gifted me this sticker. My mother was famous for passive aggressively giving "back handed compliments".

For this who've never heard that phrase, a backhanded compliment is a compliment that disguises an insult.

One example of that (I cringe every time I think of this story) is my mother putting my report card on the refrigerator. You would think that would show how proud she was of me.

In reality, it was demonstrating to every person that walked into the kitchen that I was not good enough.

You see, I hated math. I never did my homework and I never applied myself in class. I usually received a failing grade.

In the USA, our grading system goes A = best, B = good, C = average, D = below average, and F = fail.

I have no idea what happened to E.

So, I guess, this particular grading cycle either I actually attempted to apply myself, or I copied enough of the homework, or my teacher felt pity for me. My grade was a D.

My mother made a huge deal of this. She pretended to be so excited that I hadn't failed. And she put the report in the middle of the refrigerator for all to see.

"How is this an insult?" you ask.

My parents were entertainers. Not that they were in a traveling show or circus folk. They entertained.

They had parties. A lot of parties.

My mother started her career as a nurse (because in those days and in her family women were either nurses, secretaries, or teachers - if they had a career at all - they weren't surgeons, which is what she really wanted to be) but she didn't like it. When I was little, she went back to school and became an attorney.

My step-father is a nuclear physicist (PhD) and was a professor at the local University.

The people they entertained were mostly academics. There may have been a linguist or two in the crowd, but mostly mathematicians.

I don't know about your parties, but at my parents' parties, everybody always ended up in the kitchen. Maybe because it was closer to the alcohol.

So, all these math geniuses and PhDs got to see my below average math grade on the refrigerator. And if they didn't notice it or comment on it, my mother was sure to point it out.

"We're so proud of Jonica. She didn't fail math this semester."

That's a backhanded compliment.

I think the Garfield sticker was the same. Like, here's a gift, but I'm really not giving you something nice, I'm telling you and the rest of the world you are lazy.

She would tell me I'm lazy in other ways, too. Usually by saying, "You're so lazy!"

My teachers called me lazy, too, because I was always daydreaming and living in my imagination. They knew I was smart, but I never applied myself.

Now, I'm a grown up and my career is writing. If I'm not sitting at the keyboard all day, typing away, I hear my mother's voice, "Jonica, you are so lazy. Why don't you do something productive?"

I hear that voice, but I'm also able to argue with it, now. Because even if it looks like I'm just sitting around, starting at my phone (I'm usually writing), or streaming online, or reading, or playing mobile games, I'm actually working.

So much of my work hours on in my brain before it goes on the page.

And when I'm actively typing or handwriting, I allow myself to let everything go. Including housework.

If you came to my house and saw all the clutter, piles of clean clothes needing to be put away, dishes needing to be washed, furniture needing to be dusted, you might also conclude I was lazy.

I never miss my animal chores, though sometimes (like right now) I may get caught up in writing and be late.

But all my other chores? Pffft. Who cares? Nobody published the next great American novel by doing dishes!

I know I'm not lazy, even if I hear my mother's voice in my head (or over the phone) twerking me I am.

How about you? Are you lazy? Have you been told you are lazy? What do you think of as lazy?

This week's prompt is laziness. Come join the fun!

Please keep in mind to

  1. Write anything on laziness

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  4. The longer your article is, the more likely you will get attention from Rusty. I suggest 600 words at a minimum.

  5. Submit to PromptlyJonica (please join if you haven't already)

  6. Have fun!

Feel free to invite others to come play. There are no time limits. You may submit to angry of the prompts at any time forever.

You can find all of the PromptlyJonica prompts linked and in order here. Feel free to check out and write on any of them.

Also, do check out read.cash newest prompt community Prompt Factory.

It's not the competition! It's just another part of the writing community.

My refrigerator sticker collection
My laptop cover sticker collection. The cat sticker I designed myself.

If you like the cat sticker, thank you, I designed it myself. If you are interested in other items I've designed, stickers, cards, coffee mugs, leggings, dresses, shower curtains, socks, and bath mats please check out my RedBubble store here.

Even if you don't buy anything, I would love for you to drop by, look and like some of my work. Follow me. Etc. Y'all know the drill!

Lead and first photo: Garfield sticker license free

42
$ 13.83
$ 12.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @JuanyChelme
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
+ 25
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

Hello today I joined your community and published my first article, I hope I have fulfilled the task. Now that I see this I also find it interesting. We mothers complain about how lazy our children are sometimes, because my girls, if you have to beg them to do things, but there are times when I start to think that I was once like them or even now I leave pending tasks to be done.

Now reading here in read.cash they give us so many ideas of how to formulate articles like these and I am leaving them, but if I am going to try to continue contributing something to this community, waiting for the support of the other members.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'll take a look. Thanks for joining, reading, and writing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know if it's appropriate to write this here but I will anyway, I have an active post for 19 hours and the PromptlyJonica community that has not yet been approved, please check and tell me if I broke a rule. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes. That is my mistake. I will absolutely go look, but I doubt you've broken a rule! I'm recovering and haven't been online lately. I'm not recovering from an illness, just from visitors.

Still. People are a huge energy suck.

I'll get right on this!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parents always treat us as lazy, especially mothers. But at least hers did it subtly, while my mother said it right to my face. Those stickers are beautiful 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have an idea about your prompt.. can I be lazy and do not write a post, does that count ??? 🤣🤣🤣🤣 .. please don't kick me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Suuure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ma'am every time I read your posts I feel a tangle of emotions, they are as deep as they are subtle.

I didn't know that way of manipulating compliments backwards or I am too naive to perceive double intentions. I apologize for what I am about to say but your mother is a cruel person, I don't think that was the way to motivate her.

Deep down I think she was afraid that you would surpass her as a professional because she knew her potential but she needed to feel superior, some parents are very selfish.

On another point, you gave me a good laugh with the letter E, what happened to her in the grading system.

I really like your writing and the dynamic too, I was doing it until I got to topic 4 or 5 I don't remember about the darkness, I feel held back but I will do it. I am afraid to express my own darkness and face it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

"Deep down I think she was afraid that you would surpass her as a professional because she knew her potential but she needed to feel superior, some parents are very selfish."

Yup.

I understand the inability to write about the difficult things. You don't have to write about anything that stresses you out.

I haven't written anything since Thursday.

My husband's parents are coming again, and that's always stressful for me.

If I push it and force myself to write, it would be shit anyway. So I'll give myself a break!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I'm the one who is in love with your stickers. Btw ,.if I did this at my refrigerator then my mother definitely scolded me hehe.

I definitely write this prompt soon insha'Allah.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's one of the nicest things about being a grown up living on your own. I bought the refrigerator (and the laptop) so I can do what I want!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not really lazy, I just feel tired sometimes, lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think mental exhaustion is the hardest to deal with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are not lazy. If so, you would not have written such a lengthy article in detail. In a way your mom sèems to be a great source of encouragement. As time flies, even laziness fades.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for saying I'm not lazy. My mom can be an encouragement but only because I choose it to be so. I could just as easily be completely discouraged if I allowed myself to believe her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never experience a backhanded compliment from my mkm because she doesn't care about my grades anyways as long as I pass hihi. Well, I usually do household chores before I use a cellphone. But my family seems to just see my lazy side and not the responsible one. Nice topic 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Most people are seen lazy and does not know how to manage their lives. They are not ready to work but ready to depend on people to survive. Writing online is not a form of laziness since you are making something out of it.

I'm not a lazy type but the one who loves doing things with hard-working. I never for once let myself down without involving into one thing or the other. I struggle hard to make what I want...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

At home, when they saw me always holding my phone, I'm already lazy. They didn't even noticed that I already cleaned the house. So yeah, maybe for them, using a phone is being lazy? LOL

It's been a while since I joined your prompt. I guess it's time to give my mind another exercise. Thanks to laziness, I'll have another topic. LOL

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't even get the connectiom between phone and laziness. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Usually people who doesn't know that we we're working while holding our phone has that impression “lazy” because we keep holding gadgets, they didn't know we let our brain works 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We cant deny the fact that sometimes we get too lazy for no reasons and i think it's okay as long as you will not make it as a hobby. Anyways, thanks for this article! 💕

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nahh.. You're not lazy... You are just too imaginative and often get lost in your imagined world... 😁😁😁. Here's my favorite quote from that big fat orange cat (what's his name?)... "Never do today, what you can always do, tomorrow!"

Lol!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Garfield

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol! He's my favorite cat. And his wierd partner Oddie ... Not a good influence.though. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cuando encuentro publicaciones en donde hacen referencia a la madre lo primero que hago es leerme totalmente la publicación y eso hice con la tuya déjame decirte que tu madre era una mujer muy sabia y hoy aprendí de ella eso de dar cumplidos al reves. Las madres siempre tienen algo bueno que enseñar a sus hijos y a los que no son sus hijos también. Dios te bendiga y gracias por hacer pública esas vivencias con tu madre que quizás cuando eras joven no los entendias o te molestaban pero ahora de adulto los haz de mirar de otra manera. Saludos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been told lazy many times and I can I say that there were times that I am too lazy to do my everyday routines. 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I guess your mother did not understand you, If you fail your math subject then, that's not a problem at all. We all have that kind of weakness, but it doesn't mean that we are failures at all. But, maybe your mother believes that you can make it higher if you could only pursue that subject or take it seriously, or maybe she knows that you are intelligent like her she only wants you to stop being lazy Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Great topic and thanks for posting these prompts. It is a subject I know a lot about but am to lazy to explain why! Maybe I will set it out in an article, if I can motivate myself from lazing about. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, this is perfect.. to describe me! I can be lazy sometimes, I am an expert in this field. 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I feel lazy most time especially when I am on holiday from school. I will end up not going anywhere, just waking up and eating and sleep😅 my mom will talk and talk but I can't help it than to be lazy while I am at home.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think this promt will suit me, coz I'm really to lazy to explain. I'm pretty much sure that I'm going to have fun..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Another prompt to begin the brain to grind. Thank you for this madam, I hope I can make a good article out of this ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wish I had time to be lazy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for the prompt big sis, I love Garfield and wow, you got lots of stickers!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I do!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wish I can have some teehee :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice.. A new prompt again..I'm lazy when I tired and exhausted

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't think that's called laziness. I think it's called tiredness and exhaustion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

first time encountered with "back handed compliment" word. But based on your description, is it like a reverse psychology thingy...

Thanks for this another writing prompt idea!.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can't wait to read yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago