W.H.I.P.P. Using This Method Will Improve Your Writing. Guaranteed!

8 135
Avatar for JonicaBradley
3 years ago

W.h.i.p.p. out some great content with these 5 writing habits.

Every writer has tips, tricks, and techniques they use to write better. I can’t think of a single successful writer who believes their writing is as good as it ever will be. We are all honig our craft with every word we write.

I’ve been writing my entire life. My writing, like a fine wine, improves with age. Still, I am nowhere near as good or as confident as I need to be. I may write fantastic stuff nine out of ten times. That tenth will make me cringe every time. It would be easy to give up. It would be easy to give in to that little voice that tells me I’m a crap writer, and why bother trying at all. I don’t give in. I don’t give up.

Instead, I came up with this acronym that defines my writing method. It helps. Maybe it will help you, too.

W.H.I.P.P.

  1. Write

  2. Hone

  3. Itemize

  4. Pace

  5. Patience

1. Write

Write seems pretty self-evident.

If you want to be a great writer, you must actually write.

Writing isn’t just about putting words on a page. There is, of course, the act of writing. There is also the business of writing.

We all know what the act of writing is.

The act of writing is putting words on a page. By hand in a notebook, on a typewriter, or on a computer.

I write by hand and on a computer. I journal. I free-write. I make outlines. I type up articles as they come to me and edit them in Google Docs. I compose poetry, personal essays, and issue theme challenge prompts. I write lengthy posts on social media. And I'm always, always writing (composing) in my head. I'm also writning the first draft of a psychological suspence thriller. All of these activities count as writing!

So, what is the business of writing, exactly?

The business of writing is anything to do with writing but isn't the physical act of writing itself.

Most writers agree that in order to write well one must read a lot. I absolutely agree with this thought. Reading a lot will naturally expose you to the art of story telling, the flow of language, spelling and grammar usage, as well as stimulate your inagination. It doesn't matter if you are reading for pleasure, work, or eduacation. Reading is one aspect of the business of writing.

Researching a subject is a key component to writing well. I've mentioned in other articles how important it is to really know your subject matter. Readers can always tell if you are "talking out of your hat." If you don't have a firm grasp of your subject matter, you won't be able to write (well) on that subject. Not everyone knows everything about which they want to write. I don't know about serial killing cyber stalkers, but I'm writing a book about one. How can I make the book feel authenic? I do my research. Research is another aspect of the business of writing.

Organizing your thoughts and research makes writing them down much easier. There are many different ways to organize. You can start with a simple bullet point outline or you can have a physical accordion folder of all your research catalogued by author. You can have computer files with documents in them or use a notepad (physical or cyber). Some people spend a lot of money on fancy programs such as Scrivner. Some people open the windows on their computer screen in a certain order. Each individual has their own system and my system may not work for you nor yours for me. The importand thing is to get organized. Getting organizized is a key aspect of the business of writing.

Creating an atmosphere conducive to writing is super important. I have discovered I do not write well when I'm too cold, too tired, have to pee, someone is in the same room, or I hear noise - including music. Some people write well in coffeeshops or other public places surrounded by the hustle and bustle of a crowd. Others blast music while they write.

My writing atmosphere is in an ambient temperature, after using the bathroom, in silence, where I am alone (either in my bedroom when people are home or in my recliner when people are not). And I've gone a few steps further.

In my bedroom, for example, I have a writing table. On the table are pens, notebooks, a plant, some water, an accordion folder where I keep my handwritten ideas/compositions, and my laptop. I have the curtains open on the windows so I can have some natural light, and have the airconditioner going in the summer. I have my phone, set to silent, next to me to act as a timer for timed writing exercises and as an alarm so I know when it is time to do my chores (like milk the goat).

All of this creates the perfect atmosphere for productive writing. Creating a writing atmosphere is another aspect of the business of writing.

Writing is a solitary business for the most part. However, artists of all kinds, writers included, need community. Whether it is an online community or an in person get-together, surrounding yourself with other writers is super important, too. For the most part, only writers understand other writers. Some of my family members have, at one time or another, suggested what I do isn't a real job. They think I should go out into the workforce to be a productive member of society. When I'm face with naysayers or even those who just don't understand, I can turn to my fellow writers for advice, laughs, and commiseration. Taking part in a community is also an aspect of the business of writing.

In my quest to be the best writer I can be, I don't just write. I read. I do research. I get organized. I create a writing atmosphere. I find community by surrounding myself with other writers, artists, and intellectuals. In short, I take care of the business of writing.

Photo by David Ballew on UnsplashHone

2. Hone

Hone means to sharpen, to improve upon.

A dull sword won't cut no matter how experienced the swordsman. Warrior must constantly sharpen their blades or risk a poor outcome in battle. Writers must constantly sharpen their skills as well as their content.

The most skilled writers are constantly learning and improving. Not only do they continue to sharpen their writing skill, they also hone their content by editing, revising, tightening, and rewriting.

Like a skilled swordsman a skilled writer must hone their skills by practicing what they already know, but also by learning new skills. A skilled swordsman spars with other, more skilled swordsmen and learns even when defeated. A lost match might be the greater teacher.

I hone my craft not only by practicing my writing but by reading other’s great writing. I read crap writing and learn from it. I educate myself. I take classes, subscribe to email lists, and read how-to articles. I write crap stories, articles, and poems and learn from them. I listen to other, better, more experienced writers.

I practice. I write daily, twice a day. I don’t think a successful writer necessarily needs to write every day. When you write often, however, you are giving yourself more opportunities to hone your craft, feel more confident, and become a better (more successful) writer.

3. Itemize

Itemize means to list.

Life is a set of circumstances of which some circumstances are more pressing or more important than others.

If left to my own devices I would write to the exclusion of all else. Sounds like a good thing for a writer doesn’t it? It’s not. Not when I neglect my emotional or physical wellbeing. Not when I don’t eat or pee or do household chores. Not when I neglect my family or my animals. Not when I don’t have a good work/life balance.

Writers are people, too. We have families and careers. We have physical and emotional needs. We have social obligations. We all have to eat, sleep, and clean up our messes. For some of us, income is our first priority, for others it is creativity. Some of our priorities seem equal in importance.

So, I have itemized a list of my priorities.

  1. Physical/emotional wellbeing

  2. Family

  3. Livestock

  4. Writing

    1. Arting

  5. Housework

Notice writing and making art are prioritized as of equal importance. But since I earn more money writing than making art, I've put the writing above the art while keeping it the same number item.

This itemized list informs my schedule and daily writing assignments. I schedule writing times, breaks, chores, family time, and free time. I try to use the schedule as a guide.

I probably won’t die if I go off schedule. It really helps my work/life balance. Itemizing my priorities helps me to be a better writer, a better wife and mother, and a more confident person in general.

Photo by Veri Ivanova on Unsplash

4. Pace

Pace is a rate of movement or activity.

Great athletes pace themselves and train at a steady rate or risk injury.

Writers must learn to pace themselves or risk burnout and, worse, writer's block. When writers push, push, push themselves to write more and more content and pump out more and more stories, articles, or books in a shorter amount of time we often burn out and become unable to write at all. The drive for more conent and more reward leads us to a wall over which we just can't climb.

Burnout and writer's block are horrible, to be sure. But what happens to the quality of writing when the priority has become quanity? Quality suffers. Some writers will tell you not too worry too much about quality and to focus more on quantity. I disagree. I don't care how many articles you write, if they suck you won't be successful. You won't be rewarded. You'll just be a little hamster running and running, faster and faster on its little wheel going nowhere. And eventually, little hamster, you'll burn out and fall off your little wheel.

Pace is a tough one for me. I turn into a twelve-year-old boy, sometimes, convinced that more is more and faster is better. I start to anxiously feel the need for instant gratification or for a bigger and better paycheck. Other times, I’m eager for that dopamine hit I get whenever someone likes my writing. I want a hit, I write a piece. I want another hit, I write another piece. And again.

Until it’s 6:30 pm and I’ve forgotten or burned dinner. Until I’m so burnt out I have to take a few days (or weeks) off, miss deadlines, and lose clients. Until I submit a crap poem or blog post and want to take it back. I must remember to pace myself. Slow down. Achieve quality rather than quantity, avoid burnout and writer's block by pacing yourself.

Slow and steady wins the race!

Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

5. Patience

Patience is the ability to wait or tolerate something without becoming angry or upset.

A good parent has patience with their children. Patient parents do not become angry with their child as it grows, learns, makes mistakes, and even fails.

A great chef has patience with the cooking meal, knowing it takes time for food to be safe to eat, for flavors to come out, for water to boil.

A successful writer has patience with themselves and the process of writing, editing, revising, submitting or querying, getting published, and raking in the millions.

Patience is the very most important part of the writing process. It takes patience to get through the business of writing. It takes patience to hone one's craft, and patience to discover and prioritize life's demands. It takes patience to learn the most ideal pace of the writing and rewards process. It takes patience to create high qualitiy content. I have to have patience with the process. It sometimes takes more work to be patient than the work itself.

Patience is the best gift one can give or receive. Patience is kindness, love, forgiveness, and tolerance.

Patience is the foundation of excellence.

W.H.I.P.P.

So, WHIPP out your best writing by using this method. I guarantee your writing will improve exponentially when you follow the 5 simple steps.

  1. Write

  2. Hone

  3. Itemize

  4. Pace

  5. Patience

Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty

Did you find any of this advice helpful? Can you relate to it? Do you think it is trash and I should shut my big mouth?

If you have an opinion, let me know in the comments below.

Have you tried the WHIPP? How did it turn out?

Comment below!

Need more inspiration? Listen to Devo - Whip it!

9
$ 13.10
$ 12.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @eve
+ 1
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
3 years ago

Comments

Great Advice! Thank you for sharing these effective tips to Improve Your Writing by using this method. I hope so many people are benefited to learn this writing concept. As a student I have also passionate about writing, Sometimes I visited this website https://graduateway.com/essay-examples/a-modest-proposal/ to get inspiration to write a modest proposal and academic essay on various topics. So I hope this writing technique will be useful to enhance my writing quality. Much appreciated the author. Keep up sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know where i should find legend and my type people but most of them are here. You wrote very well. My writing skill are good but after reading your article it gave me more motivation and knowledge. You nicely describe the WHIPP. When i had looked at this word i was thinking this is kind of a company but after reading articles i realized this was very beneficial to me Ia m waiting for next hurry up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

a combination of the song in writing a good article is so amazing thank you for your advice.I had learned so much in this article

$ 0.00
User's avatar eve
3 years ago

You're style is very interesting! Thank you for these tips, W.H.I.P.P.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gotta WHIPP out those good stories and articles. And WHIPP 'em good!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for this insight! I really learned a lot, especially in not being patient and just wanting to write and write without even thinking if I’m writing quality contents.

Thank you! 😊 Have a great day! 🌤

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Impatience is probably my biggest character flaw. I've always needed instant gratification. I mean, not NEEDED. Just wanted real hard! LOL. Thanks for reading. I hope some of it helps.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your technique is just wonderful. I am not so much good writer that's why I don't have any strategy. I will work out on your strategy next writing.

$ 0.01
3 years ago