Road Trip - A Photo Journal Post

12 87
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

May of 2010 I took a trip to see my then ex-husband in the Texas Panhandle. It had been 17 years since our separation.

I arranged for a neighbor to watch all of my animals. I would eventually have to rehome most of them. The saddest for me was rehoming my cats.

I had 4 cats. Their names were: Benjamin Buttons (the gray kitty - male), Bozeman (a black kitty - male), Independence (black shorter hair - female), and Sister Grabby Long Claws (black long hair - female.

Benjamin Buttons

While I was on my trip, Independence got mauled by a dog and I had her put down. I was so sad. I was also pretty upset with the neighbor, who obviously wasn't doing a good job.

Sister Grabby Long Claws got herself pregnant and had a kitten. I named the kitten Phantom. She was a tortoiseshell calico and half of her face was black the other half orange. She reminded me of the Phantom of the Opera.

Independence on the left and Sister Grabby Long Claws on the right. I could tell them apart because Independence had a smoother face and somewhat shorter fur. Sister Grabby Long Claws had very fuzzy furry cheeks.

Bozeman and Benjamin went to friends of mine.

After I decided to move to Texas permanently, I was able to bring Sister Grabby Long Claws and Phantom to my mom's house. And when I sold my house in California and packed up my stuff, I brought Sister Grabby Long Claws with me. She meowed the entire trip. We drove straight through, my mom and I, so we didn't have to get a room with a loud meowing cat.

Sister Grabby Long Claws lived with us for several years, until she got an upper respiratory infection and I put her down. I still miss her.

Back to my first road trip. I stopped a few times to stretch my legs but mostly drove the entire way without stopping but to get gas and go pee. I really liked New Mexico. I had never heard of Albuquerque other than in the Warner Brothers cartoon. Bugs Bunny was always getting last and always said, "I should have taken a left at Albuquerque!"

On this trip, I was able to get out and stretch my legs in Bugs Bunny's famous town. I discovered something pretty exciting.

Volcanic rock.

Volcanic rock in Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Though I didn't visit it, I learned of the Albuquerque Volcanic field. Along with lava flows the field also has 6 named volcanos.

I snapped this photo because I was tickled that weeds could still find a way to grow even out of volcanic rock. It spoke to me of the tenacity of nature. Tenacity and stubbornness.

I grabbed a rock, about the size of my head and put it in the trunk of my car.

My car is a little bit funny. I bought it because it was the only used stick shift I could find. It was a Dodge Neon. But it was black. I don't think there is such a thing as neon black. Not like neon pink or neon green. I mean, I know and you know neon is a gas and really doesn't have anything to do with colors, but apparently, people naming colors don't know that. I just always thought it was funny to be driving a black neon.

My little black Dodge Neon

When I got to the ranch, Keith was trying to figure out if an old water tank of his grandfather's could still be used. It had some holes in it, but he wanted to try to repair it.

Keith trying to keep his hat from blowing away. I guess it is windier outside of a water tank than inside.

I loved Keith's dog, Hank. He was sweet and kind and friendly. But he was hard to photgraph. He was always moving and wiggling around.

Hank

On the second to last day of my visit, we just relaxed and drank beer and barbequed some sausages. Keith was so sad to see me go. I knew if I didn't go home when I said I would, I would never go home.

Keith relaxing with a cold Corona

I'm glad I went home when I did. It gave Keith a chance to miss me. Remember, I had wanted him back for a long, long time.

Keith did, in fact, miss me. And I'm so happy he did.

There are more photos of the start of my Adventures with Keith. I'll show them to you next time! See you then.

16
$ 10.75
$ 10.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Belozoriana
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 11
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

Your articles are just full of love these days, and I am sooo in it! Keith and Jonica forever ❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Seems like a little fun adventure. I remember back in the day I had a 1996 Geo Metro 5-speed stick shift, and as small as it was, I really did have fun with that little car. Of course, these days it's all trucks for me. But even the road trips I took in that little Geo were a lot of fun.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Cats are so vain!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice that there is someone to leave their animals, and here I can not mine (of the neighbors no one knows how to milk goats) Very interesting you have a trip (yes nature is strong and beautiful) I just can not understand:Why did you need this boulder?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't know why I wanted the rock. I just wanted it.

Here in Texas, I have a friend who can milk my goat if I am unable.

Wish I lived closer to you. I would gladly come milk your goat!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Good famale, you made me smile. I know that farming is hard and not everyone dares to do it! Keep writing, I am interested in reading you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Two more articles (maybe 3) coming up.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The cats are really cute and also the dog. My dogs moves a lot also when I take photos of them. But my cats really love taking a picture hihihi.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nice memory. I really like your cats, and also hanks what a cute name.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There's a children's book here called Hank the Cow Dog all about the adventures of a dog named Hank.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice to remember the stories of the trips. Those kittens are furry and beautiful. We always leave behind pets that didn't make it. It's sad. Looking forward to the next trip.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Coming up shortly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago