Praying to The Unicorns

14 54
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

I wrote this about a very real time in my life. I was suicidal. It lasted for years. This poem perfectly describes the desperation and fear I felt. Please read it with caution as it may trigger some strong emotions.

It may take the shape of poetry

Praying to the Unicorns? No. Not praying.

Begging.

Pleading.

Wailing.

Unicorns are as real as Gods and sons of Gods when

your wrists are slit open. When

you are bleeding out. When

there was no other option, no other person, no other thought, feeling, emotion.

Only desperation.

Praying to the Unicorns makes as much sense as accepted nonsense, water to wine, bread and fishes, invisible power listening, caring, allowing pain and

suffering

no proof of existence.

Unicorns are as real as Gods and sons of Gods when

you are crawling or curled. When

your body spasms. When

your thoughts hurt. When

there is only one emotion, one feeling,

never ending pain.

Begging

the Unicorns to make it stop.

Pleading

for release, for relief.

Wailing

and railing, raving and ranting until

the pills, all the pills

finally kick in and you start to fade.

The Unicorns disappear as quickly as Gods and sons of Gods when

Your wrist is gripped tight, so tight

in the back of the ambulance. So tight

you cannot peel back those latex fingers, though you try. So tight

freedom slips away as you drift, waking handcuffed

to a hospital bed. Your only crime not being

heard, not being

granted mercy, relief, freedom, sweet death, an end

to the pain.

The Unicorns disappear as quickly as Gods and sons of Gods when

you wake up in four point restraints, puking and shitting, when

punishing eyes follow your every move and the Unicorns and Gods are replaced

with anger and accusation. When

no praying is left.

My life has been saved

so many times, forced

upon

my unwilling heart. Pounded

into

onto

my already tender soul until

Iโ€™ve grown old.

Desperation faded.

Shamed child soothed

not by magic but

by her adult self.

Not by Unicorns or

Gods or sons of Gods.

Desperate pain granted

mercy, given

freedom, tamed

by myself and love.

No more begging.

No more pleading.

No more wailing.

No more slit wrists, overdose.

No more handcuffs, four point restraints.

No more gripping tight so tight.

No more punishing eyes, accusations.

Replaced by joy and love and boredom and pride, yes

pride, and every thought, every feeling except The One.

No more desperation.

No more Gods and sons of Gods.

No need.

The Unicorns can stay. Every once in a while, Iโ€™ll pray.

It may take the shape of poetry.

****************************************************************

This poem first appeared here

Lead image: Photo by Emiliano Vittoriosi on Unsplash

17
$ 3.84
$ 2.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @fantagira
$ 0.20 from @Idksamad7869
+ 8
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

I've never been there, but I have a close friend that did. Those are strong emotions to deal with. I'm glad you are no longer there. Hugs!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It feels paradoxical to read about unicorns but in a really sad, depressed ambience like this. Knowing it also is based on a true life's story hits harder. Much love to you and I hope that you are doing better now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can feel the pain though. Not saying I've been there done that but it felt like I was one with the poem๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Been there and done that. It's a sad memory that I have forgiven myself. Though sad but beautifully composed... Hugs**

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm glad you've forgiven yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A great poem, I have never experienced this , but know so many who have, and you captured the essence of what they said.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Real life can do that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This brought me back to those dark days. I felt these emotions. I'm glad we're out of that now and into the light.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow, that is touching, pray where you look desperate to seeing God eyeball to eyeball. Thank God he answered you and save you out of the situation.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I understand. Iโ€™ve been there many times. Never took the actual step, as there is always someone to pull me out of it. Sometimes itโ€™s an adult me or a curious me. Where does it all go I wonder.

Lots of love for you Jonica. I knew we connected in more than one way ๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’™

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you. I'm glad they're had always been some you too pull you out of it. I'm find of each of you. Although I kind of think Donkey is my favorite.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Donkey is stubborn as f*** but also sweet and charming at times ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss my donkeys!

$ 0.00
2 years ago