Calling all Filipinos and Filipinos. I'm wondering if there is a funeral tradition I can include in our funeral service here. Mom (not my birth mother) was born in Manila and loved there until she was 5 years old. She was very Christian as are her siblings. It would be nice to include a little something from her home country. Do any of you have thoughts or ideas about this? If so, please let me know and I will try to make it fit in the service.

6
$
User's avatar
@JonicaBradley posted 2 years ago

Comments

During burial, the coffin is raised and one by one the relatives pass under the coffin and move forward without looking back. Once every one has passed under the coffin that is the time the coffin will be placed in the hearse going to church or cemetery.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's beautiful. Is there a meaning to the tradition? Like, the relatives can't look back otherwise the spirit will be drawn to stay behind?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A prayer and a visit to the grave 9 days after the burial is part of the Filipino tradition. I am sorry for your loss dear big sis. And for a Filipino funeral service, I think it would be singing some Christian songs and sharing how she lived her life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We'll be doing that. Her sister, Judith (Aunt Judy) was giving me some great memories. She remembers in the Philippines, she swab in the ocean almost every day. They had a 500 pound sow who would have 13 to 15 piglets. But the Japanese army took all the piglets to feed its soldiers. Their dad keept cocks for fighting. And the winner of the fight would get to keep the loser's rooster to eat. Apparently their Dad had a tendency to win. So they are chicken every week.

The Japanese rounded up all the men and boys on the island and shot them.

Their dad was shot right in front of them.

I don't think that last part is appropriate for a funeral. But I'm getting a lot of good information from aunt Judy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry about that big sis. Yeah, when the Japanese colonized the Philippines, men were shot, women were raped. Some even marched to their deaths. May their souls rest in peace. Whatever you think is best, no worries.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In Filipino culture, on 40 days after it's burials we must pay prayer and visit to graveyard. They said that soul will now reach its destination on 40 days, and need lights that is candle. I think there was nothing wrong if you could give that too. My Condolences.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. I appreciate the condolences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello there. I found an article that might help you.

https://factsanddetails.com/southeast-asia/Philippines/sub5_6c/entry-3864.html

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This was perfect! Thank you. She's not Catholic. But this helps a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I see. I am so sorry. For Christian Funerals, usually we do have Hymns and verses, not for the dead but for comfort for the people around. During the burial, usually we have a funeral service before the committal. Before the coffin is closed, the family is given time to view..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We're going to have a viewing, briefly, just for family the day before. Because of Covid the cemetery is really limiting things. We WILL be able to have a service in the chapel and the drive out to the burial.

$ 0.00
2 years ago