Mushroom Magic

15 64
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Can you see them?

Those tiny little new growths are called pins. This means our mycelium which had been growing in substrate is ready for the fruiting chamber!

We started by sterilizing grains of corn in quart sized bottles. Next we injected mushroom spore into the jars and have them a good shake. We put the jars in boxes and waited for the spores to colonize the corn.

Jar of sterilized popcorn 1 week after injecting the spores.

We kept track of our mycelium growth in the jars of corn.

But we also had some colonized grain ready to go into substrate, a mixture of wood pellets and soil, which we also sterilized and hydrated with boiling water. We added the colonized corn to the substrate. We did 3 containers. 2 had the same spore and the 3rd had a different one.

Mycelium on corn in substrate.
3 containers of mycelium in a bigger container.

We put all the containers, with their lids on, into a larger container with a lid on it. It's important to keep things as sterile as possible so the spores we want to grow don't get contaminated with things we don't want to grow.

We wore gloves and used isopropyl alcohol in a spray bottle very generously.

This is turning into a nice brick.

When the entire container is white with mycelium, it is removed from the colonizing bin into a fruiting bin.

Substrate turning into a brick.

Once the completely white, colonized containers are ready for fruiting, they go in the fruiting bin with their lids off.

Once the mushrooms start growing you know it's time to pick them when the little frill along the stem that looks like a skirt or a flat tutu starts to open.

Before harvesting every single mushroom, though, we let some continue to grow. Once they are mature, we can harvest spores from the bottom of the caps.

We haven't yet harvested any, but we are going to have a LOT of mushrooms from what we have growing now.

Each brick can be harvested several times before it is finished fruiting and dried out. Even after the brick is dry, you could get a couple more harvests if you rehydrate it. Just set it in a pan of water overnight!

It's getting bigger!

We have four strains in total growing. Two strains are in the jars with the corn and the other two strains in the containers with the substrate.

I really enjoy watching how tenacious these little spores are and how quickly they propagate.

It's ready!

This one is ready to be put in substrate. We've just put several jars of corn into little containers inside substrate, but a few of the jars are a bit slow to get going. I assume this is because they are a different strain, but I'm not an expert.

I'm looking forward to growing many more toes of mushroom for gourmet and medicinal purposes.

My all time favorite mushroom is one I foraged for when I was a little girl. We lived in Hamburg and there was a forest just a few feet from our house. My step-father and I wandered all around moving leaves from the base of the trees until we found bright yellow mushrooms.

They are called chanterelle mushrooms. They are yellow, orange, or white and grow in the shape of an oyster. They smell like woodsy apricots and are just a little peppery.

Chanterelles were the only kind of mushroom I would eat for years! Until I was well into my 20s I thought all other mushrooms were just gross. It probably didn't help that my mother sometimes served mushrooms in a snail shell.

At one point, there were snails in the shells. My mom saved the shells after cooking the escargot, and would put mushrooms inside them.

Eeeewwwwwwwwww.

As an adult, however, I have learned to love all kinds of mushrooms. I really want to grow my own chanterelles, but finding the exact right spot and the exact type of log are proving more expensive than I had hoped.

I'd also love to grow other toes of oyster mushrooms. And shiitake, lion's mane, turkey tails and more.

I'm trying to eat less meat, so I would love to have different flavor mushrooms with which to make "burgers".

What's your favorite mushroom?

🍄🍄🍄🍄🍄🍄🍄🍄🍄🍄🍄🍄🍄🍄🍄🍄🍄🍄

Lead and first image by author: tiny pins fruiting from a mushroom "brick"

11
$ 4.03
$ 3.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @JTatlow
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
+ 3
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

I love mushrooms too, but rarely get past just the basic white ones and portabellas commonly found it stores. But I do also like shitaki mushrooms. I never have thought to grow my own, but I bet you get quite the harvest, and considering mushrooms are a bit expensive, this probably saves a ton of money as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We've got yellow and pink oysters coming and some lion's mane. I'm so excited!! Even more so because I paid for them with crypto.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Almost makes them free. Almost. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a lot of patience in describing the growth of mushrooms from start to producing fruit. Step by step process of the pics are also gud

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I eat button mushrooms :D I like them on the pizza. You are like the American Li Ziqi sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Li Ziqi

I take that as an incredible compliment!! Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They say, "Every mushroom is edible at least once."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We also cultivate mushrooms sometimes from rice stalks after harvest or hays. We just spread salt to the hays and let it be in a week or so. Then, it just propagating itself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wonder what the salt is for.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No idea, either. I just saw my elders doing that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also into mushrooms. However, I do not intend to produce at home. I am currently doing research on mushroom species. Which are poisonous and which are edible? I am researching this issue. When my research is finished, I plan to collect mushrooms in nature.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Be very careful. Edible mushrooms and toxic mushrooms can look very similar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I kept asking myself if mushroom grown like this can be eaten as I read through this post, you know, I used to think those mushroom would be poisonous. I still think so anyways. Mushroom can make a very good okro soup for an average africa man like me. They have a lot of fibre and can improve our health and diet.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Please give me the recipe for okro soup!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A very interesting mushroom cultivation. Last time I watched a video about the cultivation of cultivated mushrooms. The room was very interesting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago