May of 2010 - A Photo Journal Post

18 144
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

I had somewhat of an epiphany the other day. I was scrolling through all the photos I have saved to the cloud looking for excellent pictures of food I could use for my Food prompt.

I have thousands of photos there in the cloud. Thousands. As I scrolled through the past 11 years, I laughed and smiled and felt sad. The memories of each moment and the moments surrounding the photos were vivid. Memories of events that, though I hadn't completely forgotten, have faded a bit with time.

It occurred to me that each photo, even the most unflattering, has a story to tell. I was pleasantly surprised at how many people liked the story of Jonica and Keith and the positive feedback I always get from biographical personal essays.

Each photo contains a story. I have thousands of photos. What if I started at the very beginning (of my photos stored in the cloud) and wrote a story about each photo? I have thousands of stories just waiting to be published.

Because I have so many photos, I don't think I need to publish a story for each one. But I can publish a story with several photos in it.

I am going to give this a try. Want to join me? If it proves popular, I could start another community. Maybe I should have a contest for the name of the community. Hmmmm.

That's another article . . .

So, here goes:

May 18, 2010. My first visit to the ranch after a couple of weeks of day-long phone calls with Keith.

I had tried to dye my hair red. Not orange like Carrot Top, but red. Brick red. I didn't use bleach prior to applying the dye, so my hair turned out more purple than red. I kind of liked it. I was nervous because Keith knew me as a natural blonde. And he always liked my hair.

My hair was only one small item on the list of items about which I was nervous. I hadn't seen Keith since our eldest daughter graduated from High School though we had very brief conversations on the phone. I cherished those brief phone conversations even though I wanted more. I cherished them because Keith had, rightfully, been giving me the silent treatment for around 15 years.

I didn't blame him. I had broken, no, I had shattered his heart.

Our daughter's graduation from high school was the first conversation he and I had had since years before the divorce. And I nipped any potential relationship in the bud when he told me he was working hard to make his marriage work. I stepped back from my own desire to get back together while silently rejoicing the fact he had to work hard on his marriage. That meant there was trouble there.

I have never been the kind of woman who is attracted to people who are in committed relationships. I know a bunch of women are like that. They only seem to want a person if that person is unavailable. Not me.

No matter how badly I wanted Keith back in 2006, I wasn't going to be that person.

When, a few years later, I got a hold of Keith instead of Kara, and he and I talked and talked and talked, my desire to get back together hit me again. Hit me like a mac truck or a wrecking ball. Knocked me right off my feet.

Chantecleer, my rooster who wandered into my backyard one day and made himself at home.

While Keith and I talked on the phone, between running back inside to charge my phone every few hours, I would be out in my backyard pulling weeds and playing with my chickens.

My two favorite chickens were Chantecleer and Flower.

My beautiful flower

Keith and I started talking in April of 2010. By May, I knew I wanted to take a trip to see him. I decided to not pay most of my bills, and use the money to take a road trip to Texas. The route I took was 1,144 miles (1841 km) and was supposed to take 16.5 hours. I made it in 13 hours, but I drove pretty fast. Like, really fast.

I was too nervous to drive slowly. It was also very hot and my air conditioner in the car didn't work well. I drove with the windows down.

When I finally got to Keith's city, and saw him for the first time in a few years, knowing we might have a chance at a life together again, every bit of nervousness went away. It was like putting on a pair of soft, familiar socks. Warm, and gentle.

I had arranged for my neighbors to watch my chickens and cats for 1 week. So, in 7 days I drove home. Keith later told me that he and his dog sat on the front porch watching every pair of headlights, hoping it was me coming back.

It was another few weeks before I made my second trip, this time to bring Keith to California to see if he wanted to move there with me.

He decidedly did NOT want to live in California.

I sold my house and moved to Texas to live permanently.

Our adventures began there.

Stay tuned for more photo journal posts

13
$ 7.30
$ 6.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @soyunasantacruz
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 10
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

You can tell the age of the photo by the cell phone she was using, she likes luxuries haha just kidding. I was left wanting to know more of the story, I guess if I kept visiting more often I would know.

I love the idea of a new community about photos, one because I really like to see the photos and their stories, also because I feel that photos help me to fix in my memory special moments. If you create it I will gladly join.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I have to check my photos in the cloud too, it may not be thousands but I have a lot of stories to tell about them. Thanks for this post.

By the way I maybe featuring the same white chicken I have had. It was huge that it punished the cockfighting chicken of my neighbor. The owner was agitated and wanted to kill my chicken.(laughs).

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am looking forward to your photos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I'm glad it punished the neighbor's chicken. I suspect my rooster (different post) was a fighter. He was a sweetheart, though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a beautiful love story ma'am.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wish I had a long and straight hair like yours. Anyway, in my opinion, you looked really beautiful in the photo. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awwww. Thank you. My hair is a blessing and a curse. It tangles so easily. When it is short, it is a little curly, but not much.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Quite similar to mine, except I would add a bit frizzy and hard to manage sometimes. 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The frizz is strong with this one! Yes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the story and your chicken as well hihi. Anyways, just wnat to extend my deepest gratitude for your spomsorship renewal.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mam you're a big aspiration of all teenagers. Well, even at this age you've had great spirits.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Love the story and yeah, it's a pretty good idea.

By the way, my heartfelt appreciation for renewing your sponsorship! Thanks for the continued support.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a wonderful story maam .. Waiting for more from you. Keep writing and sharing maam. You are such a great writer tho. God bless you maam. By the way, those two roosters are adorable. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Your patience really paid of ma'am. Looking forward to more stories.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Looking forward to your stories👋

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I admire you maam for raising a rooster❤️Its a pretty unique pet for girls.Have a nice day to you.😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago