It's Been a While

20 56
Avatar for JonicaBradley
1 year ago

It feels like it's been forever since I've written anything. I know it's really not been that long. It just seems like it.

I seem to be in a weird limbo between living in Texas and living in New York. I have to keep dealing with the utilities companies in New York while living here in Texas.

I've gotten health insurance in New York, but haven't yet found the doctors I'm going to need.

I'm still packing. I try to pack at least one box a day.

We're leaving in 6 weeks. 6 weeks! It seems so short a time, but it also seems to be forever.

I'm still not smoking which is very good. I'm gaining weight which is less good. I'm still exercising every chance I get, and have been focusing on that more than on the move. My therapist, who is also a licensed nutritionist and fitness coach, told me she thinks anticipatory stress is the worst kind of stress for a diet. The anticipation, in my case, of the move, feels like a hole that needs to be filled. Food seems like a good thing to fill that hole.

I've learned that is hunger isn't the question, food is not the answer. I know this in theory, but to our it into practice is difficult.

Personal pan pizza

I've started making these little personal pan pizzas. I could eat a large pizza if I let myself. I've been craving pizza lately. These little ones seen to beat good solution to my problem. They are portion controlled and not too expensive.

I buy them frozen. They come in a box of 2. I add turkey pepperoni, baby portobello mushrooms, black olives, and mozzarella cheese.

I have been trying to reward myself for exercising with a pizza for lunch. I think I might get some fresh spinach to add on top as well.

Uh oh! The electricity just went out at my house. I'm sitting here in the dark at 4 o'clock in the morning! It keeps trying to come back on, the kitchen light will flash and the microwave will beep, but it never does quite make it back on.

I'm not afraid of the dark, but they're is something spooky about the lights just suddenly cutting off like that. I hope the power comes back on soon. Once the sun comes up it will be too hot. All the food in the refrigerator and freezer will go bad pretty darn quick.

It has been over 100°f (37°c) every day for the past few weeks. The other day it even went up to 111°f (43°c). It's just too hot. All over the world is too hot.

I wonder if the heat had something to do with the electricity outage.

Little baby boy goat

In other news, the little buckling found himself a new home. The teen age daughter of a good friend took him home with her.

Look at his grandma goat, JJ, sticking out her tongue! Man! I'm going to miss my babies. I do know they will be in very good hands and well cared for.

In other other news, I have a brand new baby niece. My youngest brother and his wife brought home Hannah Lucey Clark Meyer on June 23rd, 2022. The same day we closed on the house.

My brother and his baby girl

I call her Lizzy Bear and I'm going to be her most favorite Aunty ever! I'm really looking forward to spoiling her rotten. Just the way my brother spoiled my kids!

My brother and my youngest daughter

I love that he has always wanted to be a daddy. I love that he has never had a problem expressing that he has wanted to be a daddy.

There just always seems to be so much going on in my life. I don't think it will ever calm down. I guess I won't every get bored, either, so that's something.

As I'm writing on my phone, and we still have no electricity, I think I should preserve the battery. I'll talk to you again (hopefully) soon.

Lead image license free from Unsplash

All other images mine own

10
$ 7.54
$ 6.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
+ 5
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
1 year ago

Comments

Welcome brother, I enjoy you. You need to share some pizza here. Nice pic there.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Come and get some!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, your moving date is so soon! New York hey? Sounds cool! I haven’t been writing for 2 months now. Had to take some time off for Number 1. For me the stress situations make me drop weight faster than anything, as I simply stop eating all together. I lost more than 10kg this way this year. Now that I’m settling in the new job I started gaining again 😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The weight for me depends on the kind of stress. For example, when my youngest son was going through very trying times, I couldn't eat or sleep. The result was I lost weight and even ended up in the hospital myself. But when it is just life stress, especially waiting for something, especially after having quit smoking, I tend to "eat my feelings".

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Whaoo, I see you haven't been active for so long. Changing environments can be quite difficult, so I hope you're able to make it. I want to see you more often here..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm always be around, just maybe not consistently every day. I'll try to write another long article soon.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I've never been to new york maybe someday i can go there and i'm obsessed with your statement about health with body movement.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm really actually enjoying exercising. I always have to force myself to begin, but once I do it I feel so much better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hope everything turns out great for you Jonica! Will you be permanently moving to the Big Apple? I think you've mentioned relocating before, but I can't remember. The best thing you did was to quit smoking. Sadly, I only managed to switch to vaping, which isn't too much of an achievement. Always wear a hat for the heat!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I can't wear a hat when it's as hot as it is here in the Texas panhandle. It boils my brain. Lol. But in the colder weather I will enjoy having a hat on. Because it keeps me warm.

I'm moving to the city of Rochester in the state of New York. The big apple is New York City. We won't be moving they're, but do plan to visit Manhattan Island. I have family there.

Yes, it's permanent. We bought a house with a very generous gift from my parents. Early inheritance, actually. They would rather see their kids enjoy the money than wait until they die. We're going to be just a few miles from Lake Ontario.

I didn't want to move originally. It's all my husband's idea, but I'm finally getting excited about it. I will miss my animal babies, though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I noticed you haven't been active too, whaoo.. Going through your article and I just had my jaw down.. And I know changing of environment can be so tough, I hope you're pulling through.. Hope to see more of you

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's been a long time since I was able to consistently publish every day. Probably not until I'm settled. And then I will also have a day job, so I may not be around a lot even then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, I understand

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's been a while miss jonica.. glad to here good news from you congrats to your brother and for the little goat to find newh home. Me too, I think I had bad relationship with food and tend to crave more this days but I do my best to slowly cut them off. Let's continue what we started. Good luck to us and a path to the shoulder for a job well done..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I really am eating better than I think I am, sometimes. I'm sure you are, too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So cute your baby niece.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Isn't she?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your adjustments are no joke hope you'll cope up. That's a good news bout your brother, both babies are adorableeeee

$ 0.01
1 year ago

All three babies! My brother is 11 years younger than I am. He's my baby, too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww that's a cutieee

$ 0.00
1 year ago